We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, inexpensive place to stay for a night or two.”
Review of Oasis Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oasis Guest House
Ranked #8 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great, inexpensive place to stay for a night or two.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The location was great, so close to Fenway and right around the corner from a T station. While it's "no frills", the room and shared bath were clean. Keith, at the front desk, was extremely nice, helpful and a wealth of information regarding the city. A great place to stay for a night or two. I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    140
    46
    17
    11
See reviews for
40
137
56
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed at Oasis Guest House for 1 night en-route to another location, and was very pleased at what I got for the price. The room was basic and not terribly spacious --> not a problem for me; the whole point of travelling is to spend as little time in the room as possible. Location is *excellent* whether you're after shopping, restaurants, or easy transport options to elsewhere in Boston.

To be clear, you're not getting a lot, but you wouldn't have paid for a lot either.

Pros: Very close to downtown (~10 min walk) and close to everything, yet tucked away just enough in a side street to be insulated from any noise without causing much inconvenience. The continental breakfast supplied was basic, but quite sufficient and pretty good for the price. Service person on duty was very helpful, with a more personal touch than many large hotel chains.

Cons: The one I should point out is that there are no elevators --> something visitors travelling as a family with multiple large pieces of baggage really want to be aware of. It's also a little old (but see title of review!)

I liked it and would happily return to stay if ever I'm in Boston again!

Room Tip: Some floors have a balcony, which is used by smokers. You might want to request a room away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My fiancé and I had a wonderful experience at this guesthouse! We stayed in Boston a total of 5 nights and could not be happier with our experience at Oasis. It is a quaint little guesthouse on a quiet side street -- luckily my fiancé had lived in Back Bay for a while so he knew the area and finding it was no problem. Keith at the front desk was so helpful and wonderful. The free breakfast was great. Rooms are small and simple and there are no elevators, so beware if you travel with a lot of luggage or have trouble with stairs. Everything was clean and kept in nice shape. We loved it, and it was economical for Back Bay. I would recommend this place to everyone!!!

Room Tip: You can choose rooms with private bathroom OR a shared bathroom to save some money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racheld757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

First, this place is perfect for its location, ease of use, cleanliness and staff. We came into Boston for a Sox game, and it's a short walk from here to Fenway, the shops on Newbury, bars, restaurants, everything. And the price is far, far less than what you'd pay nearby. Just come with a sense of humor. The room we had was itty, itty bitty. The twin bed barely fit, and the bathroom is in the hall, shared. No worries if you're in town to have fun, sack out and get back out there. But if you're coming for business and want a workspace or something ... this isn't you. Also, no elevator, so if you have trouble with stairs, say so when reserving. Also, we came without a car, but if you do come with a car, parking is going to be a challenge. Take the T, the green line is very close and connects to everything.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaseSq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great location convenient to Boylston/Newbury Streets and a nice park on the Charles River, continental breakfast included with stay, close to public transportation (the T green and orange lines). Staff was responsive and helpful in email communications. For Boston, cheaper than other hotels in the surrounding area. Hotel attempts to be "green" through its selection of certain products, which is appreciated.

Something is seriously wrong with the plumbing: flushing the toilet causes the bathroom to groan and shake as the water pump physically strains to refill. This can be heard coming from adjacent rooms as well. While eating breakfast on the first floor, the sound literally sounded like a jackhammer, and could be heard by staff, who didn't seem concerned (so maybe that's normal?).

Showers are extremely tight and I am short, small, and flexible person: for others it could be very uncomfortable, so be warned!

The decor could use some work. Everything is clean, and seems to be going for an "old lady chic" look, but tends towards cluttered bric-a-brac.

Room Tip: We were fine with the stairs, but for anyone who is not as mobile, ask for a room on the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMoveALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Located between 2 Green Line T stops, countless universities, The Symphony, walking distance to Newbury St or Boylston, HOW could the location be any better. Each room I stayed in was cozy and efficient. Great little breakfast each morning like clockwork. Excellent staff (esp. Keith, Steve, Joe, Victor and the rest). A bargain in every aspect!!! The Oasis is the ONLY place I will stay in Boston! That's why everybody knows me :).

Room Tip: Even if they put me in the basement I would be happy here!!! But the rooms run the gamut between sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLeongnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galloway, New Jersey, United States
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights. At first the room seemed small but we easily adapted. The entire building - a completely renovated row house in Back Bay area - was excellently clean and so was our room. If I had one complaint it would be that the shower stall was a little tight but that would be it - and it shouldn't be a deal-breaker. The building is in a clean, quiet neighborhood with limited parking in the back alley. THAT was a squeeze. Oasis is right in the heart of Berklee School of Music's area. We were attending an event at the Sheraton and this place was a 5 minute walk to that hotel, the attached Mall and Convention Center. We saved about $180 for lodging over the 3 days and didn't mind the walk at all. There are fast foods and a less than 3 minutes away and interesting parts of Boston all around to explore. We only met one staff member - Keith - at the desk and he was great. Very calm and well-informed. A very good experience we will probably repeat.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street may be quieter than rooms overlooking the back alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3,597 reviews
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#48 of 83 in Boston
2,243 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#57 of 83 in Boston
2,006 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
1,983 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Guest House

Property: Oasis Guest House
Address: 22 Edgerly Rd, Fenway Kenmore, Boston, MA 02115-3007
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oasis Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an unbeatable location in the heart of Boston, America's most walkable city, Oasis Guest House and Adams Bed & Breakfast offer a great value and 31 rooms in a historic neighborhood. Take a stroll to nearby shops or restaurants, or ride the subway to historic sites throughout the city. We offer very comfortable rooms, a free daily continental breakfast, free satellite TV, free Wi-Fi throughout our properties, outdoor lounge space, central air conditioning, affordable parking, and complimentary use of a guest computer. We are a short walk from the shops on Newbury Street, Fenway Park, the Hynes Convention Center, Prudential Center, the Public Garden, and Boston Common. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Oasis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Guest House Hotel Boston
Oasis Guest House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing