We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected Better”
Review of Omni Parker House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Parker House
Ranked #51 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Valet service was very disorganized upon arrival. We were waiting more than 15 minutes before anyone even came over to our car. After checking in online our key was not waiting for us, so we had to wait in line to check in. The noise level of the people in the surrounding rooms made it almost impossible to sleep. The location of the hotel is great, but to me it is all about service. This one is definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniPH55, Guest Relations Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

It's pretty clear that you did not have a typical Parker House experience, for which we apologize. Let us know if you are coming back and we'll make sure your stay lives up to expectations! Thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,922 - 4,928 of 7,972 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel I convenient to just about everything. Many attractions well within walking distance or a short cab ride. Subway station is close by for further travels. The hotel is beautiful, friendly and helpful staff. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars in every category is due to the size of the rooms, very small. That said when I go back to Boston I will surely stay there again

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tntribefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

A beautiful hotel right in the center of Boston. The hotel is walking distance to pretty much everything. I recommend you walk as you'll see much more of the city. The North end is really close and is a beautiful area as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed there because I got a great deal on a tiny room. It really was small but still the room was luxury decorated and I enjoyed staying in the historic hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gonta6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here on two separate occasions a week apart in October. First time we were in room 759 - not great - small and right next to a room where an ice making machine was located which generated a fair amount of noise and the room looked out onto a scruffy building next door.
Second time we were in room 524 - much better - bigger, no noise and the window looked out onto School Street.

We ate in Parker's Restaurant because someone had told us that if we were staying in The Parker House we must try 1) Parker House Rolls; 2) Baked Scrod & 3) Boston Cream Pie. So we did! Baked Scrod pretty good but the other two were instantly forgettable - and $150 for the privilege.

We also spent some time in and ate in Parker's Bar which we both really enjoyed.

Our overall rating is "average" because we didn't think that overall it did enough to justify "very good".

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TallGuyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniPH55, Guest Relations Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for staying with us on two occasions and for your feedback. We're at a loss to explain why you did not like the Parker House Rolls and Boston Cream Pie but understand that people's tastes differ. At least the schrod passed muster! Again, thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We booked this hotel for the history and charm, unfortunately it didn't live up to expectations. 

Check in was smooth and a porter helped us with our bags. The room itself (a suite) was roomy but very dated. There's historic, and then there's tired, unfortunately it was the latter. It was however very clean with a comfortable bed. We had zero view - our windows looked out on to a brick wall which made the room very dark. Lamps were on at all times. We dined in the restaurant which was fairly pricey, but unexciting and very quiet for a Friday evening.

Our checkout coincided with the Red Sox parade which lead to us leaving on a sour note. The hotel did not advise us that taxis would be unable to pick guests up from the hotel, which left us to walk several blocks with two suitcases each. As we were leaving, no one helped us down the stairs with our bags, despite there being ample staff standing around. Once outside the hotel, a valet or porter very cheerfully advised us again that no taxis were available, this was not at all appreciated or helpful.

Overall the hotel was ok. I would try somewhere else next time as there is nothing that would compel us to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agdcholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Just back from 5 days in Boston area - stayed at both Omni Parker House in Boston and Omni in Providence RI - BOTH - top notch - friendly, clean and above board service and staff. Rooms and amenities top notch - I recommend

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,721 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,394 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#34 of 84 in Boston
2,865 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Parker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Parker House

Address: 60 School St, Boston, MA 02108-4109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Boston
#33 Business Hotel in Boston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#34 Green Hotel in Boston
#37 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £116 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Parker House 4*
Number of rooms: 551
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the historic Freedom Trail in the heart of downtown Boston, the Omni Parker House has the perfect location from which to experience Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Omni Parker House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Boston
Omni Boston
Omni Parker House Boston
Boston Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing