We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“conference visit”
Review of Omni Parker House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Parker House
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Very nice hotel in a clean, well centered location for all the needs. No swimming pool and the views from most rooms are below average. Beds are nice and water in Showers were Great. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,969)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,885 - 4,891 of 7,969 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

I am an entrepreneur that travels around the world staying on a hands full of hotels each year. When choosing a hotel one is primary looking for service, accommodation. and security.

This past saturday Nov 23rd, 2013 I produced an event in Boston. Our entire crew (4 rooms) where staying in OMNI Park Hotel. Before arriving I called to confirm that I the hotel valet can park our 13 Passenger Van and they confirmed. Once we arrived Valet denied our parking and sent us to park 6-8 blocks away from the hotel.

Once we did Check-In, the hotel rooms where nice, the decor was beautiful. I was totally amazed how nice the hotel looked.

Unfortunately the next morning before checking out of the hotel, our guest musician, visited my room that was 4 doors away. He left his door slightly open, feeling confident that nothing wrong was going to happen, specially that 2 guest where sleeping on his room plus the sharing rooms door was open giving access to the next door room where 2 girls and a men (part of crew) where staying. Few minutes after he entered our room, a burglar entered his room, spent 6 minutes in the room and stole one of the computers of the company.

When we approached the hotel security they where vey helpful with looking in depth over what could have happen. Overlooking the video, Boston police, the hotel security and one of our crew found the proof. After that burglar was identify of standing on the corner of the hallway, entering the room and leaving the hotel via the stairways, we asked the hotel what options &/or how the hotel insurance could support us for what had happen. To our surprise the hotel Security Director mentioned that they cold not do anything about this accident, that nothing can be done and that is how the hotel policy are.

Again I was totally amazed on how the Hotel has been handling the situation. What would have happen if the burglar would have assaulted, raped, hurt and/or affected any one of our crew. What if I was their with my family and I had just gone out one second to get ICE and the burglar enter our room.

To the hotel any person can go up the elevator without any security key having access to any of the floors of the 500 room.

Tomorrow I will be try to contact the hotel General Manager to see if at least we could get some re-compensation. Very valuable documents such as tour photography, videos, documents have been lost with the computer being stoled.

I will keep everyone inform after our conversation with the Hotel General Manager and/or supervisor.

Room Tip: Valet Parking = Not to be trusted. Security: BIG CONCERN!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Federico H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniPH55, Guest Relations Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

We are well aware of the circumstances surrounding this incident, as is the Boston Police, and our view of things is quite different from the assertions presented in this review. We can assure anyone reading this review that our security procedures are fully compliant with industry practice and local ordinances covering such matters. We do apologize for the mix-up on parking instructions as the garage we use cannot accommodate larger vehicles and we should have informed this guest of that fact.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Had a wonderful 2 night stay at the Omni Parker House. Comfortable beds, clean room and close to everything. A great big thank you to the Loyalty Ambassador and for the entire staff that made our stay a memorable one!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Vacationer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Did not live up to my expectation. I should have been informed that there would be no housekeeping service unless I requested it. I ran out of bath products including tisuses because housekeeping did not come in. THough the room was comfortable the bathroom was freezing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank jill t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniPH55, Guest Relations Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

We are quite surprised to read your comment about housekeeping service because it is never necessary to request it. On the contrary, guests would need to notify us if it was NOT needed. If you did not receive service, then we apologize for any miscue on our part. Occasionally, guests forget to remove their "do not disturb" sign when leaving the room and, in this case, we would not have serviced the room until we spoke with the guest. Perhaps this happened?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Great location, wonderful Hotel staff and excellent rooms! I would highly recommend for anyone visiting Boston and only having a short time to see the sites. Ruth Chris accross the street and easy walking distance to Quincy Market. The Staff were very helpful in recommending great restaurants, pubs and shopping in the area. A beautiful Hotel with all the glamour and historic charm, but with all the luxuries and conveniences for an experienced business travellor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Great location for exploring the city. Easy access to the subway. The Freedom trail is right outside the front door. Boston is an easy city to walk in. Friendly people, willing to give directions. Safe for women walking after dark.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I reserved a room at the Omni Parker House through Hotwire and got pretty disappointed. I send them an email one week prior to our arrival, and never got an answer back. When we arrived the kind of a room I asked for wasn't available.
We had the tiniest room ever, with a crappy view and when the heater was stopping, the room was getting cold instantly, we could feel the cold coming in from the window at a meter distance. They charged us 20$ for Wi-Fi for two days! Charging for Wi-Fi in 2013, really?
When we complained about those things, we didn't get any apologises, just some lame explanations... That's not the experience I was expecting from a 4 star hotel..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank didi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniPH55, Guest Relations Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

This reviewer's reaction to our hotel is unfortunate but typical of those guests who are not partial to the historic nature of the Parker House. We regret that their expectations weren't met. As to the charge for WiFi, in fact most major upscale brands still charge for this service because the cost for infrastructure necessary to provide Internet access is considerable. We understand that when people go to a coffee shop and get WiFi for free, they question why they must still pay for it at a hotel. The coffee shop will require perhaps just one or two access points given the relatively small size of their space. This is not true in a large hotel! All Omni Hotels provide WiFi as a free benefit of our complimentary Select Guest loyalty program, along with many other perks. So, join Select Guest and you won't pay for WiFi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,720 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,393 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#34 of 84 in Boston
2,865 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Parker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Parker House

Address: 60 School St, Boston, MA 02108-4109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Boston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#33 Business Hotel in Boston
#34 Green Hotel in Boston
#37 Luxury Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £116 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Parker House 4*
Number of rooms: 551
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the historic Freedom Trail in the heart of downtown Boston, the Omni Parker House has the perfect location from which to experience Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Omni Parker House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Boston
Omni Boston
Omni Parker House Boston
Boston Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing