We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb service! Superb location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Parker House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Omni Parker House
Ranked #43 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb service! Superb location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I cant honestly think of anything negative to say about Omni Parker House. The service here is second to none. All employees do everything to make you feel at home.

We stayed here for a wedding and everyone had great service consistently. The bride and groom stayed st The Taj (and paid much much more) and say they didnt have anywhere near the service.

This is one of the oldest buildings in Boston, lots of character and history. I didn't realise just how great the location would be either. Right near Boston Common, easy walk to Park metro station.

Special tips if staying here:
- sign up for the premium club (free) and get free in room WiFi and a morning coffee/tea delivered to your door
- take the old town trolley bus 2 day tour to experience everything bostonian. Seamus on concierge will sort you out!
- before shopping at Macy's ask at reception for the 10% discount vouchers
- Walgreens is a 2 min walk away for cheap and easy breakfast, snacks etc. you can sit in the sun out the front.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank redbuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniPH55, Guest Relations Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thanks for your great remarks and for pointing out the "perks" of Omni's Select Guest loyalty program!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,211
    2,263
    922
    374
    178
See reviews for
1,546
2,284
379
1,702
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (906)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Omni Parker House hotel has an excellent location very central for many different amenities the main reason for my visit was to visit the TD Garden complex to see Cher nevertheless Quincy market is quite special and unique which is very close by. The hotel has an enormous amount of history and character to it and is certainly associated with the Kennedy family and yes I would stay there again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank specialstar522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agawam, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The venue was quite nice, up to the day of the wedding the staff were extremely helpful. Full payment for tip etc was required a week in advance of services rendered. My daughter;s wedding was Mother's Day weekend 2014. The evening before the wedding we had a dinner for our out of town guests and wedding party, I had to follow a waiter down a hallway for a refill on a glass of water. He saw me coming and did an about face, I caught up with him at the kitchen door, he then took glass went into kitchen and reappeared a few minutes later with glass of water and multiple staff members followed him to the doorway of the dining room where I had first tried to get his attention. Returning to the table with second helping (hands full from buffet), waiter asked if I needed my sliverware and gestured for me to take it from the plate. I thought he was suppose take the silverware or place it on the table if they do not replenish it for each serving. I had placed the silverware face down on plate so the staff would know to clear the plate while I was gone for another helping. Staff seemed to be passively resisting the guests.

The evening of the event - the uncle of the bride had a little too much to drink, When hostess explained he was rude/threatening to bar tenders and was handing out nips we asked him to be seated before they throw him out. Meanwhile hotel staff told father of bride they were going to shut the bar down if he did not leave. What happened to shutting off the rude person who has had a bit too much to drink. He was not violent and was manageable, sat down when asked and left when asked. Causing great pain for Groom and his brother. In addition, paid $2K to rent room with seats for 125 for 1 hour. Had a 15 minute ceremony. Invites had already been printed up with 5 pm invite cocktails at 6 pm hence ceremony needed to be delayed ~30 to 40 minutes. Wedding hostess didn't even make an annoucement to guests while they were waiting; explaining the delay. Then guests arrived at cocktail hour ~15 minutes early and were told the bar didn't open till 6:00 pm, no suggestion where guests could get a drink while waiting. More than one guest felt staff were rude. When I complained to Wedding planner about the various issues I was offered a free drink/appetizer this was an insult then to be followed up with a request for a review with trip advisor. Here it is, I suggest you hold off on gratuities till services are rendered.

Multiple issues with family members receiving charges for other family members rooms etc.
In addition, the bride and groom were not even comped free parking. Unfortunately Omni Parker House Staff need sensitivity training and I would have appreciated receiving compensation for the embarassment and aggravation they caused us not a free drink. I feel as though we were taken advantage of the day of the event.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueD-5102014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniPH55, Guest Relations Manager at Omni Parker House, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We wish that this reviewer would have spoken to us back in May when the wedding took place so that we could have discussed with him our perspective of the events of that evening. Given that opportunity, we believe that opinions would have meshed and the highlights of that special event remembered most of all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Pere, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I have nothing but wonderful things to say about the Omni Parker House. The great experience began prior to my arrival when I received an email from Kate, the Omni Loyalty Ambassador, to confirm that I had booked at room and to confirm that I was a Loyalty rewards member (I had joined the loyalty program after I had booked the hotel through Groupon and the people at Omni made the connection on their own). We traded a few emails back and forth and she confirmed that she had selected a corner room on a high floor with a great view. Upon my arrival, I was treated like royalty from the time the cab pulled up until the time I left. The front desk staff explained the benefits of the loyalty program (complimentary morning beverage service, complimentary internet in the room), and made sure that all my questions were answered. A housekeeper showed up for turndown service and brought fresh water and ice to the room. The corner room had a great view as promised (12th floor which is above most of the nearby rooftops). The room was small but very well decorated and designed. The room was extremely clean (even the baseboards under the desk were clean - yes, I checked). The bed was very comfortable and the linens were quite nice (I'm picky). The hotel is in a great location. It is within easy walking distance of many historic sites (at least 3 within a half block) and the Freedom Trail runs right past the hotel. I just walked out the door and followed the red bricks. There is a Ruth's Chris steakhouse across the street, but I skipped it in favor of Parker's Restaurant, just off the hotel lobby. What a good decision - everything about that experience was top notch, just like the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The lobby is beautiful, and it was great to be in such an historic hotel. It apparently is the oldest continuously run hotel in America. For $317/night (excluding tax), we got a Classic Deluxe Room with the Park 'N Stay package, which included breakfast and both valet parking (which otherwise is $36 per day) and continued parking after 1:00 p.m. after check out (which normally is an extra $12). The hotel is on the Freedom Trail, and is in a terrific location to see the historic sites of Boston. The concierge was very helpful, giving us information on the city and available tours and selling us tickets for a bus tour. The room was very disappointing, however. It was small, dark and dreary. The TV is off in the corner. The bed and pillows were comfortable, however. The bathroom is very small. There is a pedestal sink with no counter. Our package also included breakfast buffet for two in the Parker House dining room. The buffet was excellent, and included french toast, scrambled eggs, potatoes, bagels and lox, toast, etc. We had room service for dinner, which was fast and good, but very expensive. The clam chowder ($9) was great. The NY Sirloin dinner ($36) with Bernaise sauce was delicious. The chili ($16) was okay. The restaurant is famous for inventing the Boston Cream Pie ($9), which we had to try, but we weren't fans. The key lime pie ($8) was disappointing. There is also an automatic $5 delivery charge and 16% gratuity. It takes 30 minutes to get your car, but the valet and bell staff are friendly. As a Select Guest member, we had complimentary wi/fi and milk and cookies, which were appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Karen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

If you appreciate staying in a convenient location, and love historic buildings, the Omni Parker House is for you. Best night's sleep I've had in months, too. Wonderful mattress. Fabulous linens. Speedy and friendly service at reception. A short walk to many Boston features.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed @ Omni Parker House for 3 nights while touring Boston. The location is walking distance to the MBTA as well as many great tourist sites, i.e.; Fanuel Hall, Boston Public Garden, MA State House, Boston Common and much more! The hotel is beautiful, well maintained and very clean. The staff is both friendly and attentive. The Parker House restaurant is lovely. I ordered the baked scrod and it was absolutely perfectly delicious!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tlmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
The Boxer Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#30 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#55 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#16 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Parker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Parker House

Property: Omni Parker House
Address: 60 School Street, Boston, MA 02108-4109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Boston
#32 Green Hotel in Boston
#33 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#33 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Parker House 4*
Number of rooms: 551
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the historic Freedom Trail in the heart of downtown Boston, the Omni Parker House has the perfect location from which to experience Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Omni Parker House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Boston
Omni Boston
Omni Parker House Boston
Boston Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing