We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Ranked #46 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kemnay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel and great location”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a great hotel. Our room had a great view and you did not have to walk far to go get something to eat or drink. It is attached / part of the Prudential Mall which has some shops and eateries. The room was a good size and clean. There was also an empty fridge in the room which was good as not many hotels seem to do that. There is also a Starbucks in the hotel lobby which opens at 0630 to 2100 - very handy! Good that you can also get the Old Town Trolley from outside the hotel. Only issue we had was that our room was right behind the elevators so you got the noise from them going up and down....
Overall - a great hotel and great location. We never ate in the hotel so cannot comment on that.

Room Tip: As to be away from the lift shafts!
See more room tips
Green Features: We really liked that you could put sign outside your door so you did not get your room made-up when you were out.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    832
    314
    70
    71
See reviews for
476
482
73
840
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is a large hotel that always has a lot of convention traffic. This can cause an elevator nightmare. To get to the club lounge if you're below the 26th floor, you have to travel down to the lobby to take the direct elevator otherwise it's a crap shoot on when the club elevator will stop on your floor. This is one of the reasons I didn't give this hotel 5 stars. If available ask for floor 26 or above and view of the Charles River.

Hotel was extremely busy for the 4th so we had a corner suite on the 20th floor. Amazing view for the fireworks. The club had a great view as well. The beds are very comfy and the rooms good size and very clean. Great location for Fenway and the esplanade and of course the prudential center.

Most of the staff is very nice and helpful. The very few rude and there are some are way in the minority.

The room value is good for a city location but the $49 parking fee is ridiculous. There is street parking but you do have to search. There are also much cheaper parking lots but you will have a bit of a walk. Use an app like spothero for even better rates. Good room wifi strength. Popular tour buses pick up in front of hotel.

We stayed here during the Christmas season and enjoyed the city decorations which says a lot coming from the NY area.

The amenities in the club were perfect. Open 24/7 adequately stocked with good food served.

Except for the elevators and the high parking rate, it's a great place.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the Charles river and 20th floor or above. Add club admission, it's worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary - Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngeVen, General Manager at Sheraton Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Gary - Suzanne B,
Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed a great holiday with us - the vew of the fireworks from our Club rooms really is unbeatable. I was disappointed to read that you were not entirely satisfied and I appreciate your feedback. I apologize if the parking rates was a surprise, but our rates are consistent with our competitors in the city. Also our service is a valet service and offers in and out access which is typically not available with a lower priced option. I'm also disappointed to learn that you encountered some of our team members and found them to be rude, this certainly does not reflect our service standards and I apologize once again. I'm thrilled that these few areas where you had concerns did not outweigh the positive interactions you had and the overall enjoyable experience. We hope to continue to be your home away from home when in Boston.
Angela Vento, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My friends (actually 2nd cousin from North Ireland) stayed here for a bit longer than a week. Their room was fabulous and with a view of the Charles River! The Sheraton connects to the Prudential Center mall and has many other amenities. What I truly appreciated was the help of Sarah Tourtellotte, concierge. She really was very helpful with dining suggestions and was very friendly. My second cousin also said that the hotel provided above and beyond customer service when she was making her room reservations. Great hotel and staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Hackensack, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My family stayed at the Sheraton Back Bay in Boston for one night. The first room that we checked into had a terrible odor and we asked for a new room. The second room reeked of cigarette smoke despite the fact that this is a non-smoking hotel. We called the front desk and we were told that there were no other rooms available and they sent someone to spray the carpet. We were unable to sleep due to the strong odor and my children's allergies. Also, the bedding was stained. I was very disappointed. The room cost $500. I will never stay at another Sheraton.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngeVen, General Manager at Sheraton Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Karen E,
Thank your your feedback. I'm terribly sorry to hear about your experience. I can imagine you were frustrated, I would have felt the same way especially when travelling with children. I'd like to resolve this for you, please reach out to me directly at GMAngelaVento@sheraton.com so that we can connect. It's important that we turn around your opinion of Sheraton Brand hotels. I hope to hear from you soon.
Angela Vento, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is awesome. When we checked in we were supposed to have a king room. Apparently there was a mix up on our reservation. We said a queen would be ok. None were available. This doesn't sound too awesome so far, right? I made the comment to my husband that it was a bummer that we would celebrate our 43rd anniversary in separate beds. The receptionist overheard and we were upgraded to a suite. The room was great,it was quiet and at the end of a hall,and the view of the river was stunning. Everyone from the valet to the concierge to the housekeeping staff was friendly, helpful and nice. This hotel is in a great location.It's convenient to the T, shopping, and restaurants.Natalie, Ana, and I think Bree are just some of the super stars in this hotel. Would we stay here again? In a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
Green Features: The energy saving light bulbs and appliances are a very good idea.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balullah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngeVen, General Manager at Sheraton Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Sara S,
Thank you for you kind words and constructive feedback. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I can't wait to share your thoughts of our Color Your Plate menu options with our Executive Chef, he'll be thrilled. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Angela Vento,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here two nights, three nights apart. We were very happy with our first night. The friendly receptionist gave us a room with a view of the Charles River, and the room price was $247++. One problem was that the bed was very close to the wall on one side, and it's good my husband is very slim so that he could get in and out of bed. When we came back for the second night, for which we paid $398++, the receptionist told us we were being given a newly refurbished room. That may have been true, but it was also right behind the bank of elevators, which we weren't warned about. After hearing the noise, my husband went downstairs and asked to be moved, but she told him that we had come late and there was no other room available. Is it hotel policy to save the worst rooms for those who arrive late even though we would've been charged full price even if we didn't show up? Was there truly no other room available? All night long we heard the elevators going up and down intermittently, which was very disturbing. Also, in order to get wi-fi in our room, there was a charge of $9.99 a day, which was why the lobby (free wi-fi) was full of people on their devices. We will book elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Couldent rate this hotel and staff highly enough. The receptionist who checked us in was incredibly helpful and assisted us with getting free Internet and a room higher up in the building with an incredible view. The location was brilliantly central and easy to walk to most places or get to the T. The room was stunning. Would definately stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngeVen, General Manager at Sheraton Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Leigh C,
Thank you for this glowing review! I look forward to sharing your kind words with our team!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Angela Vento, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Hilton Boston Back Bay
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#18 of 83 in Boston
3,168 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Boston Hotel

Property: Sheraton Boston Hotel
Address: 39 Dalton Street, Prudential Center, Boston, MA 02199-3901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Boston
#35 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Family Hotel in Boston
#39 Business Hotel in Boston
#52 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-friendly Sheraton Boston Hotel, which is connected to Hynes Convention Center, is 4 miles from Logan Airport and close to the Shops at Prudential Center, Copley Place, and Newbury Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Nozio Netplan srl, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel Boston
Boston Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing