We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Taj is without doubt the best place to stay in Boston!”
Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Taj Boston
Ranked #34 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
132 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
“The Taj is without doubt the best place to stay in Boston!”
Reviewed 29 June 2011

As everybody confirms The Taj is in a perfect central Boston location with one elevation looking out towards the common.

Getting there from Logan is easy and on arrival we were met by 3 friendly staff that assisted in getting our luggage off our transport.

On checking in the staff couldn’t have been more helpful and polite and when we checked out 8 days later we were given our room at no extra cost until 5pm...how thoughtful and civilised!

The concierge was most helpful and knowledgeable on more than one occasion- they will also help with getting on-line flight boarding tickets.

Our room on the 10th floor was more typically European size but was perfectly laid out, spotlessly clean and extremely well maintained.

We had all we required, personally I don’t like kettles ,cups and cartons of milk and sachets of sugar etc in the room, it reminds me too much of cheap motels so their absence was a positive...if anyone is that desperate for a fix of tea or coffee why can't they order from room service or even wander to a local Starbucks ?

Wi-Fi reception was excellent and was about $10 per day which is slightly annoying but is all too typical and if you need it for business it is somewhat of an irrelevancy......and if you just want it for "pleasure" and are desperate to visit the ether then why not just tootle down to the coffee shop 100yds away and spend your days glued to a screen for free?

The room fridge was well stocked and for this standard of hotel reasonably priced.

Room service, maid and evening turn down was of the highest standard - 10 out of 10!

Breakfast was a real pleasure however the small restaurant room filled quickly at peak times, many of the clientele were locals not guests.
I can really recommend the eggs Benedict – superb.
The restaurant staff are polite,busy and attentive, the seating ultra comfortable and all in all it is a great experience, the perfect way to start your day.

In hot weather the air conditioning in both rooms and public areas was always at a perfect level.

The bar is fabulously sumptuous – decor and ambiance, it has everything spot on perfect!
The drinks are served in the "old way" thankfully and by staff that has been doing the job for many years and their calm professionalism is clear for all to see...the cocktails – try a Newbury – are delicious.

We ate dinner informally in the bar twice – simple fare at sensible prices - Kobe burger, shrimps Ceasar,clam chowder- all excellently presented and high quality.

This is an old school 5 star hotel and therefore the rates it charges reflect this so when you book there appreciate this ......so to those who complain of high cost for this and that I ask “what did you expect?”

You pay for what you get and at the Taj you get a lot.

If you are used to this standard of hotel the rates are certainly not exorbitant, in fact they are significantly less than an equivalent hotel in London or Paris!

Room Tip: Pre-book a park view on an upper level floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarionMontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,395
    731
    293
    147
    74
See reviews for
639
978
131
592
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

The hotel is wonderfully located and although the rooms a wee bit small, they were great to stay. The service was top class and the banquet arrangements were perfect. For the tourist you are at the cultural & social centre of Boston.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satyajitdattaroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Fantastic hotel in a great location. Staff were friendly and the room faultless.
Thanks to everybody at the Taj.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

The Taj is in a nice location near the common.
When we arrive at 16:00 hrs our room wasn’t ready, we had to wait 15 minutes as the people before us were late leaving. However when we left we asked if we could leave at 13:00 hrs instead of 12:00, we were told we had to vacate as the room was booked.

The room was large, strangely the sink to wash your hands after going to the toilet was in the room rather than in the bathroom, not very hygienic.

The Wifi was about $11 per day and there were no coffee making facilities.
So we went out for coffee and to use the internet.

The last morning I got up to be greeted by a bill for $124 which had been pushed under the door.
This was supposedly for the use of the honor bar which we had not used.
When I went to reception to complain the charge was waved with hardly a comment, very strange.

We didn’t attempt to eat here as my bank manager would have disowned me.

I don’t think we will be back and I don’t think the hotel we be bothered by that as they seem to have some well healed clientele.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homeboy_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We have just returned from four days staying at the Taj Boston. The Taj is one of those older style hotels that hark back to a different age and I quite anticipated it would be stuffy and pretentious but no. The greeting when we arrived was both warm and friendly with some humour thrown in from the lady on the front desk. Our room on the 12th floor was huge!! And the bed was very comfortable. It was very unusual but the chairs and foot stools provided were actually usable and not there just for ornament or for throwing your dirty clothes over. This is a first chairs used for sitting in and not throwing your selves straight on the bed when returning from a day on the town. The location I would say is the best in Boston ideal for all the sites and the Taj sits well in the Georgian style surroundings of the Back Bay and Beacon Hill district. We used the hotel for breakfast and they were wonderful and so well presented with helpful restaurant manger and staff. We managed a window seat most mornings which was great watching the commuters struggling to work clutching coffees and brief cases. One minor moan and it is minor. The plug didn’t work in the basin or bath and you had to leave the taps running when washing and shaving. I did point this out on day one to the front desk but nothing was done. I am sure the Taj group has signed up to a corporate social responsibility statement which includes water and I am positive they wouldn’t be amused that thousands of litres of water are being thrown away in this room each year because the front desk did nothing.

Room Tip: Get rooms over looking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patroclas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

As always, our stay was a pleasure at the Taj in Boston. The building is ON the Boston Common and used to be the Ritrz, before they moved. The bathrooms are updated, the rooms are spacious and the staff is top notch. Make sure you ask for a room with a fireplace..its a unique experience!!!

The hotel is great for a romantic getaway (we've done weekends there numerous times) and accommodates all business needs.

The location couldn't be better...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uncorked4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed at the Taj with our 3 year old and the staff were wonderful in making her feel at home. Coloring books and crayons are staple at breakfast. The lady concierge was very helpful in advising us on where to take her and when, got us the tickets, had them left in our room and was incredibly instrumental in making us to do the most in three days with our toddler. The location is superb being near Newbury and the Commons. The rooms and bathrooms however were very tired, we have stayed at Taj hotels in India and were quite disappointed in the lack of 'Taj' luxury in the rooms. The bathroom sinks did not drain, the plastic tub mat was dirty and the walls were chipped. A renovation and more attention to detail would help elevate the whole experience of staying there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baileydogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,265 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Property: Taj Boston
Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116-3417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#25 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#44 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing