We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great!”
Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Boston
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This was our second visit to the Taj Boston. This hotel has an amazing location, the rooms are comfortable, filled with the details of a 5 star hotel. We enjoyed breakfast in the hotel restaurant every morning, and though a little slow, the food was very good. We especially enjoyed the hotel bar which is elegant and has excellent service.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zaydah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,819)
There are newer reviews for Taj Boston
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,305 - 2,311 of 2,819 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2011

Loved the Taj hotel Boston ,the location was great in the center and it is across from a beautiful park. The tag club is great value 100 dollars per room, per day for endless food and drink,great value for a family sharing! I wouldn't advise to go to the restaurant downstairs in the hotel as it's bad value, small portions and food not great. The breakfast menu in the restaurant seemed expensive too.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irish_CailinDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My family and I have just stayed here for 4 nights and had a fabulous stay. Maybe we were lucky with our rooms - but they were clean and spotless. Ok - the bathroom was a little small, but how much time do you spend in there? We had rooms overlooking the Park and I couldn't fault them at all. The beds and pillows were sumptuous and so comfortable. The concierge team were fantastic - so helpful. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment, but there are some excellent restaurants around, but go early if you want to sit on the patios. The exercise room was very good - and equipment all in good order. There were headsets to use, fruit and water, towels and papers - very good. I would not hesitate to go back - we were all very much at home here. I just can't see what all the negative comments are all about - and I am a seasoned traveller.

Room Tip: See if you can get a park view room
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Librabirthday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This hotel is fantastically located in Boston. It is directly opposite the common, at the top end of Newbury Street (great for shopping etc). I stayed here with my eldest daughter, and most of the tourist attractions and shopping were within walking distance. However, although the lobby of the hotel appears smart, the rooms was disappointing and underwhelming. The bathroom small and tired, although clean and functional, and the bedroom very mediocre - clean, but tired furniture, tired upholstery etc. In fact, the entire hotel needs updating. I stayed at the Taj (Pierre) in New York 18 months ago, and that was a very different experience, as the entire hotel has been totally renovated and the rooms are beautifully refurbished. The Taj do get one thing right in both cases as both hotels are directly on the park. This hotel could be spectacular, but needs some money spending on it to up it's game. There is so much wasted space - the 17th Floor is only open for brunch on a Sunday and has the most spectacular views over Boston, but this floor is not open for the rest of the week. The First floor also has some spectacular rooms, again with incredible views, that are empty of people. Presumably they are used for functions. I would return, purely because the location is fantastic. Breakfast is overpriced, but Starbucks is just around the corner, and if you want something more substantial I would recommend Paramount, 44 Charles Street - undeniably the best breakfast in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rs07312014d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

TAJ Boston is a certainly not at the level of a 5 star hotel and I am surprised it is viewed as LEADING hotels of the world . The rooms are dated and as I read from other reviews the most telling sign is how DIRTY the carpeting is . Do yourself a favor and stay at the Four Seasons .

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank discoverluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This hotel is extremely well located and rooms are lovely. The big problem is the service! Arrived at 2.30 in afternoon room was not ready. They proposed to keep bags and give us a call when room will be ready. Two hours later still no news! Got room finally at 5.30 but was not fully prepared. A lot of people in same situation. Therefore the number of bags to store were massive. It took then 20 mins to found them.... Then at check out the bill was wrong. They took the print back but could not print a new one as printer was broken... They proposed to send bill by mail. 3 days later and we are still waiting to receive it. We have no proof of how much they charged us...... Terrible. Would not recommend at all.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank astridetlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Not much has changed since it was the old Ritz carlton.Rooms are small so on a scale of 1 to 10 I would give it a 5. Nothing special at all....I probably would not stay there again....

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BippyFalmouth_Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,353 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,315 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#30 of 84 in Boston
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116-3417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#25 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#44 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £194 - £515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing