We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very elegant, excellent service.”
Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Taj Boston
Ranked #35 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very elegant, excellent service.”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stayed here a few nights with husband and son. The service is outstanding. Loved Norman at the valet and James at the concierge desk. Everyone at that hotel is extremely helpful and kind. The rooms are nice - very traditional, but tired looking. The rooms definitely need new carpeting and furniture - especially the chairs. However, despite all that, the rooms are very clean. Housekeeping really does an excellent job cleaning the rooms.
I would highly recommend the Taj Boston.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TajBostonManagement, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Taj with your family on your recent visit to Boston. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as our wonderful staff.

We greatly appreciate your comments regarding your room, as guest satisfaction is our highest priority. In our continuous effort to preserve the traditional style of the hotel, we are currently in the process of installing new carpeting throughout the hotel, in addition to various other repairs.

Thank you so much for leaving a review here on TripAdvisor, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Boston in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Taj Boston Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,450
    775
    313
    153
    82
See reviews for
681
1,025
136
619
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

Had stayed many years ago when hotel was a Ritz and was looking forward to seeing it again under new Taj ownership. A great location and older hotel charm. Booked one night in a park view room and we were put on 4th floor in nicely appointed fresh but small room with small bathroom. Was a Saturday night and there was a wedding on 2nd or 3rd Floor. Music was so loud it could be heard clearly in our room and at our end of the floor. We asked to be moved but there was no comparable room available so we endured until wedding it ended at 11PM. Seems like an issue that would have been addressed long ago given number of events at hotel. Staff apologized but nothing more. A disappointing outcome after high expectations.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LC W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TajBostonManagement, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Taj on your recent trip to Boston. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Boston, and we are happy you were pleased with your Park View room. I would like to sincerely apologize for the noise issues on this Saturday evening. We do our best to accommodate all of our guests needs, and do apologize that we were not able to move you to a quieter room. Unfortunately, it can sometimes become difficult when the hotel is at high occupancy and we have multiple events taking place. I am going to send your comments along to the appropriate department who will work to better facilitate and avoid future noise issues.

Thank you very much for leaving your comments here on this forum, and we do hope to welcome you back to Taj Boston in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Taj Boston Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2012

What a delight to stay at The Taj Boston. Starting with exceptional service from Derek at the front desk as soon as we arrived. The next evening I invited friends to join us for dinner at The Cafe. Robin our waiter who made certain lobster dinner's were available for them that they so wanted while in Boston. Our stay was unbelievable. Beautiful view of the Common's, easy to walk to points of interest. A must stay for those traveling on their next trip to this wonderful city.

Room Tip: Corner Suites give you the best view of The Common's and are spacious with the feeling of home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7Carol12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We returned to The Taj for our second stay this year. This time we had a corner suite on the 14th floor. Great views of the garden from the sitting room. A not such great view of the building next door from the bedroom! Only quibble hardly any hanging space in the closet.
We like this hotel very much. Charming staff. Old fashioned - yes. But we rather like that..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

An annual treat for our family is a stay at this hotel in Boston; best location in the city, wonderful restaurant, sumptuous bar, well appointed rooms, attentive staff, top notch concierge, and they welcome our 75-lb black lab (with treats at the front door and a dog bed in the room). We've been staying here for ten years or more, still the same quality year after year.

Room Tip: Dogs are welcome
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southerntravelerms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt Germany
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The Taj is wonderful in every aspect of Guest Services and Relaxation. Check in was a breeze (they do had a $200 credit during your stay so be aware of this up front). Room was a Premier Park View on the 4th floor, ask for higher (some street noise). The view was very nice (large bay type window). The layout was very nice, very clean room and the bed was perfect with superb linen. The room was very clean to include free of dust. Some age detected on the furniture but nothing major. We were provided a daily newspaper of our choice. Hallways and room was quiet. The old school charm with all the dark wood and gold/beige wallpaper and brass fittings enhanced the feeling and experience. The lobby was very cozy, the bar and restaurant looked very nice (there is a dress code). We ordered room serivce (VERY $$$$) and it was quick, less than 30 minutes. The food was perfect but the portions small with basic presentation. There is a very nice Chanel store adjacent to the lobby. The staff is very nice and helpful. Direct access to the park across the street on your way to the Freedom Trail and all the local Hobo's who occupy Boston. Local shopping is all high scale, had to walk several blocks north to find a nice breakfast shop or starbucks. Overall it was a nice experience, we would visit again.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors if facing the park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveurcpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

People working at the taj are fabulous.
Extremely helpful staff.
Its located next to park.
Loads of restaurants near by !
The cinnamon raisin bread french toast,from the room service menu is yummy ! What a way to wake up .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginuwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TajBostonManagement, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Customer,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! We'd love to have you back again soon, so please think of us on your next trip to Boston.

Have a great day,
Taj Boston Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,323 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
1,671 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Property: Taj Boston
Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116-3417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#26 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#44 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing