We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taj Boston
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$434
US$327
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Omni Parker House(Boston)(Great Value!)
US$235
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Boston Marriott Copley Place(Boston)(Great Value!)
US$298
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$402
US$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Lenox Hotel(Boston)
US$401
US$354
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$361
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin Boston Waterfront(Boston)(Great Value!)
US$296
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$225
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$283
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sheraton Boston Hotel(Boston)(Great Value!)
US$585
US$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,940)
Filter reviews
2,940 results
Traveller rating
1,524
816
337
168
95
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,524
816
337
168
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnewbury streetmolton brown toiletriesfireplace butlerpark viewgreat locationthe ritzpublic gardensroom serviceelegant hotelturn down servicebeacon hillan upgradefreedom trailconciergeluxurycommonsslippers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,964 - 1,969 of 2,940 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Hotel has excellent location - overlooking Boston Common - close to many local attractions.We stayed in park view suite which was big, comfortable and had amazing view on the park. Working fireplace with wood/fireplace buttler service - it was amazing. I travel often and have never seen working wooden fireplace in hotel room. Good service and dećent continental buffet breakafast. I highly recoomend this hotel - in my opinion the best in Boston - better than much more expensive Mandarin Oriental or Ritz Carlton. Taj Hotel needs some refurbishment but despite of it has great atmosphere and charm of old grand hotel ( it is former Ritz hotel ). Excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I can't imagine a better place to stay while in Boston. The Taj is situated in the ideal location - right across from the public garden, right on Newbury for fabulous shopping, steps from the start of the Freedom Trail, Boston Common, Beacon Hill, Cheers, etc. We stayed for three nights and had a room on the corner of Arlington and Commonwealth. Beautiful views, so it is worth it to upgrade your room category. Everything was immaculate, but what made the stay so memorable was the service. Extremely friendly and helpful staff all around. We were staying for our anniversary and each night we had surprises left in our room - strawberries, champagne, chocolates, rose petals on the bed. And hand written notes every single day. Talk about first class treatment. With that kind of service (and unbeatable location), I would never stay anywhere else in Boston. Highly, highly recommended.

Best places we went while in Boston - Pizzeria Regina in the North End, also Neptune Oyster (get in line early), Top of the Hub for a nice sunset cocktail.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoonerDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear SoonerDallas,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so pleased that you chose to celebrate your anniversary with us at Taj Boston and we were delighted that you loved our friendly staff and unbeatable service, as well as our hotel's ideal location close to the Public Garden and the fabulous shops on Newbury. It sounds like you had a wonderful Boston visit and tried some wonderful restaurants in the city!

We thank you again for taking the time to provide your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Boston the next time you return to our city!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

stayed her. For 4 days with family. Rooms are good size and very clean. View from the rooms is magnificent. Food quality can be improved. staff is very cooperative and helpfull. Would surely recommend to all

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inder s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear inder98374849,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay with us at Taj Boston! We were pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed your room size and the magnificent views from your room. We are quite appreciative that you would recommend our hotel to all!

We thank you again for your kind review and we hope to welcome you back to Taj Boston the next time your travels bring you to the city.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A great hotel, would have been better with a view, but after the previous hotel we stayed in this was luxury! The staff were extremely friendly and it is in a fantastic location. The room was clean and on our return in the evening we had ice and slippers waiting for us OK it seemed a little high brow but we deserved it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bev F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Bev F,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Taj Boston! We were delighted to learn that you found our staff to be extremely friendly and that you enjoyed our wonderful location. We were also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our nightly turndown service, and yes, you do indeed deserve it! : )

We thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Taj Boston the next time your travels bring you to Boston!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel is in a fabulous location, however it is stuffy and not very stroller or wheelchair friendly. When we first walked in the air is so full of Chanel 5 you can taste it! If you are sensistive to smell this is not the loaction for you; very nauseating! The bell staff and concierge were very helpful and had great attitudes as well. We stayed in an inside room so view of the roof and brickwalls were all we saw, if you craned your head out the window you could maybe get a glance of the sky. Our room was large and pretty empty, no artwork one very low mirrow by the front door, stained carpet and pretty beat up looking interior for a 4 star (?) hotel. This hotel has wireless available to purchase, i mean come on at 250$ + a night you dont even get WiFi... even the Hampton Inn gives you free WiFi! I would reccomend this hotel for location only or if you don't mind spending an arm and a leg for everything including a window to the outside world with a view. Other than that dont waste your time or money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garcia541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Garcia541,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments following your recent stay. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed our fabulous location, and that you found our concierge and bell staff helpful and pleasant.

We do apologize that you found the perfume from the boutique in our lobby to be overpowering. Regarding your comments on Wifi, we would like you to know that we are currently upgrading our Internet so that we may offer free Wifi in the near future.

We thank you again for providing feedback, as it is with guest comments such as your own that we may continue to improve our guest experiences.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews