We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't believe the hype” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taj Boston
Ranked #28 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lindsay
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't believe the hype”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Perhaps my expectations were too high but that is largely because of the good reviews I had read on TripAdvisor.
I would say that dollar for dollar this is one of the worst places I have stayed. The hotel is badly dated - nothing has been done with it since it was purchased in 2007. I thought I had walked into my grandmother's house only I remembered her place had more modern furnishings.
I had heard of the great service but didn't see it. Instead I saw a bunch of doormen standing around and actually had to call down for maid service mid afternoon after having been out of the room since 9 am.
The rooms are large and had separate shower/ toilet area from the sink area. Except the sink area was in the middle of the living area with no door for privacy.
I can't remember the last time I was charged for wireless but here was beyond ridiculous - $ 15 per day for Each Device. So if you have 2 phones an 1iPad with you as we did that was $ 135 total fora 3 night stay. This in a room that faced a brick wall and was $ 475 per night.
Do yourself a favour - choose the Fairmont , Four Seasons or Weston when in Boston. All are within a few blocks of this over rated place.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck_Garnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Chuck_Garnet,

We appreciate that you took the time to provide your recent comments following your stay with us. We were very disappointed to learn that your stay did not meet your expectations and have addressed your concerns with the respective team members.

We take pride in our historic, classic style hotel, and we are making ongoing improvements but we do apologize if you were misinformed and expected our hotel to be of a more modern style.

While we are disappointed that your visit to Taj Boston did not meet your expectations, we do thank you for providing us with your feedback so that we may in turn use these comments to improve our future guest experiences.

Should you wish to discuss this with me directly, I would welcome hearing from you and may best be reached at taj.boston@tajhotels.com.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,316
    695
    269
    134
    67
See reviews for
593
943
126
529
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Another great stay, the Taj doesn't lose any of its charm....luxurious rooms (431 this time, plenty of space on the corner) fantastic staff, (especially legendary concierge James), great food and service in the small bar. Topped with the best location of any Boston Hotel and I can't fault the Taj. 10/10, yet again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear goodjudge,

We were delighted to receive your stellar 5 star review and we are so appreciative of your continued patronage. We were so pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the food and service at The Bar, that you found our rooms luxurious and charming, and that you found our staff fantastic. We'll be sure to pass along your compliments to James!

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Boston when you return to Boston!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

As a family of four, we had scheduled a lot of activities during our stay. What we loved about the Taj was that we were smack dab in the middle of everything so we could walk to most things or easily grab the train or taxi if necessary. Having the Public Gardens and Boston Common right across the street was amazing! All staff were extremely helpful in providing useful suggestions. We never ate in the hotel so I cannot comment on that, and we stayed busy enough so our kids barely noticed that there was no pool. Everything worked like clockwork - which is what you would expect from a place like the Taj, so that is why they earned an "excellent" rating in my book.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4HatsRoadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear 4HatsRoadtrip,

Thank you so much for your lovely 5 star review following your recent stay with us at Taj Boston. We were so pleased that you and your family found our location perfect for your trip, granting you easy access to most everything, including the Public Gardens, Boston Common, and the T.

We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Taj Boston the next time you return to the city!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay at the Taj Boston, and we selected the hotel based its location next to trendy Newbury Street and previous reviews.
The hotel delivered on every front, from the kerbside welcome to the stunning suite on the 14th floor.
This is a grand old lady of hotels, so if your looking for a clinical boutique experience this will likely not be for you, but what they do have to offer in architectural style, luxuriously appointed rooms and friendly staff more than makes up for that.
My only wish would be that wi-fi, a must have for any world traveller in the 21st century, be complimentary and not a billed for extra. That, and having to pay separately for every device you want to connect is inexcusable in my eyes.
I would stay here again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JKWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear JKWelsh,

We were so pleased to read your 5 star review following your recent stay with us at Taj Boston. We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to share your comments and we were delighted to learn that you thought we delivered on every front, from the curbside welcome to your beautiful suite on the 14th floor.

We thank you for your comments regarding our wi-fi and we have passed these sentiments along to our Executive Committee. It is with comments such as yours that we are able to continue to improve our future guest experience.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back to Taj Boston the next time you return to our city!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Had the opportunity to stay at that the Taj and the check in process was seamless and the staff at the desk was friendly and made me feel very welcome. The room was spacious, although the bathroom is small. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Good selection on the menu. Every time I left or came back to the hotel I was greeted by the staff. I was able to walk to all of meetings because of the great location.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank pmdworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear pmdworldtraveler,

We were so pleased to read your positive reviewing following your recent stay with us during a business trip. We were happy to hear that you had a seamless experience during check-in, that our staff made you feel so welcome, and that you enjoyed our menu selections. Further, we were delighted to learn that our centralized location allowed you to walk to all of your meetings easily.

We thank you again for taking the time to share your kind feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Taj Boston when you return to the city!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

I travel extensively for both business and pleasure. I typically stay at one of the other Boston Copley hotels. Decided to try the Taj. Wonderful. Rooms were immaculate. Many many extra and appreciated touches. The bar was just like when it was the Ritz.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CapeCodderRER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear CapeCodderRER,

We were so pleased to receive your terrific review following your recent stay with us at Taj Boston! We were delighted that you appreciated our extra special touches and that you found the rooms immaculate and wonderful.

We thank you again for your kind feedback and we hope you choose to stay with us again the next time you return to the Copley area.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We celebrated a special Birthday weekend with outstanding g service and a great gourmet dinner
Our corner suite overlooking the Boston Common large sunny windows.Comfortable sleeping and relaxing stayTaj Cafe service and dinning was excellent.
The price was untouched any other luxury Hotel in Boston
We love the friendly staff at the Taj .
some weekends we just come into Boston for Sunday or Saturday Brunch in the Cafe.Its great !Taj Boston stands as a great Luxury old charm Hotel like no itches in Boston

Room Tip: Corner suites or premier rooms overlooking beautiful Boston Common and elegant Newbury a Street Qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear joansumie,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your special birthday weekend at Taj Boston! We were delighted to have you here and we are so pleased that you loved your corner suite overlooking the Public Gardens and that you enjoyed our friendly staff and your gourmet meal in The Cafe.

We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to share your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Boston in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#27 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#16 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Property: Taj Boston
Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116-3417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#20 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#44 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Indian Hotels Company Limited, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp and Southall Travel so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing