We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not if you want a comfortable night”
Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Boston
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 23 September 2008

We stayed for a couple of nights and found the bed unbearable. A cheap comforter with no cover on top and a lumpy feather comforter under the bottom sheet. Also, bizarrely, housekeeping threw out two bottles of water and the newly delivered free newspaper when we had our room cleaned. The front desk staff were fairly miserable but the other staff were really great and helpful.

Otherwise, it is what it is, an olde worlde stuffy traditional hotel that could use some renovations. Great location and views.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank egnarocatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,479 - 2,485 of 2,843 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2008

A fantastic room overlooking the park. Lovely quiet service. Old style graciousness. Nice to have use of the Executive Floor for snacks, though they did take there away somewhat quickly when the time was over. Comfortable beds and linens. I'd stay there for sure again,

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank shirleys556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2008

Wonderfully located, the hotel is very luxurious and the room was very comfortable and well decorated. The staff is very courteous.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Guy-Luc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2008

My husband, 3 month old son and I stayed here for 4 nights for a quick getaway.

The Taj is definitely not a 5 star hotel. The property is old and it shows. Our room (a 1 bedroom suite) required maintenance. The carpet was dirty and worn out. The bed skirt was filthy. The bathroom is small. The front desk/concierge took several calls for them to answer and the lounge has no access for strollers or wheelchairs.

On the positive side, the hotel's location is ideal and the beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2travel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We booked a Deluxe Garden view room with Club level service a few months ahead of time. I grew up just outside of Boston, but now live about 7 hours away (driving) and this trip was to bring my daughter to her first game at Fenway Park. I'm not a world traveller, but I have stayed in my share of hotels, and this experience was unmatched in my travels. It was absolutely beautiful. The service was the best I've experienced. The view of the public gardens, the windows that open, the location between Commonwealth Ave and Newbury street...frankly, it was the experience of a lifetime. I know that it's rooms and decor may not be the norm in the 21st century trend-setters, but neither are the streetlights or the mansions on Commonwealth Ave. At the suggestion of the excellent Club level staff, we chose to walk Commonwealth Ave rather than call a cab, and it was everything I could hope my daughter would appreciate about city life. I and my family loved our stay at Taj Boston!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

stayed here while it was the Ritz Carlton, we were upgraded to a suite from a room and it was beautiful and classic Ritz! The casual dinner in the Cafe was great as was afternoon tea in the French Lounge. Right on Newbury Street for shopping and the public garden. I would defiantly go back and hope that Taj have kept it up!

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newyorklover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2008

This is the former Ritz Carlton Hotel. It is a high class premium hotel and the service is from A to Z absolutely perfect.
The TAJ Chain wants to promote the fact of this kind of premium, palast like service and I am sure they have customers that go for that.
personally, I think it is a little bit to formal, but again, expectations are different.
if you are looking for a high class location in Boston, then you definitively are going to be happy if you select this hotel. If you want to go for business or if you want just to have a great location for visiting Boston, then I think another location would be more appropriate.
The Restaurant is fantastic, the Bar.... ok... there are more fun places to have a beer then in that Bar.
But again, tasts are different.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sandokan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
3,376 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,349 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116-3417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#25 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#44 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £153 - £559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing