We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice visit and great drinks”
Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Taj Boston
Ranked #35 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Pasadena, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice visit and great drinks”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and I were visiting Boston and came upon the Taj Boston. We heard it was the first Ritz Carlton and since we often stay with Ritz Carlton we decided to visit. We sat at the bar for a couple of hours to relax and enjoy a few drinks. The service was outstanding as the staff was warm, welcoming and very attentive. The drinks were very good too. The entire experience provided a nice finish to a great day.

A special “thank you” to the bar staff for an outstanding job. We will definitely consider staying at this beautiful hotel when we visit Boston again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4H0llyw00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear 4H0llyw00d,

Thank you for taking the time to share your 5 star review following your recent stay with us at Taj Boston! We were delighted to learn that you had such a wonderful experience at our bar and that you found our service outstanding, warm and attentive. We will be sure to pass your compliments on to our bar staff!

We thank you again for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Boston and we hope to welcome you back to Taj Boston the next time you return to our city.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,450
    775
    313
    153
    82
See reviews for
681
1,025
136
619
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in a one bed room corner suite 609. It had a fabulous living room with a fireplace; But the bed room was clastrophobic, seemed to be detached from the living room. The bath room was just OK in comfort and size. To access the living room, you need to navigate thru corridors. On the right of bedroom there are hidden spaces which you think will take you to living room; but they are blocked. The management at Taj should reconfigure the suite by opening the two closet spaces facing the bed as entrance to living room, and building new closets on the sides.

The cafe on the lobby was absolutely fantastic, they serve great food with exceptional attention and service! Bravo!. The menu is eclectic including Indian dishes with a touch of class. They serve Indian butter nun bread hot right out of the clay oven, and I have never experienced before, their rich taste and texture when eaten with a dab of Taj's chicken curry. Taj cafe is a great place to eat; we had breakfast, lunch and dinner, sitting their and looking over the Arlington and Newbury streets.

This is a nonsmoking property. However, they have guests who violate the rule and smoke in their rooms. The bath room of 6-9 was filled with cigarette smoke in the morning, comng from the adjacent 611 or another room. Even though we lodged a complaint to the management, they did not do anything about it.

Over all Taj Boston is an excellent hotel, but with little bit more attention, it could become an outstanding hotel in Boston, particularly show some courage to throw out the people who violate the smoking regulation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramaswamy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Ramaswamy_12,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay with us at Taj Boston. We were delighted to learn that you found our hotel to be excellent overall, and we were so pleased that you enjoyed multiple meals in The Café and had the chance to sample our delicious Indian cuisine.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience we may have caused due to the fact that one of our guests was smoking in a nearby room. We can imagine how upsetting that must have been and can assure you that we take the non-smoking policy very seriously. In addition, this is not just a hotel policy but the city of Boston has actually prohibited smoking in all hotels. Please rest assured that this was addressed with the guest who was smoking on your floor. We have also shared your experience with the respective department heads to ensure better follow up in the future.

We sincerely appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services and accommodations. We thank you again for providing us with your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Taj Boston in the future.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community of Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed here because we found a fantastic offer, otherwise it would have been out of our range. The lobby is big and welcoming, and the service is absolutely great. The rooms are fine but in need of an update, now they look classy but old-fashioned. The bathrooms have been renovated and Molton Brown's products in the bathrooms are a plus.
The wifi conection is not very good, they charge you for it and it only allows one device at a time, which is not very helpful so in the end we decided to go to Starbucks.
Location is great for tourism and there is a tube station really close.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eirey26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Eirey26,

Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us at Taj Boston! We were so pleased to learn that you found our service to be great, our location perfect for tourism, and our lobby large and welcoming.

We thank you for your feedback regarding our Wi-Fi and rooms and have passed along your comments to our Executive Committee. We appreciate guest comments such as your own so that we may continue to improve our future guest's experiences.

We thank you again for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to welcome you back to Taj Boston when you return to the city!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hotel is in a great Boston location so very close to the best shops, restaurants and activities. Everything is a close walk and being across from the Park is special. Perfect for tourists.

The hotel lobby is very warm and inviting - love that they have complimentary coffee and danishes in the AM. The rooms are fine but in need of some updating. The furniture and walls are looking a bit tired. The bathrooms however look to have been recently updated and while small are very clean and stocked with Molton Brown products. A big shower with good water pressure.

In addition to the room upkeep the wifi situation is very poor/slow. I was there on a business trip and working on emails and downloading documents was very frustrating and only one unit could be connected to the Wifi at a time. It was not conducive to working at all and this needs to be updated in order to business travelers to stay here. I do hope this gets resolved as I would definitely go back if corrected.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avalonsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear avalonsurf,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay at Taj Boston. We were delighted to learn that you found our location to be perfect for tourists seeking a hotel within easy walking distance to the best shops, restaurants and activities. Further, we were pleased that you appreciated our complimentary morning coffee and danish in our lobby.

We do apologize that you experienced issues with our WiFi during your stay and we have shared your comments with our Executive Committee and Corporate Office. We thank you for bringing this to our attention, as it is with comments from guests such as yourself that we are able to continue to strive to improve our future guest experiences.

We thank you again for your constructive feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Taj Boston in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My girlfriend and I went to the bar at Taj Boston to celebrate our anniversary. They have a great selection of beers and cocktails. We loved the spiced passion caipirina. The Staff went
above and beyond to make our night special. We had a great time! Thanks in particular to William and Javier. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Marc P,

We were delighted to read your recent 5 star review following your visit to Taj Boston to celebrate your anniversary, and we sincerely thank you for sharing your feedback. We are so pleased that Javier and William went above and beyond to make your night so memorable and we have shared your kind comments with them.

We thank you again for taking the time to review your recent experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Boston in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

From the moment we arrived, our stay at the Taj Boston was magical. We were upgraded to a suite - the Winston Churchill suite - and I have never stayed in such a special room. The suite was well appointed, luxurious and beautifully decorated. The decor was classic and while the tvs and bathroom were modern, it felt like stepping back in time. The bed was soft and comfortable. Molton brown toiletries and a powerful shower were greatly appreciated. I could not speak more highly of the staff who were courteous, well-mannered and helpful. A special word of thanks to the concierges who assisted us during our stay, Jill and Leonardo.

If I had a complaint, it would be that wifi is not complimentary and costs $10.45 per device for 24 hours.

Without doubt though, we will be back to the Taj.

Room Tip: We stated in Room 409 - stunning view overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corklady_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Corklady_12,

We were so pleased to receive your 5 star review following your recent stay with us at Taj Boston, and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We were delighted to learn that you had a fantastic stay, enjoying everything from your suite and its decor, to our courteous staff and our knowledgeable concierge.

We thank you again for providing us with your lovely feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you return to Boston.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great stay, but be careful staying on the top floor. See my tip below.
Great location. Walking distance to everything and in the posh part of the city. I would highly recommend the Taj. The staff was perfect. Bedding was perfect. Room was comfortable.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the top floor if the have a band playing on the roof that evening. I also wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear jayg23,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review following your recent stay with us at Taj Boston! We were delighted to learn that you would highly recommend our hotel, and we were so pleased that you found our staff perfect, the rooms comfortable, and that you loved our central location in Boston.

We do apologize for any inconveniences you experienced due to the event set up above you, and we have shared your concerns with our Executive Committee.

We thank you again for your kind review and we hope to welcome you and your family back to Taj Boston when you return to the city!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,322 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
1,672 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Property: Taj Boston
Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116-3417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#26 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#44 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing