We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bar at the taj”
Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Boston
Ranked #37 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Just want to say how much I enjoy stopping after work at the bar the bartenders are always friendly and since they changed the menu I've enjoyed it immensely (lamb sliders and ribs) the experience should not be missed

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Keith F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding The Bar. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed popping in after work to have cocktails and sample our new bar menu items. We will be sure to pass along your kind comments to our bar staff and Executive Chef.

We hope to see you again at The Bar soon!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,897)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,812 - 1,818 of 2,897 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at the Taj Boston for two nights during a weekend break. The hotel is in a fabulous location right opposite of one of the main parks, neighbouring on what I would call Boston’s ‘Bond Street’. We had a room on the 4th floor overlooking the park. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. The décor was a bit dated and the bathroom rather small. It could do with a refurbishment but because of the more traditional look and feel of the hotel, it didn’t really bother us too much – just keep this in mind if you are looking for something new.

We didn’t try any of the hotel facilities, so can’t comment on those. The only thing I would criticize was the arrival experience. The doorman was too busy counting his tip and didn’t help the taxi driver with our luggage – the door staff also didn’t open doors when arriving back at the hotel, which I would usually expect at a grand hotel.

The Wi-Fi situation was also a bit confusing as it was complimentary when we checked-out but at a charge when trying to access it in the room.

If you are looking for a great location from which to explore Boston by foot, I would recommend this hotel keeping my comments above in mind.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear chris2401,

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay with us at Taj Boston. We were delighted that you enjoyed our fabulous location, opposite the Public Garden and adjacent to Newbury Street (what you would call Boston's 'Bond Street')!

We were concerned to read your comments regarding the doorman that you encountered, and we would like to offer our apologies on behalf of this individual. We hold our staff to a much higher standard, and we we are truly apologetic that you did not receive the gracious attention that you, and all of our guests, deserves.

We sincerely thank you for sharing your constructive comments, as it is with reviews from guests such as yourself that we may continue to improve our future guest experiences. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Taj Boston the next time you return to our city.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed at The Taj this past Winter. I wasn't as impressed as I thought I would be. I thought the hotel would be nicer for the price. My room had a pretty view of the city and a beautiful bathroom. The room itself was middle of the grade. We started with cocktails in the lounge area and were there for a couple of hours, which was fun. After dinner at Atlantic Fish, we headed back to the lounge area for an after-dinner drink, which was also very fun. I'm not sure I would stay at The Taj again. Great location, corner of Newbury Street. But, after staying at The Liberty Hotel and The Intercontinental, the Taj was my least favorite. Not a bad experience. I just expected more.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Deven R,

Thank you so much for providing your feedback following your stay with us at Taj Boston. We were pleased to learn that you found our location on the corner of Newbury Street to be great, and that you enjoyed cocktails and lounging at The Bar. Further, we were delighted that you enjoyed the beautiful Boston city views from your room.

We were disappointed to learn that although you appreciated all of the above, we did not meet your expectations. Should you wish to share additional feedback or specific areas for improvement, we may be contacted at: taj.boston@tajhotels.com.

We sincerely appreciated receiving your review, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Taj Boston in the future.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

In the heart of Boston overlooking the Public Gardens is Taj Boston, the former Ritz Carlton.
It is such a beautiful place that I cannot imagine staying anywhere else on visits to Boston.
Everything is perfect - the position, the ambience, the service, the food! The blueberry pancakes are delicious!
Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Public Gardens are better but more expensive. My room with a city view was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DollyGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear DollyGoldCoast,

Thank you so much for your wonderful 5 star review following your recent stay with us at Taj Boston, and thank you for sharing your great photos on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased that you found your entire experience most enjoyable- from the ambiance, to the service, to the food, and our perfect location in the heart of Boston.

We thank you again for sharing your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Boston in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

One truly cannot go wrong with a visit to the Taj - be it drinks, dinner or a few night stay. Best location in town. Wonderful staff & a lovely atmosphere. Looking forward to Tiffany's opening up soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACT72014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear ACT72014,

We truly appreciate your kind words and your continued patronage of Taj Boston and we thank you for sharing your lovely feedback. We were so pleased that you found our staff to be wonderful, our atmosphere lovely, and that you enjoyed our centralized location.

We sincerely thank you again for reviewing your recent experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Boston in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and I were visiting Boston and came upon the Taj Boston. We heard it was the first Ritz Carlton and since we often stay with Ritz Carlton we decided to visit. We sat at the bar for a couple of hours to relax and enjoy a few drinks. The service was outstanding as the staff was warm, welcoming and very attentive. The drinks were very good too. The entire experience provided a nice finish to a great day.

A special “thank you” to the bar staff for an outstanding job. We will definitely consider staying at this beautiful hotel when we visit Boston again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4H0llyw00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear 4H0llyw00d,

Thank you for taking the time to share your 5 star review following your recent stay with us at Taj Boston! We were delighted to learn that you had such a wonderful experience at our bar and that you found our service outstanding, warm and attentive. We will be sure to pass your compliments on to our bar staff!

We thank you again for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Boston and we hope to welcome you back to Taj Boston the next time you return to our city.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in a one bed room corner suite 609. It had a fabulous living room with a fireplace; But the bed room was clastrophobic, seemed to be detached from the living room. The bath room was just OK in comfort and size. To access the living room, you need to navigate thru corridors. On the right of bedroom there are hidden spaces which you think will take you to living room; but they are blocked. The management at Taj should reconfigure the suite by opening the two closet spaces facing the bed as entrance to living room, and building new closets on the sides.

The cafe on the lobby was absolutely fantastic, they serve great food with exceptional attention and service! Bravo!. The menu is eclectic including Indian dishes with a touch of class. They serve Indian butter nun bread hot right out of the clay oven, and I have never experienced before, their rich taste and texture when eaten with a dab of Taj's chicken curry. Taj cafe is a great place to eat; we had breakfast, lunch and dinner, sitting their and looking over the Arlington and Newbury streets.

This is a nonsmoking property. However, they have guests who violate the rule and smoke in their rooms. The bath room of 6-9 was filled with cigarette smoke in the morning, comng from the adjacent 611 or another room. Even though we lodged a complaint to the management, they did not do anything about it.

Over all Taj Boston is an excellent hotel, but with little bit more attention, it could become an outstanding hotel in Boston, particularly show some courage to throw out the people who violate the smoking regulation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramaswamy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Ramaswamy_12,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay with us at Taj Boston. We were delighted to learn that you found our hotel to be excellent overall, and we were so pleased that you enjoyed multiple meals in The Café and had the chance to sample our delicious Indian cuisine.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience we may have caused due to the fact that one of our guests was smoking in a nearby room. We can imagine how upsetting that must have been and can assure you that we take the non-smoking policy very seriously. In addition, this is not just a hotel policy but the city of Boston has actually prohibited smoking in all hotels. Please rest assured that this was addressed with the guest who was smoking on your floor. We have also shared your experience with the respective department heads to ensure better follow up in the future.

We sincerely appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services and accommodations. We thank you again for providing us with your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Taj Boston in the future.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 86 in Boston
3,467 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 86 in Boston
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Loews Boston Hotel
Loews Boston Hotel
#15 of 86 in Boston
1,766 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116-3417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#27 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Family Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £148 - £399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing