We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time for a renovation - and staff to learn who are repeat visitors”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Taj Boston
Ranked #31 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bensheim, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Time for a renovation - and staff to learn who are repeat visitors”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel has a great location, but it has been riding on history under the Taj brand. Rooms are big and spacious, but try finding a power outlet. Some of the beds are comfortable, others feel like they were used in the Revolutionary War. Above all, what muffs me is that I get tested like a first-time visitor every time I come, including two times since May 1. So time for a renovation and include the IT system so staff can recognize repeat guests and avoid all the first-time guest questions and comments.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnGilardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear JohnGilardi,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your stay with us during a recent business trip. While we were pleased that you enjoyed our great location, we were disappointed to read that you did not prefer your bed, and that our staff was inconsistent in recognizing you as a valued repeat guest. Our Front Desk Manager has been made aware of your comments and we have made sure that your profile reflects your previous stays.

We sincerely thank you for sharing your comments with us, as it is from feedback from valued guests such as yourself that we may continue to strive to improve our future guest experiences. We hope to welcome you back to Taj Boston again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,357
    714
    278
    141
    71
See reviews for
617
962
129
560
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We are currently staying at the Taj. We ordered a large bottle of Saint Pellegrino in a bucket of ice with two glasses. We were deliverd a warm bottle with one glass of ice. For $17. When we asked room service to bring up the bucket of ice we requested the told us we could get it from the ice machine down the hall. Luxury hotel?

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank HK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear HK75,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review during your stay with us at Taj Boston. We were disappointed to learn that you perceived some issues with our In-Room Dining department, and as you are currently in-house, our In-Room Dining Manager, Zulfikar (Z), would welcome the opportunity to speak with you and improve the rest of your stay to make it as enjoyable as possible. Kindly dial Room Service and ask for Zulfikar (Z) or Matthew. You may also e-mail zulfikar.dhilla@tajhotels.com if you wish.

We sincerely thank you for providing your comments, and we hope to have the opportunity to improve the remainder of your stay.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely spacious rooms, comfortable beds, bathroom a little bit old fashioned but the features are quirky. Good location overlooking the park in Boston, excellent for the heritage trail and other Boston landmarks.
Bar a little expensive, didn't eat in the restaurant during our stay.
Would return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JoolsMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear JoolsMiltonKeynes,

We thank you for taking the time to share your review following your stay with us at Taj Boston! We were delighted to learn that you found our rooms to be lovely and spacious with comfortable beds, and a beautiful location overlooking the Public Gardens.

We thank you again for providing your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Taj Boston the next time your travels bring you to our city!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Taj is a charming place to stay. It has lovely views over the park towards Boston Common and it was very conveniently located for the Park Street T stop.We really appreciated them not charging us for internet access and having $54 towards breakfast each morning made this good value. The Molton Brown toiletries were also very nice and frequently replenished. The 'turn down' service made us smile when we walked in every night to find chocolates on a tray, slippers put out ready and the small bathroom light left on to light the entrance. Every member of staff really did go the extra mile. Plus the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed we'd ever slept in!

Room Tip: We really liked the park view rather than the city view. This did mean there was a main road outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear B H,

We were so pleased to read your 5 star review that you shared following your recent stay with us at Taj Boston. We sincerely thank you for all your kind comments and we are delighted that you appreciated our accommodating staff, turn down service, park view rooms, and convenient location close to public transportation.

We thank you again for taking the time to provide your lovely feedback and we hope to welcome you and your family back to Taj Boston the next time your travels bring you to our city.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumbull, CT
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

For the price and star rating we were very surprised by this hotel. The bed was comfortable and the room clean, but the furniture was tired and mismatched. The concierge desk has great staff, there was one guy calling taxis that was down right rude, luckily he was not there the next time we needed a car. The bar was small but the bartender friendly. We had booked a room with two beds but upon arrival none were available, so we were moved into a king suite. Biggest complaint is you hear toilets flushing ALL NIGHT AND DAY! Kept waking us up.

Room Tip: Maybe a top floor room w/ no toilets above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear sweeney1121,

Thank you for your recent review following your stay at Taj Boston. We were pleased to learn that you found our concierge staff to be great, and that you found our bartenders friendly. We were disappointed to receive your comments regarding one of our doorman and we do apologize for this encounter. We pride ourselves in employing gracious, hospitality-driven individuals, and we are very sorry that this was not the type of service that you received. Your comments have been passed along to our Front Office Manager so that he may review with his team.

We thank you again for taking the time to share your constructive comments, as it is with feedback from individuals such as yourself that we may be able to strive to improve our future guest experiences. We hope that you will consider staying with us the next time you are in Boston so that we may provide you with a guest experience that exceeds your expectations.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

If you have any desire to experience hotels the way they use to be ... stay at Taj. The interiors are elegant and refined and the staff is top notch. The bedroom and the bathroom are huge. And one of the greatest delights - Molton Brown toiletries!

I work out of town and stay in hotels just about every week. Staying at Taj is a wonderful change from the Marriott, the Sheraton, and Hilton. They provide all of the little touches that so many of the chains have eliminated. I completely forgot what turn down service and little chocolates on the bed were like.

If you are looking for elegance and class - this is the hotel for you!

Room Tip: Mine was perfect and it was in the middle of the floor - so no advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Marianne F,

Thank you so much for your gracious 5 star review following your recent stay with us at Taj Boston! We were delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed all that Taj Boston had to offer, including our Molton Brown toiletries, turn down service, and top notch staff.

We thank you again for taking the time to share your kind comments, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Taj Boston the next time you are in town for business or pleasure!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Let me start by saying that years ago, as a poor college student, I used to pass by this place when the Taj when it was the old Ritz Carlton and dreamed of the day that I may spend a night there. Fast forward 20 years later and when I decided to take my son to Boston I chose this for sentimental reasons. The location is unbeatable and the staff courteous and helpful but the guest rooms, while showing vestiges of the hotel's former elegance, have seen better days. My room had peeling wallpaper as well as a thermostat that was literally hanging from the wall. The furniture looked worn and like it had been there since the 1980s as did the rugs. There is a difference between old world elegance and tired decor. The view was stunning though and the beds comfortable. I have stayed in five star hotels in the US and Europe and sadly this did not live up to its rating, not to mention that wifi was $10.45 and parking $44 a night. I would say the Taj may be a grande dame but she is showing her age...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Amy B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent experience at Taj Boston. We were so pleased that you found our location unbeatable, the views from your room stunning, and our staff courteous and helpful.

We were very disappointed to learn that your stay did not live up to the expectations that you set so many years ago. We were especially concerned and surprised to read your comments regarding the condition of your room, and we have notified our Director of Housekeeping of your feedback. We sincerely apologize that the room you received was anything less than stellar, and we wish that we had been given the opportunity during your stay to remedy this situation.

We sincerely appreciated receiving your candid feedback, as it is from comments from guests such as yourself that we may strive to continuously improve our future guest experiences. We hope to welcome you and your family back to Taj Boston in the near future to provide you with a guest experience that exceeds your expectations.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,593 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
3,239 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Property: Taj Boston
Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116-3417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#22 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#44 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing