We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank Taj and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Boston
Ranked #33 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Thank Taj and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our entire stay was delightful. As an older building, the hotel is very well kept, and the older style wide hallways are very nice. This hotel was the old Ritz Carlton. Overall, the service was excellent; Check in was easy and helpful. I had sent an email to the hotel manager inquiring about Boston, the hotel, and the area. This was our first time to Boston and wanted to have a nice few days. Once we received the keys to the room we made our way to the 16th floor, opened the door to our room and to our surprise the Hotel Manager had upgraded us to a beautiful suite, she left a personalize note and strawberries. Wow we were so grateful. The room was well decorated, wonderful bed to sleep and Molton Brown products. Each night staff left water and chocolates in our room at turn down service. The hotel is located across the street from Boston Commons and the fashionable Newbury Street. It is close to Cheers, and many outdoor restaurants. The location could have not been any better. It was located close to the T and also easy access to Coply Square, which you can take a Logan express bus to and from the airport. Overall we had a wonderful stay and would definitely return to The Taj when back in Boston. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pjtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Pjtime,

Thank you so much for your lovely 5 star review following your recent stay with us at Taj Boston! We were so happy that you had a wonderful stay and that we were able to help make your first visit to Boston a memorable one. We are delighted that you enjoyed your room, our centralized location in the city, our Molton Brown products, and our turn down service.

We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to share your kind words. We hope that this was your first of many trips to Boston and we look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Boston when you return in the future!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,366
    719
    281
    143
    72
See reviews for
625
964
129
569
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The location is great, directly across from the park. The staff was also vey helpful. However, the hotel is dated and in need of a facelift. I had a spacious room, with a view of the park. But everything was old, the carpet, the draperies, the furniture. Even the bathroom needed help. With such a great property, the Taj needs to invest in the physical plant and make it what it could truly be, which is magnificent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pingos04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear pingos04,

We thank you for your recent review following your stay with us at Taj Boston. We were pleased that you thought our location directly across from the park was great, and that you found our staff to be helpful. We do appreciate your comments regarding some condition issues that you encountered while at our hotel and we have shared your sentiments with our Executive Committee.

We thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Taj Boston in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This is a good hotel. The rooms, though slightly old fashioned, are spacious, clean and comfortable. Bathrooms good.

I stayed for 3 nights and found the staff warm, welcoming and helpful.

The location, right by Newbury St is perfect for a bit of evening shopping, and close to the river, where there are several good jogging routes.

All in all, a good experience.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank HumptyDumptyMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear HumptyDumptyMidlands,

We were so pleased to receive your recent 5 star review and we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our staff, rooms, and location adjacent to Newbury Street and nearby multiple jogging routes.

We thank you again for providing your review and we hope to welcome you back to Taj Boston in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in June for a business trip and found it to be a wonderful stay, the staff were soo incredibly friendly and not the forced kind but they seemed to genuinely care. Definatetly something that you want to see when you arrive in Boston after a long flight so well done The Taj for a brilliant roster of staff.
The room was incredibly spacious and grand, not very modern but it had character and I enjoyed my stay. My only con would be that there was just the 1 plug socket which was across the room from the bed.
I was able to fit in a day of sight seeing and I want to give thanks to a concierge called James Goshen who praise I cannot sing highly enough of. He helped me plan my day to perfection and I was able to enjoy the many of sights of Boston including utilising the subway!James you're an absolute legend thanks!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Sandra N,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind review following your recent stay with us during a business trip. We were delighted that you felt we had a brilliant roster of staff and that you felt our staff to be incredibly friendly and genuinely caring. We will be sure to pass along your compliments to our concierge, James, and we are happy to hear that he was able to help you plan the perfect sightseeing day in Boston!

We sincerely thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Taj Boston the next time you return to the city!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed at the Taj for a wedding, and found the hotel to be just about perfect. The room had a magnificent view of the Common, and was stocked with amenities. The decor was perfect, with just the right mix of modern and classic. The food was delicious, and the staff was attentive, courteous, curious, and respectful. And you can't beat the location, just off of Newbury and Comm Ave, and just a short walk to Downtown Crossing, Fanieul Hall, and the harbor. I would happily stay here again for any occasion!

Room Tip: Get a view on the common; it is to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BryanHealey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Brian H,

We were delighted to receive your lovely 5 star review following your recent stay with us at Taj Boston. We were so pleased to learn that you enjoyed everything from the decor to our food, to our centralized location in the heart of Boston. We sincerely appreciated all the kind things you had to say, and we will surely pass along your compliments to our staff.

We thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Taj Boston in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

A lovely place to stay, beautifully classic. A large comfortable bed, great layout and super bathroom. I only wish I'd been aware of the 'bath menu' as I would love to have arrived to a pre-run aromatic bath after my journey. I travelled alone to this hotel, but I would say that this is a romantic location in a wonderful city, great for couples. I really felt that I was missing out by being here on business.
Whilst it may not be classy - I do like the ability to make tea in my room. I had to utilise room service to get tea here, which was quick, but not a quick as boiling my own kettle. Purely a personal thing.
The staff were great in accommodating my breakfast choice (apparently it's unusual to want your peanut butter on toast and without jelly), and in helping me to locate colleagues that were staying elsewhere. Great service. But when I return, it won't be alone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIJayne19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear GIJayne19,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your lovely review following your recent stay with us at Taj Boston for business. We were delighted to learn that you found our hotel to be beautifully classic and that our staff was able to accommodate you in locating your colleagues and with your requests during breakfast. Regarding the lack of in-room tea kettle, we would be happy to update your preferences so that there will be one waiting for you in your room the next time you return to our hotel.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Taj Boston in the near future, whether for business or for pleasure.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

My wife reserved the executive suite to get ready for our wedding and to spend our first night at the Taj. From the beginning, they were very accommodating - allowing her to check in at 1 p.m. The room was beautiful and huge (800 Sq ft). She as well as her bridesmaids got ready at the hotel without bumping into each other. We also had a photographer and 2 videographers in the room but it did not feel cramped in any way. When we returned with some friends at the end of our wedding, we were surprised with chocolate covered strawberries and the bed was decorated with rose petals. It was a wonderful surprise! 1st class service. Would recommend this place to anyone looking for flexibility and great service in the heart of Boston.

Room Tip: Executive suite is very spacious; however, the room we had did not have a view. We didnt mind this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEN5312014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Hotel Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear JEN5312014,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent 5 star review following your stay with us at Taj Boston. We are honored that you chose our hotel for your first night as newlyweds and we were delighted to learn that our entire staff went out of their way to ensure that you and your wife had ample time and space to prepare for your big day. We were pleased to learn that you both enjoyed the rose petal turn down and amenities when you returned to your room after your wedding.

We thank you again for choosing our hotel for such a momentous occasion and we hope to welcome you back in the future, perhaps for your one year anniversary!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#27 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,243 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Property: Taj Boston
Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116-3417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#24 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#44 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing