We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taj Boston
Ranked #28 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We started our tour of New England here and we were not disappointed. We arrived from the airport and were met with a very friendly young man on reception who was very helpful. Our check in was smooth and efficient.
Our room was very nice and clean. We found the staff very helpful through-out our 5 day stay and they were always ready with useful information and advice about Boston.
The hotels location is great for seeing the city and close to good restaurants
I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Susanne R,

We thank you greatly for sharing your 5 star review following your stay with us at Taj Boston! We were so pleased to hear that you appreciated the high level of service that you received, from our front desk agent, to our housekeeping department. We are also glad to see that you were able to enjoy our central location, and that we aided you in discovering the city of Boston.

We sincerely appreciate your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Boston upon your return to the city!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,318
    695
    269
    134
    67
See reviews for
593
943
126
531
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Quick visit to Boston and this hotel made the trip even better. Room was good, king size bed very comfortable, nice bathroom if a little on the small side. Good quality toiletries. Room service staff were very considerate.
Ate both breakfast and lunch here. Food was excellent as were the staff. I really enjoyed the clam chowder and my husband thought the indian food was excellent. It is after all called The Taj!
Location is very good, right near Newbury, plenty of shops and other dining options in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear joeger,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us regarding your recent stay at Taj Boston.

We are thrilled to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is a delight that you not only enjoyed our rooms, but that you had the chance to try our restaurant, The Café. Our AAA Four Diamond rated restaurant has a Chef that is from Mumbai, and is able to provide authentic meals for our guests.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future for what is hopefully a longer stay.

Warm Regards,
Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
244 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I was only in Boston for a 24 hour business trip and had just come off of 21 days of global travel. I was so happy with my executive floor room at The Taj I was immediately saying I'd come back and forgo any other Boston hotels on my next trip - and I've tried them all! This is an elegant, understated, quiet, global-feeling hotel that deserves a look. The check-in staff, room service, amenities and location are world-class. I realize I had an upgraded room and that was a true gift but the hotel is in the best location and if you like old world elegance and class, exquisite bedding, robes, bathroom toiletries and towels - this it the place for you!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NonaKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear NonaKim,

Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel regarding your recent stay with us on business. It is always a pleasure to read such positive feedback from the guests who stay with us, and it is an honor to be considered your go-to hotel for your trips to Boston.

We are delighted to read that you were pleased with many aspects of our hotel, including our location, rooms, hotel amenities, and our team. It is feedback such as this that inspires our team to continue to provide the excellent service that we are known for.

We once again thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Boston in the near future. Hopefully, it will be for leisure, and not just for business.

Warm Regards,
Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Reservationist (Patrick) was terrific and the concierge (Tom) as well. All the staff was very accommodating. The location was perfect and the view of the park was wonderful and well worth the slight extra charge that Patrick arranged. The concierge arranged for Enterprise to pick up our car when we arrived AND deliver a new one when we left, which was awesome. I wish the room and bathroom had been a little bit larger.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clint W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Wow, the services were great. Doorman, lobby, check-in, cleaning, turn-down, bar services and food. The BUFFET on Sunday is awesome.... Rooms are spacious and nice, little dated, but still very nice. Convenient to shopping, food and sights. Great weekend home-base. (And for business)

Room Tip: Park view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KDGS-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear KDGS- Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay. We were delighted to learn that you found our service to be great as a whole! We will be sure to pass your kind comments along. Further, we were pleased that you enjoyed our Sunday Brunch so thoroughly.

We thank you again and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Taj Boston in the future.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Taj Hotel is located in the best area of Boston. The room was clean and comfortable. I appreciated the turn down service.

However, getting an in room coffee maker was more of a production than I felt was necessary. We had to call the front desk to get one, and then call again after waiting for a bit. Then security brought it up. The next day (after the staff cleaned the room) we noticed that they did not clean the coffee maker or replenish it with coffees/teas/creamer. It was just very strange to me.

Also, we were on the 16th floor. We heard the crew setting up the roof top brunch very early in the morning which was very annoying!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Rebecca U,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay with us at Taj Boston! We were so pleased to learn that you appreciated our location, and twice daily housekeeping service during your stay.

We were however disappointed to learn that you were disturbed on Sunday morning and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

We thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to Boston when you return to the city!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I recently stayed at the Taj for the second time in about 6 months and was every bit as impressed during this most recent visit. The property has successfully maintained the charm and elegance of its renowned predecessor (Ritz Carlton - one of the first 3 or so in the country, and former residence of Winston Churchill, Cole Porter, Jerome kerns ?!) and now has shown to me a level of consistency in its quality and service. I cannot say enough about the staff - they were professional, courteous and attentive, greeted me by name and anticipated my needs/requests. I have conducted due diligence for hotels throughout my career in investment banking, and have stayed in a range of hotels across the country and abroad. I can honestly say my two stays at the Taj were a delight and I look forward to returning. I would recommend this hotel to anyone - (and the location is unsurpassed! Park view rooms and/or fireplaces if you can do it make the experience even more luxurious - Enjoy!)

Room Tip: Park View rooms overlook the Public Garden and Swan Boats; rooms with Fireplaces are amazing too, es...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Kathryn M,

Thank you so much for sharing your 5 star review following your stay with us at Taj Boston! We were so pleased to hear that you found our location unsurpassed, as well as our overall quality and service to be excellent with continued consistency.

We take pride in the charm, elegance, and history of our hotel, and we are glad that you’ve been able to enjoy just that.

We sincerely appreciate your continued patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Boston when you return to the city!

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#27 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#16 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Property: Taj Boston
Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116-3417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#20 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#44 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing