We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - central location”
Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Boston
Ranked #35 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great hotel - central location”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel we thought was just perfect. Just by the park and good walking distance to everything (being European we do accept to walk a bit though).

We had a nice room and it was nice and silent.

The service was excellent, and they booked tickets, gave good advices and even made a picnic basket for us to bring along to the 4th of July celebration on short notice.

So definitely a hotel I will stay at next time in Boston as well

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Khoeg,

We are thrilled to read that you had an excellent stay with us. We thank you for highlighting our prime location in Boston just across from Public Gardens on Arlington and Newbury Streets. It sounds as though you had the perfect activity planned for 4th of July. Its a delight to read that we were able to put together a great picnic amenity for you.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Boston. It would be a pleasure to host you again.

Warm Regards,
Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,414
    746
    300
    150
    78
See reviews for
652
999
132
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

You would think that a Hotel with the class (and price) of the Taj would have a good bed...not the case with our stay....the mattress was old and caved in and apparently a top sheet is something one has to ask for.... REALLY!!! There are a lot of nice hotels in Boston, I suggest finding one other than the Taj

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear John M,

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay at the Taj Boston. First and foremost, we would like to apologize for any discomfort caused to you as a result of our bed. While it is our standard to make the beds with a duvet cover that gets changed daily we would be happy to update your preference for future visits to make your bed with an additional top sheet. We also offer beds of differing firmness to suit individual needs and I apologize that you were not informed of this during your stay.

We truly regret that we were unable to assist you in being comfortable and if you wish to contact us to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to email me at taj.boston@tajhotels.com.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

It would be very hard to beat this downtown Boston hotel across the street from the Public Gardens. They offer valet parking and even umbrellas when it rains!We are still not sure how they knew it was our anniversary but not only did we find a selection of chocolate covered strawberries upon arrival but that nights turn down included a heart shape on our bed made of rose petals! A truly classy touch. The staff was exceedingly helpful and friendly. I highly recommend a stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Taj maintains a standard of service that's better than most of the hotels we've stayed at in Boston.
The reception was friendly and efficient, the bellman was helpful and informative and the room was very clean and well styled.
Small touches like ice in the ice-bucket each evening at turn-down were really appreciated.
The doorman's recommendation of a restaurant was just what we needed and reflected the attention he paid to what we said we wanted for dinner (and the style of restaurant).
All in all a very good experience.
The location at the foot of Newbury Street is hard to beat.

Room Tip: We had a Newbury Street view which was fine. They're are Park views which may have been better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobnMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear BobnMal,

Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel. It is feedback such as yours that continues to inspire all of us to continue to provide the exceptional service that we are known for. We thank you for recognizing that.

We hope that we have the opportunity to host you again in the near future. It would be an honor to welcome you back to our hotel.

Warm Regards,
Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arlington, va
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed in a park view room which I found spacious and comfortable. The bed was perfect. The room was quiet. There is high definition TV—the real deal (a huge plus with my husband, so many fine hotels do not have high definition). The bathroom is compact but well appointed. People always rave about the Molton Brown products and I have never really understood why they were so special—the Molton Brown products here are fab, smell so good.

The thing that made the stay really special was the staff. We felt so welcome. Andrew checked us in, could not have been friendlier. He recommended that we wait for a park view room on a high floor and we were glad we did. He directed my harried husband to a quiet spot in the hotel where he could conduct business until our room was ready. James, the concierge, scored a table at Hamersley's Bistro for me (highly recommend—James and the Bistro). He has a great sense of humor and made me laugh. The bartender and servers in the bar were terrific. I did not catch the bartender's name (from Morocco)—but he knew his baseball. It was amazing. The bell crew were always in the lobby ready to help.

We come to Boston about once a month...hope we can stay at the Taj more often. It is a great location, lovely property and made really special by the attention of the staff.

Room Tip: We had a park view room on the 10th floor—loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathleenmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear cathleenmarie,

We are thrilled to read that you had an exceptional stay with us at Taj Boston. It is a true pleasure to read the kind words of our recent guests. We thank you for spending the time to share your experience and highlight many of our exceptional staff members. We are very lucky to have a team that is committed to the practice of perfect hospitality.

We hope that we can host you again during your next trip to Boston, and that we can become your home away from home. Please feel free to contact us at Taj.Boston@tajhotels.com should you need assistance with a reservation.

Warm Regards,
Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed at the Taj in late July 2014 and found that the atmosphere and welcome from the staff were its main selling point. The room itself was a little tired, a bit of rust on the door hinges, window frame slightly broken but none of these aspects were major issues. The biggest annoyance was the lack of free wifi, which I think is a reasonable request at a top hotel. Not only this but it is $10.45 per day per device, which really is a rip-off. However we told the desk staff our problem and they took it off our bill, which was excellent. Overall an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear James A,

Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel. Please know that we are continuously making improvements to our rooms so that we can provide a more exceptional experience than the last. One of the improvements that we are in the process of making is in regard to our WiFi. We apologize that you found it to be of an inconvenience, but we are looking at how we can revise our policy so that we can provide a better experience for our guests.

We hope that we have the opportunity to host you again in the near future on your next trip to Boston with your family.

Warm Regards,
Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Taj, Boston ... Service that exceeds expectations

My sister and I stayed at The Taj, Boston and were in town to visit our elderly mom who had surgery on short notice. More on where this fits in later. I had stayed at The Taj multiple times before and found that it was very good hotel with a great location and with room prices that were an excellent value.

On this trip, things once again went smoothly. The doorman who greeted me was quite pleasant and efficient. I tipped him when he took the bags out of the car and gave me a parking claim form. He ended up carrying my bags all the way to the front desk ... which is a bit of a distance. (Usually the bellman does that but one must not have been available.) So I added another couple of dollars to the tip and he seemed most appreciative. When checking out, he had my vehicle right in front and made clear that he appreciated that I had stayed at The Taj. He was a very good guy, in what must be a tough job ... keeping everyone happy can't be easy.

The breakfast in the hotel dining room was very good and the service excellent. My sister did not have to ask to have her coffee refilled and the breakfast (eggs, toast, potatoes, bacon etc.) came very quickly ... it seemed like 5 minutes, but must have been a bit longer.

The rooms were clean, the pillows and comforter soft, and the bed very comfortable. The housekeeping staff were pleasant and efficient.

What stood out, however, and this is really what distinguishes many hotels from each another, was the service at the front desk. When my sister checked in she had a reservation for one night but needed to stay one more. The hotel was fully booked for the second night and she was put on a waiting list. At check-out time, there were still no rooms available for a second night so my sister was scrambling to find a nearby hotel that would put her close by (preferably within walking distance) of where our mom was residing. My sister had checked many hotels online but they were fully booked.

The two individuals at the front desk who went above and beyond the call of duty were Andrew Reddish (the assistant manager of the front office) and Fran. Andrew and Fran spent a lengthy amount of time with my sister reviewing possible hotels in the area. They pointed our where various hotels were located and how far they were from where my sister needed to go to visit my mom. Fran proceed to call 5 or 6 hotels on my sister's behalf until a vacancy was found. Now recall, Andrew and Fran are not concierges, so this was not exactly in their job descriptions. Throughout the process, Andrew and Fran were helpful as we brainstormed together. At no time did they seemed rushed or impatient. If ever one needed to be reminded that people make the difference at a hotel, this situation made it clear.

I was particularly surprised that Andrew remembered who I was at check out. He remembered me from the day before and I should note that my sister and I have different last names.

So, I don't think you could ask more from a hotel staff. They were all pleasant, efficient, and genuinely nice people. Fran was not going to give up until she got the job done.

The Taj is a very good hotel, with great value, and a staff that can't be beat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBWCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#29 of 83 in Boston
1,635 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,285 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#20 of 83 in Boston
2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Property: Taj Boston
Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116-3417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#26 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#44 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, DerbySoftTaj, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing