We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU NEED TO UNDERSTAND THE HOTEL AND THE ROOMS”
Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Boston
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The Taj Boston is run by very nice people who try hard for you to like them and they have certain challenges which we are learning to overcome.

For one thing, the hotel occupies two buildings though you would never know it. The "old building" was built in the 20's and bathrooms are small and rooms sometimes face a wall. The "new building" goes up to the 7th floor (it's a condo above that) but the halls connect so it's seamless. Rooms face the park or Commonwealth Avenue and are a little larger and bathrooms are larger and more modern.

Room service is excellent and prompt.

And yes, it's expensive but not when you compare it with the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank doug100worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear doug100worth,

Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel. We thank you for your kind feedback and for educating our readers on the history of our hotel. We are made of two historic buildings, and we have worked hard to provide a seamless experience no matter which one you are in. We try our best to provide the best service possible and it is very rewarding to hear that you appreciated it.

We hope that we have the opportunity to host you again in the near future on your next trip to Boston with your family.

Warm Regards,
Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,728 - 1,734 of 2,874 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at the Taj (then the Ritz) for our wedding night, and came back this weekend for our 10th anniversary. The staff provided a thoughtful welcoming note, chocolates, and rose petals on the bed at turndown, all gratis (it may have helped that I called the hotel directly for the reservation rather than through a 3rd party).

We had sticker shock at the Sunday brunch ($70/pp), but it was among the top 2-3 I've experienced.

In comparison, we stayed at the 'new' Ritz on Avery St back in March, and I'd give the Taj much better marks on elegance, staff quality, and attention to detail.

Room Tip: Stayed in a premier room, which had plenty of space and nice view of the Public Garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is very well situated and the breakfast is good but otherwise, it just doesn't deserve it's 4 stars, or the its price.

Reservations were very unprofessional and it was difficult to get a correct rate on the phone. We had to phone twice once we realized the hotel web site was posting inferior prices to those announced by reservation (they changed our rate but barely apologized).

The rooms are small and old fashioned (carpets are getting old etc), same for the bathrooms.
Concierge was very average.
Basically, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank k v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear k v,

Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel. Please know that we take all of our reviews seriously, and will follow up accordingly after having read this review. We thank you for highlighting our location and breakfast, but we apologize for the inconvenience you had upon booking your reservation with us.

In regards to your concerns with the room, please know that we are continuously making improvements to our rooms so that we can provide a more exceptional experience than the last.

We hope that we have the opportunity to host you again so that we can leave you with a more positive impression. In addition, please contact me directly at Corinna.Luebbe@tajhotels.com should you have further concerns.

Warm Regards,
Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is a awesome hotel in a great location. Everything was perfect. Only complaint I have is the carpets were stained, and ceiling in the shower was peeling away, I didn't expect this from a luxury hotel. The front desk guy was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RAMA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel we thought was just perfect. Just by the park and good walking distance to everything (being European we do accept to walk a bit though).

We had a nice room and it was nice and silent.

The service was excellent, and they booked tickets, gave good advices and even made a picnic basket for us to bring along to the 4th of July celebration on short notice.

So definitely a hotel I will stay at next time in Boston as well

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Khoeg,

We are thrilled to read that you had an excellent stay with us. We thank you for highlighting our prime location in Boston just across from Public Gardens on Arlington and Newbury Streets. It sounds as though you had the perfect activity planned for 4th of July. Its a delight to read that we were able to put together a great picnic amenity for you.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Boston. It would be a pleasure to host you again.

Warm Regards,
Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

You would think that a Hotel with the class (and price) of the Taj would have a good bed...not the case with our stay....the mattress was old and caved in and apparently a top sheet is something one has to ask for.... REALLY!!! There are a lot of nice hotels in Boston, I suggest finding one other than the Taj

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonTaj, Manager at Taj Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear John M,

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay at the Taj Boston. First and foremost, we would like to apologize for any discomfort caused to you as a result of our bed. While it is our standard to make the beds with a duvet cover that gets changed daily we would be happy to update your preference for future visits to make your bed with an additional top sheet. We also offer beds of differing firmness to suit individual needs and I apologize that you were not informed of this during your stay.

We truly regret that we were unable to assist you in being comfortable and if you wish to contact us to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to email me at taj.boston@tajhotels.com.

Warm Regards,

Corinna Luebbe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

It would be very hard to beat this downtown Boston hotel across the street from the Public Gardens. They offer valet parking and even umbrellas when it rains!We are still not sure how they knew it was our anniversary but not only did we find a selection of chocolate covered strawberries upon arrival but that nights turn down included a heart shape on our bed made of rose petals! A truly classy touch. The staff was exceedingly helpful and friendly. I highly recommend a stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,428 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#12 of 84 in Boston
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116-3417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#27 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#36 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £141 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Southall Travel, DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing