We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service - but extra charges on bill”
Review of Taj Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Boston
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We went to the TAJ during the weekend of the Boston Marathon in April and were traveling with a 2 month old. At first, our TV was not working properly, and they sent someone immediately to fix it. We also asked for a crib and refrigerator and these were delivered very quickly. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious. The service was good - they catered to our needs.

We ate breakfast at the restaurant there and the service was decent.

Right across the street was the Boston gardens - great location! Walking distance from all of the shops in Copley Square.

When we left we noticed several extra charges on our bill which was a bit disconcerting. We cleared it but it took a while and made us feel that they were trying to scam us.


I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tosha25italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,819)
There are newer reviews for Taj Boston
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,413 - 2,419 of 2,819 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2009

Our 3-day stay at The Taj Boston was at the end of a wonderful Holland America cruise from Montreal to Boston. The Taj's location could not be better, just across from the Public Garden, with the Boston Common just beyond.

Our room, 707, was ideally located facing the Public Garden, with views of the trees, just starting to change color, and a peek of the gold dome of the State House. It was a spacious well-appointed room. The windows actually opened -- fresh air! The hotel staff was unfailingly courteous and helpful.

From the Taj you can walk to most of the historic sites. We used the Boston Trolley HO-HO for an overview of Boston, and to get some of the more distant places we wanted to see.

Our favorite dining venue was "Finale", about 2 blocks away, where they specialize in incredible desserts, preceded by light entrees called "Preludes". Casual ambiance and perfect dining choices for our tastes.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

AfterI purchased this hotel on Priceline, I read the reviews and was a little sceptical about what I would find. I wanted to be near Newbury street shopping and close to Boston Commons so this was the perfect location. From the moment we aririved and the doorman and valet were both wearing white gloves and swanky uniforms, I knew this was a good choice. We arrived at 1:00 PM and did not have to wait for a room. Also, we were upgraded toa larger room with a bathroom with double vanities. This room was in the newer section of the hotel and our fabulous bellman explained that rooms on that side are larger....especially the bathrooms. We did not have a view, but we were not in Boston to sit in the hotel room and look out the window, we were there to be ouside and experiencing it. The beds were super comfy, the chocolates and turndown service were great, and the bar had awesome Cosmos. I plan on staying at the Taj on my next trip to Boston.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acushla52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Perfect location.
Very helpful/friendly staff.
Beautiful room. Got it by priceline (210?)
would not hesitate to recommend this fine hotel

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobiz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Taj Boston is a good location for shopping in a very well kept and desirable neighborhood. We stayed in room 1206 which was spacious with 1 kingsize bed that was only average we did enjoy a great view of "Boston Commons" across the street which we found out must be "dog day" on Sundays- hundreds of people bringing there dogs to the park. Taj has a beautiful lobby, nice workout room on the 4th floor, no pool on the premises, our room did not have a coffee maker in it, heard the door noises from the hall, only parking offered was $42 valet, housekeeping was most gracious and offered free bottled water, bed turndown, and chocolates,the hotel provided complimentary newspaper -New York Times. Overall stay was pleasurable rooms were a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bnthere4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We checked in for a one night stay to see a concert in Boston. There were 4 of us and we had requested two beds rather than one king. They couldn't accomodate this request and said the only way we could get 2 beds was to pay an extra $50, which we did because we really had no choice. Check in process seemed to take a lot longer than I've experienced at other hotels, probably about 15 minutes at the counter, I'm not really sure why (there was no line).
Room was very nice and large. Bathroom was large with double sinks, and the toilet and shower were sectioned off with a door that closed, which was nice since there was 4 of us getting ready. View was okay, nothing spectacular. We were on the 5th floor. Bed comfort was okay, nothing great, I think the beds at the Marriott are MUCH more comfortable. Room got very stuffy at night, we put on the AC in the middle of the night to sleep better, although the AC was slightly louder than I would have expected.
We ordered room service at night and I'm pretty sure they didn't knock, as we waited forever, finally called down, and they told us they attempted to deliver with no answer. The food was on a cart outside the room, cold as ice. It was unfortunate, especially for the outrageous room service price, and I was suprised they did nothing to at least partially compensate us. Not even an apology.
When trying to get a cab, the doorman pretty much ignored us, which surprised us. A couple came out of the hotel for a cab about 10 minutes after we had started trying for one, and the doorman got them right in a cab. Not sure if it's because they were dressed for dinner while we had on jeans, but regardless, don't judge a book by it's cover, we were going to a concert, of course we weren't dressed up. We still paid to stay at the Taj.
Check out went faster, and our car was brought by the valet in about 15 minutes (we called ahead and it was waiting for us outside). Valet price is $42, which seems average for what you'd pay for valet anywhere else in the city
Overall, we had a decent time. Hotel is very nice, and with better service I would have rated it better overall. They can't say they're a 5 star without a MAJOR improvement on service, from the front desk to the doorman to room service. We'd go back if we got a great deal, otherwise we'd probably stay at either the Westin Copley or the Intercontinential again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelbs97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We stayed at the Taj Boston for one night on a tour of New England. I had stayed here many years ago when it was the Ritz Carlton, and I am pleased to say the experience still measures up to that time...even though it is now a Taj hotel.

The good things about the hotel include:

1. The location. It is right on Boston Common. It is a quick trip to get just about anywhere, from Copley, to Fenway, to the airport. All only minutes away.

2. Very well appointed. The common areas and the rooms are, as you'd expect, very well styled and appointed. You won't be wanting for anything. For instance, you get plush robes, slippers and free bottled water in your room. There is also a very fast wi-fi connection and a ton of cable channels for those looking for electronic entertainment.

3. Great service. Lots of "my pleasures" and "how can I help you"s at this hotel. We didn't have to lift a finger to do just about anything. Our bags were unloaded from our car and delivered to our room while we were checking in. Room service was available 24/7, which was handy given we arrived from the West Coast at midnight.

But not all was perfect:

1. The rooms are very tiny. This hotel was built over 100 years ago, when people were apparently a lot smaller. The room was maybe 15' x 15', and felt like a small guest bedroom...made worse by the fact that a lot of furniture was crammed in that small space. And, the bathrooms are so small that you have to close the door before you can get to the toilet. So, don't think you're getting a spacious retreat.

2. The rooms are also quite dark. Our room only had one small window, which they made appear larger by draping it with window treatments three times the width of the window. Decorator trick, apparently. In any case, not much light came into the room, which made the room seem even smaller.

3. Parking is a bit cumbersome. They have a valet service, but they must park the car quite some distance away as they ask you to call for it 30 minutes before you need it. And, believe me, it takes at least 30 minutes for the car to come.

4. Restaurant on site was over-priced and had a disappointing (and overly eclectic) menu.

5. Rates were, of course, higher than was merited by the property.

All in all, though, a decent experience.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMBINCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,353 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,315 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#30 of 84 in Boston
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Boston

Address: 15 Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116-3417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Boston
#25 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#36 Business Hotel in Boston
#44 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £194 - £515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Boston, the Crown Jewel of Boston Hotels, occupies the city's most prestigious address at Arlington and Newbury Streets. Renowned for its classic style and award-winning service, this 1927 landmark hotel overlooks the picturesque Public Garden with swan boat rides and the Boston Common's ice-skating at Frog Pond. Surrounded by art galleries, boutiques and restaurants, the hotel is ideally located near the Theatre District, historic sites, shopping at Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, DerbySoftTaj, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Boston Hotel Boston
Taj Hotel Boston
Boston Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing