We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close, but no cigar” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Copley Place, Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Ranked #31 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Close, but no cigar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

I recently stayed at the Westin Copley in Boston, MA while visiting family for Thanksgiving. I stayed in a Junior Suite (Room 1001). Things got off to a negative start at check-in as when I made my reservation, I was told I would have a room on a high floor. The 10th floor is not a high floor, in my opinion. Upon entering the room, I was definitely impressed with the size of the room and the view, despite not being higher up. Let me start with the good before I finish with the bad. The view was spectacular, the room was neat, and it may have had the most comfortable bed that I have ever slept on. Also, the staff was very friendly. Unfortunately, I have more bad comments. The desk in the room was so wobbly that it was un-useable. The bathroom is tiny, outdated, and I find it hard to believe that a hotel charging this much a night still has a shower/tub combo with a shower curtain. It did have a nice shower head but it was useless since the water pressure was so weak. The door in the bathroom is worn, weathered , and generally not in great shape. I had an issue with the TV reception the entire stay. I arrived on a Wednesday and noticed it but did not notify the front desk. Thursday morning it was so bad that I couldn't even watch it so I called the service number. A gentleman came up , did a few things behind the tv and said he had to reset the satellite. The reception never got any better. The noise wasn't a problem here but it is a tad annoying that the doors slam when closing, so you hear that in the hall. I expect that at an economy hotel when I travel on business but did not expect that here. One other troubling note was that there is no security with regards to the elevators to the guest rooms. Anyone can walk in and go to any floor without a room key. One final issue was the morning of check out , it took forever to get a guest services rep on the phone to answer a question that I had. I don't think all of these negatives are a big deal , individually, but add them all up over a 3 day/2 night stay and it impacts your overall experience. Add in the hefty rates, and I would say that the experience was average at best. I am not likely to recommend this hotel to anyone unless they had a super-cheap deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPGJeff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston. We cannot agree with you more on the location and view. Central to everything you need to do in Boston.

I am sorry to hear that the desk in the room was not up to par...more disturbing considering the were all brand new as of April...We do not allow access to the guest floors without a key after 11pm...the bathroom while a bit on the small side is appointed with typical Westin Heavenly shower appointments, and the shower curtain is a Brand Standard.

Once again thank you very much, and please accept my apologies for the misses you encountered. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again the next time you visit Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,820
    1,214
    410
    137
    59
See reviews for
919
771
155
1,240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (886)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

Hotel has nice rooms that have great views of the city. You'll find on location restaurants, shopping, bars, business center, large lobby, fitness center and good service. The location is 1-block from a subway station allowing you to get around the city easily and affordable. The neighborhood has many good restaurants, attractions and shopping. I would choose this hotel again for my next visit to Boston.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pbdiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston. We cannot agree with you more on the location and view. Central to everything you need to do in Boston.

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again the next time you visit Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

I was there for a sales meeting. The location is excellent. We were able to use the shopping tunnels to have lunch. My room had a great view of the river.. My room was clean.
The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston. We cannot agree with you more on the location and view. Central to everything you need to do in Boston.

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again the next time you visit Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
337 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Like all Westin Hotel, this is an excellent choice. More importantly, it is within walking distance of the Boston Common, the Freedom Trail and two shopping malls. Many good restaurant nearby. The view from the hotel rooms is spectacular. Would have rated all categories five except for the idiot next door who kept slamming his door all night long. We heard his every coming and going.... Still I wouldn't let that keep me from going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The2TravelingFools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston. We cannot agree with you more on the location and view. Central to everything you need to do in Boston.

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again the next time you visit Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmira, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Typical big name hotel in downtown Boston, MA. Didn't really find anything to "write home about" but it was OK. Room clean, convenient, connected to the downtown shopping "tunnels" and sights. Was there for a conference and the facilities reminded me of most of the other conferences I've attended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrFirebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston. I wihsh we had done more to "Wow" you. That is really what we strive to do with every encounter and obviously we missed on this opportunity.

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again the next time you visit Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany, Connecticut
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

A big, business friend facility with good access to many local attractions around Copley Square. Staff was friendly and efficient.
Rooms are spacious and modern. Mine had a great view.
Shopping galleria is integrated off of the lobby area and connects though internal passages all the way to the convention center.
Breakfast buffet could have been a bit wider in selection.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidPF80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston. We cannot agree with you more on the location and view. Central to everything you need to do in Boston.

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again the next time you visit Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

Stayed here for a conference. The room is nice enough but elevators get crowded and slow. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Easy access to Copley Place, the Prudential Building, and downtown Boston. Make sure to have a drink in the lobby bar at The Fairmont accross the street. Rooms are a good size and free internet everywhere is a plus! Choices for food in the restuarant are sparse, but it is so close to so many restaurants it is irrelevant. The Hancock observatory closed down 9/11 this year - but the Prudential Observatory is fine. Go first to get a lay of the land.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston. We cannot agree with you more on the location and view. Central to everything you need to do in Boston.

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again the next time you visit Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,232 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#46 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Copley Place, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Copley Place, Boston

Property: The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Address: 10 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116-5707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Boston
#22 Business Hotel in Boston
#23 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#28 Family Hotel in Boston
#28 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#28 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Copley Place, Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 803
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Copley Place, Boston is located in Boston's sophisticated Back Bay neighborhood, alongside the best shopping, dining and entertainment that the city has to offer. Famous attractions such as Fenway Park, the Boston Public Library, the Boston Common, and Quincy Market are within close proximity of the hotel and can be easily visited by way of public transportation. Conveniently, the hotel is located just 15 minutes from Boston's Logan International Airport and is easily accessible from I-90, I-93 and Boston's historic Storrow Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Copley Place, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Copley Place Hotel Boston
Westin Boston
Westin Copley Place
Boston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing