We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continued excellent service, but lobby under renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Ranked #29 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I've been staying at the Westin for the past five years and continue to receive great service. Location is great --- right at Copley Square, so easy access to Boylston and Newbury streets, Green Line, etc. More importantly, the hotel is connected to the Prudential Mall, allowing indoor access to shopping and a number of fine restaurants. Beds are comfortable, pool and workout facilities are in good condition. Breakfast buffet very high quality.

Note, however, that the lobby is under renovation and completely closed. The registration desk is now in the restaurant/bar. The hotel has done a good job managing this, but nevertheless there is no lobby.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston. We cannot agree with you more on the location. Central to everything you need to do in Boston.

Thank you also for your comments on the staff and the service...we are very proud of all of our staff and your comments are very rewarding...I will be sure to share this with the staff. We are 10 days away from completing the lobby renovation and as you point out I think have done a good job of managing any potential disruption...we did convert Bar 10 into the Front Desk and our lobby...similar to a W "Living Room" which turned out kinda fun!

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again the next time you visit Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,035)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,625 - 2,631 of 4,035 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

I was in Boston for just one night for a conference in the Hynes Convention Center. As it was in the single digits outside, I was thrilled to discover that I could get to the convention center from the Westin Copley Place without having to go outside! I got a great rate through the conference, and was really impressed with the hotel. The front desk and concierge staff were friendly and helpful. My room was huge, and I had a great view of the city skyline and the river. I though the furnishings were really high end, and the muted color scheme was perfect for relaxing after a long day at the conference. The bathroom, especially, was very spa-like, with great products. One thing I noticed, but wasn't able to take advantage of since my stay was so short, was that for just $5, they'll outfit you with New Balance workout clothes and shoes (very nice if you're on a short trip and don't have space for workout clothes in your suitcase). Possibly this is something standard now, but I hadn't seen it before. If I had been staying longer, I definitely would have made use of the service. One small inconvenience was that the internet was very slow. If it had been free, I wouldn't complain, but at $12.95/day, I expect to be able to get some work done without being bumped off every few minutes. Overall, I had a great stay with the Westin, and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston. We cannot agree with you more on the location. Central to everything you need to do in Boston.

Thank you also for your comments on the staff and the service...we are very proud of all of our staff and your comments are very rewarding...I will be sure to share this with the staff.

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again the next time you visit Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I spent a night here for business. The room was comfortable and well appointed with the room pretty new compared to other westin hotels that I have visited. There's not much to complain about this place at all. There's nothing surprising about this place either. Westin is a Westin globally and that's why people go for it..because they know what to expect. The only issue I had was that the staff was extremely slow in responding to your requests -- my key wasn't working upon check-in..it took the staff 15 mins to bring the new key to my floor and open the door for me.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jumeirah_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlyssaFl, Manager, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Dear Jumeirah_queen,
We appreciate your comments about your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We apologize for the delay in getting a new key delivered to you after checked-in. I can safely say that this is not indicative of the level of service we have prided ourselves on nor that with which you have come to expect from a Westin. We will look into this with our Front Desk team.
We hope to see you again at The Westin Copley Place very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

For the last three years my wife and I have stayed here for 3 nights prior to heading to a family member's home in Boston for Christmas.

This trip we were upgraded to a high floor great view room. Very comfortable and quiet.
We actually returned for an additional night prior to our leaving Boston, and we were upgraded to a corner room, with magnificent views, a sofa and great layout.

With the shopping mall attached to the hotel, we were able to sample some great chowdah at Legal Seafoods, and do a little shopping at Vineyard Vines. Great location and comfort. We look forward to Christmas 2013.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlyssaFl, Manager, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Dear Jim90068,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at The Westin Copley Place and for making us part of your holiday traditions. We are thrilled that you had a nice stay with us and were able to enjoy some shopping and dining in the mall connected to the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again next Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Typically this hotel has been out of my budget range at $350 to $400 a night but January is a slow time so the rates were more reasonable. We were upgraded to one of their corner rooms which was very large and well appointed with plenty of room to entertain a few friends with drinks before going out. The Westin Copley is less than a five minute walk to Newberry street where you'll find great shops from high end designers to H&M. It's also attached to a mall so if shopping is your thing this is a great choice. We could see the finish line (it's permanently marked in the road) for the Boston marathon from our room. The train station is also just steps away as are a myriad of restaurants no matter your tastes. As with many Westins the beds really are heavenly and this one also features their heavenly showers- always a nice extra. The staff were helpful and very friendly and the hotel generally gives you a feeling that the management team knows what they are doing.

Room Tip: Rooms high up will have a great view and if possible get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jwigg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlyssaFl, Manager, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

Dear Jwigg2,
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Boston and were pleased with your room upgrade and the location of our hotel as well as our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Copley Place soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed at the Westin Copley Place 2 nights at New Years's Eve. The objective was to be well located for the First Night event on Copley Square. We also wanted to park the car and walk to visit the city and go at the show we had made reservation for. The location was 100% perfect. We were extremely pleased with the cleanliness of the hotel and the staff. The only down side thing is the internet access that we have to pay for.....it is strange that the more chic is an hotel, the more we have to pay for services. When sleeping at Best Western for 1/3 of the cost you are entitle to free internet access and a breakfast on top of that!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spyder1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlyssaFl, Manager, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Spyder1867,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review about our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found it easily accessible to walk around the city during the First Night festivities. Thank you also for your comments regarding Internet fees. We do an extensive review of other hotels in the Back Bay area regarding their Internet charges and we do have comparable fees with these hotels.

We very much appreciate your stay with us and hope to see you again soon at The Westin Copley Place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

After some problems with the phones and communication systems in the room, the staff was exceptionally helpful in solving the problem with a terrific up-grade and amenities. Stephen Sarah and Brendan certainly went out of their way to redress the problems and ensure that we were more than pleased with the hotel and the services provided.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JnK123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJorgensen, General Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Happy New Year and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at The Westin Copley Place. I am delighted that you had the chance to stay with us here in Boston.

Thank you also for your comments on the staff and the service...I am happy to see that while we may have had some issues that presented themselves in the beginning, we were able to address them and subsequnetly follow up to make sure that we mitigated them to your satisfaction. We fully realize that when dealing witht he human element you are bound to make mistakes, but it is how you deal with those mistakes that will take you to the eventual outcome of a zero defect product.

Once again thank you very much. Your selection of The Westin Copley Place is very much appreciated. I realize you had many choices for hotels within the city, and I am grateful for your business.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again the next time you visit Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 84 in Boston
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,428 reviews
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#53 of 84 in Boston
2,472 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Copley Place, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Copley Place, Boston

Address: 10 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116-5707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Boston
#21 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#22 Business Hotel in Boston
#25 Family Hotel in Boston
#28 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#29 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £98 - £440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Copley Place, Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 803
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Copley Place, Boston is located in Boston's sophisticated Back Bay neighborhood, alongside the best shopping, dining and entertainment that the city has to offer. Famous attractions such as Fenway Park, the Boston Public Library, the Boston Common, and Quincy Market are within close proximity of the hotel and can be easily visited by way of public transportation. Conveniently, the hotel is located just 15 minutes from Boston's Logan International Airport and is easily accessible from I-90, I-93 and Boston's historic Storrow Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Copley Place, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Copley Place Hotel Boston
Westin Boston
Westin Copley Place
Boston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing