We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Westin Copley Place good but pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Copley Place, Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Ranked #31 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Westin Copley Place good but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

A modern, clean hotel, with distinctive structure, many amenities, nice views, and fast & frequent elevators. A food court and Copley Place stores are linked internally. An exercise pack is only $5. Room WiFi connections were fine. Even conference rates are high, but this hotel certainly pleases.

Green Features: Good idea to have vouchers to encourage conservation.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efmCalgary_Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnWedig, Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and wonderful feedback. We are very proud of our location and views as well! Glad you also had a satisfactory experience with the in-room wifi and New Balance Gear-Lending program. Thank you again and we hope we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,820
    1,215
    410
    137
    59
See reviews for
919
771
155
1,241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (886)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Westin Copley Place for 5 nights at the end of May. I was there for a conference and we upgraded to a Jr. Suite. We were very pleased with our stay in general. The room was very spacious, more than we needed really, but it was worth it to get the view. Looking out one corner we had the Charles River, the other side we had ocean.

The bed is huge and comfortable, except the pillows. I detest ultra-soft pillows, which means I don't like most hotel pillows. As with other places, I had to use 2 to be comfortable, but that was just slightly too much. I just wish hotels would offer more firm pillows. Other than that, nothing but good things to say about the room. Good, standard bathroom, lots of room.

The hotel itself is a typical, big, conference hotel. Elevators were fast except during break times for the conference. The store in the lobby was great, especially the very friendly cashier. A nice small deli-type restaurant to pick up quick things in the morning, like juice, muffins, sandwiches. Though, like everything in the hotel, it was expensive. Big lobby seating area to relax.

We tried room service the first night we were there after 12 hours of commuting and getting in at 9 pm. It was very disappointing and very expensive, but we did do it on our final night and it was slightly better (still too expensive, though), so I wouldn't recommend it unless you were tight for time or just dead tired. However, you have to try the Brazilian steak house. Awesome. You won't regret it (though you may regret the drink they bring around to buy that has fermented pineapple in it that looks like it might be sweet. It isn't. It burns....it burnnnnnnsss).

We didn't have much interaction with any staff, unfortunately. Our check in was perfunctory and orderly, not overly friendly or accomodating, which set off warning bells right away. But the room service people were great and so was our check out. Our check out rep (sorry, forgot his name) went above and beyond to help me with a billing issue that he rectified right away. I wasn't blown away by the concierges, though. My wife did talk to one who provided a lot of good information for us on our walking trips, but the two that I dealt with seemed a bit put off by our questions, didn't smile, just gave us the info we wanted and then turned their back on us to do....something else. We only had housekeeping once as we joined the Green Program to be eco-responsible.

The biggest plus for the hotel, though, is the location. Walking distance to everything, and I mean everything. We walked down town and to the harbour in one direction and then walked to Fenway Park to see a ball game in the other direction. Now, these aren't small, leaisurely walks. They take time, but they are nice walks. We also took trains, so that is an option, too, but we liked the walk (except for how darn cold it was while we were there). Just a perfect, central location for anything and everything in Boston.

Room Tip: If you can splurge, go for the Junior Suite (or better). Lots of room, higher floors, great views.
See more room tips
Green Features: Joined the Green Program and for every day you refused house-keeping, you got either $5 gift certificate in particpating restaurants (I assume the hotel ones) or 500 Starwood Points. Great program and we were glad to participate. We would have anyways, so nice to get a little something out of it.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonesy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnWedig, Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for sharing such detailed, thorough feedback about your recent stay. As hotel manager, I really appreciate when guests take the time to share comments, especially when they are positive. I will also pass along your feedback to our staff as well. And thank you for your comments about our "Make a Green Choice" program and thanks for joining! I agree that our views and location cannot be beat so I'm glad you got to experience both for several days while you visited. I hope you'll get the opportunity to visit again the next time you're in Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The rooms were a nice size, the beds were comfortable, the view nice, the lobby comfortable for hanging out and doing work. All-in-all a good stay. We were there for an event, so got a good rate. Rack rate is high, but no higher than similar hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnWedig, Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for joining us recently for an event and an overnight stay. Your comments are appreciated and we are glad to hear you had a great stay - we love our rooms as well. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel this past weekend. It was beautiful! I can't say enough about this place. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were spotless. The beds were so comfortable. The pillows and comforters were the best! We were on the 35th floor and the views were amazing.

We didn't eat the at the Hotel. However, other dining options were just a small walk away. (Including Dunkin Donuts :) )

I would highly recommend this Hotel. It was great.

The only thing I would remind travelers (I usually forget this since I don't live in the city or visit all that often) is that parking is NOT including with your room. We only stayed one night. (Arrived at 9 pm, left at 7 am). Parking in the hotel was an additional $51.00.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shari230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnWedig, Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and recommendation! I'm so pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay. We think our rooms and beds are some of the most comfortable in Boston so glad to hear you agree. Again - thank your for kind comments and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Downtown location. Rooms appear recently refurbished. Higher floors have good river view. Corner junior suites are quite special if you can get one. Hosts quite a few conferences / meetings, so worth asking about before you book if you're looking for a more peaceful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T1ggerTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnWedig, Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for joining us during your recent business travel and for sharing these kind words about your stay. We also love our location and our views. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at The westin Copley Place for 4 days this trip, plenty to do we shall return in a year or so to complete what we did not manage to do this time round. The Westin is a great hotel we were on the 33rd. Floor and the views were fantastic.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as possible for great views of this fantastic city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnWedig, Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you your kind words about our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and got to experience our incredible views. We do hope you make it back and look forward to seeing you and your wife in a year. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have stayed here on many occasions,too many to count. I adore the views of my city from the rooms. The rooms are a nice size but the beds are terrific love the comforters. The location is perfect for all interest. The hotel is in the center of it all with the theatre district close, the Boston Commons, the Charles River for exercise, too much retail therapy in the area love it! Lots of great restaurants with in walking distance. The convention center is within walking distance. In addition to walking it is easy to get out to the MFA, the hospitals,the BSO. Across the street is a hidden treasure the Boston Public Library is a must. They have a wonderful courtyard and artwork by famous people, truly a gem. I could go on but you need to check it out yourself!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnWedig, Manager at The Westin Copley Place, Boston, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
First of all, thank you for your loyalty and your recent review of our hotel. We love hearing guest feedback especially when it's so complimentary. We agree that our location is one of the best and so great to hear your discovered the BPL. We are lucky to be so close! Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,232 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#46 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Copley Place, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Copley Place, Boston

Property: The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Address: 10 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116-5707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Boston
#22 Business Hotel in Boston
#23 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#28 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#28 Green Hotel in Boston
#28 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Copley Place, Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 803
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Copley Place, Boston is located in Boston's sophisticated Back Bay neighborhood, alongside the best shopping, dining and entertainment that the city has to offer. Famous attractions such as Fenway Park, the Boston Public Library, the Boston Common, and Quincy Market are within close proximity of the hotel and can be easily visited by way of public transportation. Conveniently, the hotel is located just 15 minutes from Boston's Logan International Airport and is easily accessible from I-90, I-93 and Boston's historic Storrow Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Copley Place, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Copley Place Hotel Boston
Westin Boston
Westin Copley Place
Boston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing