We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Ranked #53 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

The hotel is located near the North End. The room was spacious and quiet. Lot's of restaurants near the hotel. When leaving for a morning bike ride, door man handed us a bottle of water! So easy to walk to Surface Street where you can catch all of the tour buses. Also within walking distance to the Aquarium.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ermat918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    665
    287
    95
    69
See reviews for
423
545
58
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our stay could have been alot better. At check in we had to ask the woman 3 times to repeat herself as she was a low talker. We were told that our room had been upgraded. We were thrilled. Not so fast. The room was quite small and the bed was definitely not a king even though that is what we requested. My husband and I are not tall and our feet were hanging off the end and it was much narrower than a king - some upgrade - it was more like a downgrade. Bed seemed old and very worn. When we got back to our room that night we called room service to have 2 beers deloivered to our room. The employee said no very rudely. It was @ 10:30 pm. He then transferred us to another employee who quickly brought up the beers. Before we went to bed we asked for an early wake up call as we had ferry reservations the following morning. Luckily we woke up on our own because the wake up call never happened. Then at check out we were given loads of attitude from the valet about retrieving our car. He said it would easily take him 25 - 30 minutes. 40 minutes later we still did not have our car. Finally my husband had to speak to a manager to advise about the rudeness of the valet and ask where on earth was our car. The manager was very nice. The only bright light at that hotel. Finally the car arrived after waiting almost an hour. At the same time we were waiting there was a loud argument going on at the front desk between a guest and a Hilton employee. The employee had offended the guest who was Spanish. Very uncalled for by the Hilton employee but not surprised. Most employees we encountered were eithere rude or didn't care. I used my Hilton points for the room and am wondering if we were treated so poorly7 because we were technically not a paying customer. On our next trip to Boston we will stay at a different hotel not in the Hilton group.

Room Tip: We were on the 14th floor which the hotel considered an upgrade. Was supposed to have been a king b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your honest feedback. We take great pride in being of service to Hilton HHonors members who redeem points to stay with us. We are extremely disheartened to hear that your stay was disappointing. We have reached out to you separately to discuss your stay directly with you. Our team did pick a corner room for you. On our top floors, the building parapets create some unique wall angles. We regret that the room felt small. Our king beds are all 72x80, which is a very standard size. We look forward to discussing all your feedback with you.
Best regards,
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

3 night stay. Stayed in a suite with good size. Beds comfortable. Sleep sofa a bit worn as was the room, but good for family. Small fridge was not really a fridge but more of a cooler. Very close to the Aquarium and other major sites which was a huge plus. Enough nearby food options that we walked to everything during our stay. Only needed to take the T to get Copley Square. Staff was friendly and helpful. Liked that was no on busy street so quiet for sleeping

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oshawott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for commenting on your stay. We're delighted that you found your room comfortable and restful, and that our location helped you make the most of your time in Boston. Thank you for the wonderful comments on our team. We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston.
Best regards,
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I think this hotel is beautiful but I did see numerous little bugs with wings and one long pinching type bug. We were on the 11th floor and I found it odd that the bugs could go up so many floors. The bellhops were amazing though and were very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for letting us know about your experience. Our guest room windows do open although this hasn't caused an issue with flying bugs in the past. We sincerely appreciate you letting us know so we can immediately address this with our on property teams and expert partners. We do hope you will consider us again on your next trip to Boston.
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Location is great, downtown, close to South Station. Rooms and all facilities are clean; staff is friendly and the service is prompt. I didn't experience any problems during check-in, my stay or check-out. Overall I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Christopher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write about your stay. We appreciate the wonderful comments on our team, rooms and hotel location. Yes, South Station is one of many sites within walking distance of the hotel. We will look forward to your next stay.
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Our stay in this hotel was wonderful! We had a king sized bed with a suite that included a pull out bed for our two kids ages 10 and 13. The reason I gave it a four star was only because the pull out was very small and uncomfortable. Other than that, everything was perfect. I believe that this hotel used to be The Intercontinental Hotel and Hilton must have bought it and redid it. Anyway, for an older hotel, it is very well taken care of , no old hotel smells like some old hotels that we've stayed in. The bed was comfy. Bathroom was really clean. No complaints! Faneuil Hall is a very short walk away. The North End is close as well as Boston Common and Boston Garden. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: 7th floor room. King w/suite #729 away from everything. No noises. At the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisaduka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for commenting on your stay. We are very proud to be in a landmark building in Boston - the first Art Deco skyscraper and once the city's tallest skyscraper. Our team takes great pride in maintaining the cleanliness and condition of the building. The city has grown around us and left us in a great spot -- we are glad you enjoyed it and found many attractions to which you could walk. We hope to see you back soon.
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Overall very good experience. Location was a top priority for us so that we would be close to shopping transportation and restaurants. We would have preferred a hotel with a larger lobby and normally would select one much newer, but considering everything the value we received was commensurate.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank JerryandRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We're delighted the hotel helped you make the most of your time in Boston.
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#30 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#49 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall

Property: Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Address: 89 Broad Street, Boston, MA 02110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Green Hotel in Boston
#37 Family Hotel in Boston
#38 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#48 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#52 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 as Boston, Massachusetts' first Art Deco skyscraper, the Hilton Boston Downtown/Faneuil Hall hotel is the ideal blend of historic charm and modern flair. The hotel is centrally located downtown just two blocks from the Harbor and near many attractions, dining and shopping options. The Hilton is a premier 4-Diamond full-service hotel with 403 deluxe guestrooms & suites. It features a full-service restaurant serving subtly sophisticated regional cuisine, and a comfortable bar and lounge. The Hilton also features a brand new, state-of-the-art fitness center and over 10,000 sq. Ft of meeting space. At the Hilton Boston Downtown/Faneuil Hall our team is committed to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Downtown / Financial District Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Hilton Boston Financial District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing