We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Ranked #49 of 83 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Monrovia, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Could have stayed longer”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was a great hotel in an ideal location.
Close to the subway, which we took everywhere. We were even able to take the subway from Logan Airport to the hotel. So very convenient. Actually, everything we wanted was either just a short subway ride or within walking distance.
Close to Faneuil Hall and Quincy Market. Saw the huge Christmas tree by Quincy Market. Thank you Boston for that wonderful treat.
Now to get back to the hotel. Comfortable, albeit small, room. 14th floor, view bordered by buildings in somewhat of a horseshoe shape, but I think that is what made the room so quiet. No traffic or street noise. The bed was so comfortable and we slept very well.
I do think this is more of a business traveler room, however. There was not much room on the counter for two people and their hygiene bags. One sink. Plus, one hook to hang up bath towels.
The maid put down towels on the closet floor, which was nice since it did rain a bit.
Doorman Getman was helpful and assisted us greatly, with a smile.
The hotel provided buffet breakfast was disappointing. After all, this is a Hilton. After looking it over we walked to Corner Bakery Cafe and had a much better breakfast at a much better price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    712
    302
    101
    74
See reviews for
466
588
63
499
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Hilton on Christmas Eve and we couldn't of picked a better hotel. Everyone was wonderful from the moment we arrived! The bellman was amazing - so funny and kind. Upgraded our room...just because! The hotel was very clean, employees were all professional in their behavior and dress. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Lisa,
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and team members! I am happy to hear you and your daughter enjoyed the holidays here at the Hilton Boston Downtown and were able to share your feedback. We can’t wait to have you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

What a great find. Just happen to be in Boston overnight, and I tell you, you cannot beat this Hilton for a great stay. Beautiful old hotel, well maintained, just steps from all the action. Andrew checked me in, made me feel at home, very accommodating and knowledgeable. Dropped my bags off in a nice room, very clean and maintained well. Love the vintage feel of the place, all the old wood. But the showstopper is the location. I checked in late and still went for a late night walk to the Faneuil Hall area and enjoyed the night lights, the lingering snow and the Christmas tree. Had a late snack at McCormick & Schmick's. The next morning headed out for breakfast at Faneuil Hall at Boston Chowda Co. Just great. Slept well, express checkout, couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Lovers_YB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Travel_Lovers_YB,
Thank you for your generous feedback about your recent stay! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay while celebrating the holidays over by Faneuil Hall. Thank you for taking the time to recognize one of our team members, Andrew. I am glad he was able to make you feel right at home while visiting us. We hope to have you back again soon!
Sincerely,
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel twice and plan to continue to stay here every time we return to Boston. We absolutely love the location of this hotel! It is hidden on one of the side streets in the financial district. You will not hear the loud sound of horns beeping from cabs but you are located close to Fanuiel Hall, the North End and the theater district. There
is a new restaurant and bar located on the first floor that has an attractive atmosphere for relaxing and to eat or drink before or after a night on the city. We stayed in a spacious suite with a King size comfortable bed. The bell service staff and valet parking were prompt and reliable. This hotel is the perfect place to stay for business or with a family.
We highly recommend this hotel and will be staying here our next trip to the city!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian_D_Martens, Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear mpteacher,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear your enjoyed your suite and Nix’s Mate in our lobby! Thank you for your feedback of our bell staff and valet parking, we are happy to hear they were able to assist you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to Boston!
Sincerely,
Brian Martens
Hotel Manager
bmartens@hiltonbostondowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My husband and I stayed for a one night getaway the staff at the front desk were so kind and gave us a king size suite. The hotel lobby is beautiful. We went out to dinner and took a long walk afterwards. When we got back to the hotel the bar was hopping and had a band that was really good. We stayed for a while and really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Stayed for three nights. Got a room on 15th (top) floor, probably because of gold status. Not much of a view give the design of the hotel only few rooms have nice view. Room felt a bit old but I think it's supposed to be like that. Bed was great. Loud humming sound in the room. Needed air plugs to sleep properly. All in all room was pretty good. Front desk staff was very friendly and did a very good job. The major disappointment was the breakfast. We got some free coupons for a continental breakfast. To get the full hot breakfast you have to pay 10 USD per person. If you don't have coupons the continental breakfast is something like 12 USD. All in all the whole breakfast is a joke. Brown water which is supposed to be coffee, oat meal, bread, bagels, some juices, cereal and some yoghurt. Hot breakfast consists of an omelette station, scrambled egg and some bacon. Everything has quite poor quality and I would never pay for it. The restaurant staff is clueless, just hangs around and talks with each other. The only time the I saw the waiter was when he was handing me the bill and made it very clear that tips is not included I told him that if there's no service there will be no tips. If the breakfast was better the whole hotel experience would have been much better. If you're not a big fan of bagels with cream cheese I would recommend to go elsewhere for breakfast. Lots of Starbucks and Irish pubs around the corner which serve excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a proper view on check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldsport79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Very nice hotel, comparable to other Hilton's we have stayed at in other big cities. Terrific location. An easy walk to the aquarium and Quincy Market. Service at the hotel was top notch, especially at the restaurant. The restaurant manager, Barry, went out of his way to make sure everything was great. But he was just one of many great people we encountered, including Chris at the door and all of the people throughout the hotel. We were with two children and I would highly recommend it for a short stay in Boston.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#25 of 83 in Boston
1,582 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,246 reviews
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#50 of 83 in Boston
1,458 reviews
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall

Property: Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Address: 89 Broad Street, Boston, MA 02110-3509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Green Hotel in Boston
#37 Family Hotel in Boston
#37 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#48 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#52 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 as Boston, Massachusetts' first Art Deco skyscraper, the Hilton Boston Downtown/Faneuil Hall hotel is the ideal blend of historic charm and modern flair. The hotel is centrally located downtown just two blocks from the Harbor and near many attractions, dining and shopping options. The Hilton is a premier 4-Diamond full-service hotel with 403 deluxe guestrooms & suites. It features Fin Point Oyster Bar & Grille serving subtly sophisticated regional cuisine, and a comfortable bar and lounge. The Hilton also features a brand new, state-of-the-art fitness center and over 10,000 sq. Ft of meeting space. At the Hilton Boston Downtown/Faneuil Hall our team is committed to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Downtown / Financial District Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Hilton Boston Financial District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing