We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Great Value But a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Ranked #48 of 86 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 August 2014

As the title indicates, if value is a priority, you may want to look elsewhere. However, if it's location you want, you should consider the Hilton. It's easy walking distance to anywhere in downtown Boston, including the North End. Additionally, the staff had a very friendly, helpful attitude which we appreciated. The room was small, though comfortable and the bathroom clean, comfortable - not cramped. All in all, a nice room for an overnight stay. But for the life of me, I can't understand how any property can charge what the Hilton does (ok, I know it's all about location) and make an issue out of the wi-fi service. Come on guys, just roll it into the room rate and forget about it!

Regarding food options, there are two delis one block north of the Hilton that offer breakfast. We went to the one called Joshua's. It wasn't fancy, but they only charged $4 for 2 eggs and toast! There are a lot of places to eat dinner near the hotel, including Mr. Dooley's, an Irish Pub (one of many Irish Pub's in downtown Boston) located across the street from the Hilton. My wife and I had an excellent grilled cod dinner with mixed vegetables and mashed potatoes for $15 each. It was a good value and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mcm5404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,355 - 1,361 of 2,098 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Went to Boston with Family members for a 4 day vacation. My sister in law planed the stay at the Hotel. She is a member of the Hilton hotel Rewards program and used her Point to book the rooms. From my understanding this Hotel was purchased recently and has not been up graded by Hilton. It showed! The Hotel offered a continental or full breakfast. They severed this in the restaurant that is part of the hotel that was also the bar at night. They set the bar up for the breakfast buffet in the morning. The lay out was not appropriate for serving food of the bar! The staff was very pleasant but some of the staff was not check for their appearance before the went on duty! A little thing but doesn't make a good appearance for what you would think was a Hilton standard. The Hotel was busy but that was most likely because there was the Comic Con convention. For the advertised of $239 plus tax they are better hotels in the area that you would be better off staying at. There are other hotels in the area that would be a better choice for the price!!!

Room Tip: Hotel is in the Financial District and close to the Faneuil Hall and water Front area and many Histo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cskiwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We choose the Downtown Boston from a list of hotels associated with a conference we were attending. The distance to the conference center was walkable (~20mins brisk walk) and close to the tourist sector as well, such as Faneuil Hall.
The quality of the hotel was as expected, as usual the response on the front desk varies across the personnel. However it seemed odd that there were so many staff on duty on the pavement (taxi drop offs and pickups) and also in the entrance hall/lobby (frequently 2 at a time). For us we had planned to pick up breakfast en route to the conference, however one morning it was raining heavily so we had the hotel breakfast - be aware it is 'expensive'. Check the price first.
There is a nice 'library' room across the lobby, opposite the restaurant/breakfast room which I often used to work online as there was free internet in the lobby but you had to pay per day to use the internet in your room . Tip: If you have problem take your laptop to the front desk and talk nicely to the staff - I go the free voucher for the week.......THANKS!
Yes - I'd use it again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SteveF77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Very, very nice place. Everyone in the hotel provided top-notch service. Walking distance to Long Wharf, Quincy Market, Freedom Trail. Many restaurant and cafe choices within walking distance. Valet parking and doormen were great with directions and service. Expensive, but it's Boston. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mama5324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I was really impressed by this hotel. My expectations were of an average Hilton by this hotel went about an beyond - at least as far as the room design and staff friendliness are concerned. Rooms were nice and quiet. The only inconvenient thing about this hotel is that it's too large of a walking distance from the public transportation (Subway "T") in Boston (which is probably Ok since I guess most guests don't use the public transportation and I was more of an exception). Giving it 4 stars for the abovementioned factor and its price - while competitive you may find some better value around if price is a factor for you. Outside of the price and location clearly a 5-star hotel

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBostonDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Denis L,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Boston Downtown and taking the time to review your stay. We are happy to hear we went above and beyond your expectations. We are sorry to hear you found the distance to the T line you needed less than ideal. While both the Blue Line Aquarium stop, which serves the airport, and the Orange line State Street stop are less than five minutes away, other stops can be ten to twenty minutes away depending on your travel plans. If you get a chance to visit us again, our Concierge can provide some helpful tips and directions, our team members do a wonderful job directing our guests who are not familiar with the city!

Best Regards,

Ed Mroz
General Manager
emroz@hiltonbostondowntown.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Beautiful location.... Room was excellent. Service was great. Easy walking distance to prime shopping area.

Very convenient to airport... Quick cab ride to the airport in the morning.

Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a large spacious room at this Hilton, which was clean, comfortable, and well appointed. The staff we encountered were all friendly and efficient. The only issue we had was the very loud music and noise that could be heard in our room from the club that is in one corner of the hotel building. We were on the fourth floor, and yet it was still very noticeable, especially when the club closed at 2:30 and everyone seemed to congregate on the street below us. Since the hotel seemed pretty empty I wish they'd put us on a higher floor or a different part of the building, but the stay was ok for the one night that we were there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ofamof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#25 of 86 in Boston
1,768 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#49 of 86 in Boston
8,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall

Address: 89 Broad Street, Boston, MA 02110-3509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Green Hotel in Boston
#35 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#48 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#52 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £115 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 as Boston, Massachusetts' first Art Deco skyscraper, the Hilton Boston Downtown/Faneuil Hall hotel is the ideal blend of historic charm and modern flair. The hotel is centrally located downtown just two blocks from the Harbor and near many attractions, dining and shopping options. The Hilton is a premier 4-Diamond full-service hotel with 403 deluxe guestrooms & suites. It features Fin Point Oyster Bar & Grille serving subtly sophisticated regional cuisine, and a comfortable bar and lounge. The Hilton also features a brand new, state-of-the-art fitness center and over 10,000 sq. Ft of meeting space. At the Hilton Boston Downtown/Faneuil Hall our team is committed to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Boston Downtown / Financial District Hotel Boston
Hilton Hotel Boston
Hilton Boston Financial District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing