We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel a little way outside the main downtown area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Seaport Boston Hotel
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersGold level
Telford
2 reviews
“Good Hotel a little way outside the main downtown area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2008

We have just returned from a week in Boston where we stayed at the Seaport Hotel. Transfer from the airport could not have been easier. A bus just outside the main exit passes the hotel and we were actually in our room about 20 minutes after boarding. There is a 'T' station just by the hotel too on the Silver Line which provides a link between the airport and Boston's South Station. We found we could actually walk to the Boston Aquarium/Quincy Market area in about 20 minutes and to Boston Common in a few minutes longer.
The hotel itself is about 10 years old and is well appointed. There is a pool/fitness centre and the room we had was very nice with a view of Boston Harbour and the airport on the other side. We didn't hear any noise.
The breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant was well worth having. Set us up for the day. The hotel is all-inclusive and there is no need to tip any member of staff. In fact, there are notices asking that you don't. One of the waiters in the restaurant actually pointed out that we shouldn't tip him as service was included in the bill. In a few years time, I expect this hotel to be better placed for local attractions as the adjacent World Trade Center attracts more visitors. If you don't mind a short walk to the Downtown area or a trip on the 'T' (costing just $2 if you'd rather ride) then I think you will find this hotel a good bargain. We would stay there again.

  • Liked — Good Price and marvellous for airport transfers both in and out.
  • Disliked — A little bit out on a limb.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Spont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,427
    842
    150
    54
    39
See reviews for
848
1,047
158
1,997
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2008

I stayed at the Hotel the weekend of July 4th for a wedding. Seaport Hotel has beat all my expectations and I have stayed in hotels/resorts in Florida, NY/NJ, NC and California. Seaport definitely beat them all.
The customer service was exceptional. The people that worked their greeted us warmly. They were available to us to help even when we didn't realize we needed help :) without being overbearing.
The food at the restaurant downstairs was fabulous, we had a family breakfast buffet one morning and and some friends and I had breakfast the next morning. The food tasted great, was fresh and the price was excellent.
The facilities was spotless. The view from our room was gorgeous.
For the day of the wedding the wedding coordinator was available to us and so helpful and kind. They provided steamers and help with them when we needed.
I was very impressed.
This is the first review I've ever written for a hotel and I highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Liked — cleanliness and customer service
  • Disliked — not at a beach :)
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msbrutus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, NE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

This hotel was an excellent addition to my business travel. I would not hesitate to reccomend the Seaport to anyone. The staff was courteous, consciencious, and professional. The room was very nice, and I loved the free WiFi available in the room, not just the lobby. Their business services for printing really helped through my stay!

  • Liked — Free WiFi
  • Disliked — No vending machines
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiddydodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, NV
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

It's a little pricey. Although, very comfortable and well run.

My daily rate was $299 (it really feels like a $199 - $225 hotel). And, I had to extend one night and they upped the rate to $399.

The one glitch was that there was a Bose clock radio in the room and it didn't work. The same thing happened for a business associate staying in another room.

All-in-all - I'd stay there again, but not at that rate.

  • Liked — Really comfortable room/bed, great staff, clean property.
  • Disliked — Room rates were a bit high.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FastPass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2008

We stayed at the Seaport Hotel for 10 days in early August. We had booked one room with two queen beds but on arrival we asked to upgrade to a suite. For not very much more money we got a great suite on the 17th floor with two rooms - much easier for us with two kids aged 9 and 11. They had the pull out sofa in the living room and we had the king size bed in the main bedroom. The view really appealed to our 9 year old son - he could watch the boats in the harbour while also watching the planes land at Logan. We had taken a water taxi from Logan Airport to the hotel - $10 one way trip per adult. Great way to arrive at the hotel - the kids loved it.

The hotel was excellent - most accommodating to any requests we had. The staff were extremely friendly - breakfast in the hotel was excellent - a good buffet but the coffee bar was also very handy if you didn't want a full breakfast every morning. Hotel pool was small but extremely clean as were the changing rooms. Computer with full internet access in the room was great.

We found the location excellent - close to the Children's Museum - which was good - although really for younger children (under 7's). Our kids enjoyed the Science Museum much more. It was an easy walk to the New England Aquarium/Fanueil Hall. The new Contemporary Art Museum - just across the road from the hotel is worth a visit - the food in the museum cafe also worth sampling.

Across the road from the hotel is No Name Restaurant - worth a visit - lobster and all kinds of other fresh fish at incredibly reasonable prices. The interior and furnishings are basic but service is super friendly and the food is super fresh if simply served. Legal Test Kitchen - a block away from the hotel - is also excellent - loud music and particularly busy on Friday/Saturday nights but kids enjoyed the atmosphere and food was very good.

However, for a real treat - Morton's - just across the road from the Seaport was superb. Incredible service, superb food - great cocktails - expensive but definitely worth it. Overall we found the Seaport a great base for our holiday - we purchased a 7 day travel pass for the T - and used the trains numerous times every day. The nearest T station is 2 minutes from the hotel. Couldn't believe how cheap public transport is - $30 for two people for 7 days - kids 11 and under free.

Also purchased the Boston City Pass - certainly worth purchasing - you get discounted entry into Harvard Museum of Natural History, Skywalk Observatory, Museum of Fine Arts, Museum of Science, New England Aquarium and JFK Museum - we visited them all and throughly enjoyed everyone of them. Also, make sure you take a Boston Duck Tour. We went whale watching also - which was the highlight of our trip to Boston - don't visit during April to October and not do it. We saw 22 whales and took the most incredible photos. Finally. when staying in the Seaport - they offer a complimentary harbour cruise at 10am on a Sunday morning - book early as places are limited but it is an enjoyable hour cruise of the harbour with great commentary.

  • Liked — Convenient, friendly and welcoming!
  • Disliked — Pool was small
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ramblingirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaportGM, Vice President, General Manager at Seaport Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2008
Hello from Boston ramblingirish! Thanks so much for sharing details of your Seaport stay and Boston travel tips with fellow readers. Sounds like you covered a lot of ground in the time you spent with us, and took some amazing photos along the way. We think we are in a great neighborhood too, and are glad travelers like you are exploring the best of what this great city has to offer. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Seaport someday soon. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2008

The overall visit and experience was terrible from the start. Valet parking wouldn't let us park had to find parking lot and then spoke to other people attending same event and half got to valet and half had to park themselves in a garage that is part of the hotel but you still are reguired to pay for even if your staying overnight at the hotel. Checking in was a nightmare. Waited 20 minutes to check in. Rooms air conditioner unit was not working. Staff was not helpful in giving us directions to function rooms and the food at the event (wedding) was Horrible.. I wrote letter to let the G.M. know about our stay and he wrote back that no one else has complained and he would investigate it. I don't care if no one else complained and I didn't ask for an investigation, I thought he would care to know about how is hotel looked to paying customers. No wonder the hotel was awful if that is how the G.M. is rude.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delmonico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2008

I was at first very excited about my stay at the Seaport Hotel, hoping it would be excellent. My first problem was stained sheets. I told my husband they looked as if they had been laundered, but the BROWN stain made me have doubts. The plug in the tub did not work properly, so no bubble bath. The AC in the room did not work well. Although the temperature read as if it were ok, it was very hot and I had trouble sleeping. This discussion came up from another person that I met while at a seminar there. They said the same thing about their room and suggested that I turn the fan on to run all night. This did help. The next night, I ordered a bottle of wine through room service. The cost was to be $28 plus taxes and delivery fee. I was charged $45. I called room service to go over the problem and got no resolution. I had to take the bottle downstairs along with the price list that was in the room. I did get partial credit but not a full credit. WHY? Is it really that hard to calculate? Charge what you post and don't false advertise. I called twice before arriving to double check that the room charge would be put on the corporate card and was told both times, yes, it would. Didn't happen, I had to use my personal card and get reimbursed from my company. The only thing that I enjoyed about my stay was the food. The food was excellent and maybe the best breakfast I ever had in my life. I will say that I did request that maintenance fix the plug in the tub. They did, and I was able to take a bath my second night there.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — customer service
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delmonico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,243 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaport Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaport Boston Hotel

Property: Seaport Boston Hotel
Address: 1 Seaport Lane, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#1 Business Hotel in Boston
#2 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#6 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaport Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's bustling Seaport District with dozens of Boston's most popular restaurants and attractions within walking distance, the Seaport Hotel Boston offers business and leisure travelers newly renovated guest rooms and a variety of upscale amenities including complimentary wireless Internet access, one of Boston's most luxurious fitness facilities, an indoor pool, complimentary bicycles and beautiful city and harbor views. Seaport Boston is proud to be one of the Boston's greenest hotels. The hotel is five minutes from Logan Airport by taxi, water taxi and the MBTA and offers weekday shuttle service into downtown Boston. Nearby attractions include the Boston Convention & Exhibition Center, the Institute for Contemporary Art, the Boston Children's Museum, Boston's pedestrian friendly Harborwalk and the Blue Hills Bank Pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seaport Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaport Hotel Boston
Boston Seaport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing