We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seaport Boston Hotel
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Choice!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We are middle-aged and had never visited Boston before. We were unsure what was the best location to stay at, but if you are specifically traveling for a prime reason (conference, Fenway, etc. or know what neighborhood you desire, choose based on your desire). However, if you are a tourist wanting to visit the major attractions and sightsee, any location will work. We love water and more peaceful surroundings, so we preferred the waterfront Seaport Boston. Our room overlooked the harbor, Logan airport, and even the downtown street, so we had a lot to look at. It was very quiet and you could not hear the planes. We stay at medium pricepoint hotels - and this was a great hotel for the value. It is modern, very clean and recently redone, and they have not skimped on accessorizing options.Your room rate includes tips, and unless you insist more than twice, the staff is not permitted to accept gratuties. Everyone was so helpful, and we always insist on tipping if the service is great. Note that restaurants and waitstaff do not fall under this category, so tip appropriately for you meals! We didn't have time to eat at their restaurant, but it has good reviews. For some reason, their Aura restaurant was closed.

My review will conclude with what others haven't really mentioned: The bathroom has a beautiful full length glass door shower, and the fan was so unobtrusive that you could not hear it and the mirror didn't fog up! The huge mirror has modern fluorescent light around the border, which was great to use. I loved that they thought to add a nightlight in the bathroom near the door underneath the sink so we could leave it on at night and find our way. The hotel prides itself on conserving where possible, so not leaving a big light on at night with the door ajar made a lot of economic sense. They have sweet LED reading lights above the bed, along with lamps on the nightstands. Something worth noting that others have not - the micro fridge is small, but has room to hold some small items or drinks if you wish. Great to have a Keurig in the room also. This hotel has not skimped on anything, and the cleanliness and service makes it a great choice. They also offer free use of the Boston Common bus (I believe from 6am to 7pm), so we were able to get downtown quick and free. This was great, as the Beantown trolley doesn't stop too close and the big mistake I made was not knowing this trolley would only go in one direction, so if you wanted to hop on/off a stop back, you had to ride the complete route around the city for 1.5 hours!). Taxis are reasonable, plentiful, and recommended in this city if you want to save time. There are also great restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. The entire staff was extremely helpful and efficient.

Room Tip: Choose a harbor view if this is your first time in Boston, and a higher floor is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairreviewinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,525
    859
    151
    55
    40
See reviews for
869
1,076
161
2,049
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
469 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed at the Seaport for 4 mights during a convention and found this hotel a refreshing change to what I have come to expect in convention hotels. Location is just over the bridge from the convention center; the only location that can beat it is the Westin hotel adjoining the convention center. Subway/bus transportation via the T, Silver Line is next to the hotel. The property is well maintained and the staff top-notch. Check in was quick and efficient and the staff was eager to point out the amenities offered by the hotel. Rooms were not expansive, but more than comfortable, with tons of features missing from many business hotels. For example, one master light switch to shut off all the lights in the room, plenty of power outlets, extra reading lamps for bed reading, Keurig coffee maker, small fridge, privacy/service button for the door, doorbell, in-room safe and umbrellas which came in real handy. During the week the hotel offers complimentary bicycles to roam the area. This property charges $3.00 per day for gratuities which goes a long way based on the availability and service level of this staff.
Over all the room and bathroom were very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel has a couple of dining options, which I only used for breakfast. The buffet had a broad selection and all items were tasty and served hot. Many other restaurants are available with in walking distance, or a short cab ride. The only knock I heard about this hotel is the parking...which is $34 per day self-park. High, yes, but you would be hard pressed to need a car in this part of the city for a limited stay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Seaport Hotel sits in the middle of a vibrant development area in Boston of the new Seaport District along the Inner Harbor. When I went to college in Boston 20 years ago there was nothing in this part of town except parking lots and abandoned warehouses. So, when I heard that my meeting had been scheduled in this part of town, I was anticipating a number of cab or metro rides to get away from the hotel and out in Boston. However, I could not have been more surprised. The Seaport Hotel is a wonderful hotel located in a vibrant, fun part of Boston which is a destination in its own right— right on the harbor, across from downtown, in the middle of great restaurants across the street from the Institute of Contemporary Art and just a short T ride to the airport.

Now for the hotel—just perfect. The location is ideal and the hotel stay is comfortable and well planned out with the modern traveler in mind. Some of the special touches about the hotel include modern rooms which are nicely planned, comfortable, visually appealing and well insulated. Throughout my 3-night stay, I did not hear any noise from any other room nor did I hear any hallway door open or close in a completely sold out hotel. Interior design, furnishings and eco-friendly design are worthy of awards for hotel design. Doorbells outside each room are color coded to indicate “privacy” or “housekeeping”- all controlled form a digital panel inside of room. Also, all of the guest room lighting is activated from this same panel. Reading lights located on the bed headboards were helpful as were power electrical sockets and outlets for digital devices conveniently located next to the bed and at the desk. Nice touches in the bathrooms are a steam resistant mirror, a great shower with near floor to ceiling sliding glass doors and under-counter lighting allowing ease of maneuvering when you get up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom. Complementary wireless internet service is available throughout the hotel, including the rooms, with great signal strength. This is one of the best wired hotels that I have stayed in. One feature that I have never seen is that they have “pillow library” allowing guests to select pillows which best suit their sleeping preferences. There is a great health club with a spa and heated, indoor lap swimming pool. As this is a full service health club which also offers memberships to locals, the equipment and cardiovascular machines are much better than typically found at most other hotels and equipment offerings are just as good as in my regular health club at home. I really appreciated that I did not have to deviate from my usual exercise routine while staying at this hotel. Everything that I needed was there. The health club also offers at a cost exercise classes, yoga, personal training and massages. There is a great locker room with wooden lockers, towel service and with a steam room.

Transportation options are great. There is a T- stop just steps away from the front of hotel. The hotel has both valet and self-parking with an electric charging station in the garage for cars and car wash available on the third level of the garage. Cab and water taxi are also available steps away from the hotel. The hotel offers complementary bicycle and complementary shuttle service into downtown Boston from 6 am to 7pm.

In all of my reviews I try to identify an opportunity for improvement. The service at this hotel was fine. However, these days for hotels of this quality I am used to the hotel staff bending over backward to great you as you pass through the halls or ask upon checkout "how was your stay". These things did not happen at the Seaport Boston Hotel. Possibly this may be a characteristic of a Boston personality style? I am not sure but certainly this is an opportunity for the hotel that can be easily addressed.

Overall, this hotel is a really great find. I was skeptical about staying here at first because I did not know about the newly developed Seaport district. However, next time I come to Boston, I will book this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BC_Dallas_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley Surrey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Loved staying here - the hotel on the south Boston waterfront - an easy walk into downtown Boston. Aquarium 10/15 mins. Financial District 10 mins. North end 20 mins. Quincy Market 15 mins. Take the complimentary shuttle up to Boston Common and walk to Back Bay or Beacon Hill. The hotel is so comfortable. Quiet rooms with fabulous beds and well stocked bathrooms. Lots of fluffy towels. Robes supplied - very useful for heading to the pool. Staff were so helpful - ask the Concierge anything. The on site bistro served excellent food - try to eat on the terrace overlooking world trade centre and bay. Only improvement would be a few more cafés and bars around the hotel - but the area is still mid development - it could get better and better

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
324 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I would like to give a shout out to the staff - the gentleman who checked us in at 10pm could not have been nicer or more helpful. He gave us an upgrade to a Harbor view on the 16th floor and took the time to explain everything to us. This hotel was much less expensive than some of the glitz-ier hotels nearby, but perfectly nice. We had a very nice room with great full wall mirror/foyer, nice sized bathroom with great rain shower (not sure why they put the towels on the end there - easy to get them all wet), helpful lighting (I have never seen that under the counter light you can leave on all night so you can bet to the bathroom but not wake up your roommate) and amazing views. SUPER convenient to Logan as the Silver Line station is a 2 minute walk away. We didn't have a chance to try out the restaurant (which is supposed to be great) so can't comment. The Wave gym was super nice and very convenient. Loved the free wifi with no password - easy to use! All hotels should take note.

I loved the pillows -super comfie - the bed was a bit soft for my taste. Stomach sleepers beware. Room decor was kind of like a slightly more upscale Marriot Courtyard but VERY clean and neat. I agree about parking - they should make clear parking is $35 (not to mention the hotel taxes but I guess every hotel had those). A $329 room becomes a $410 room quickly with parking/taxes. Minor gripe, but I got trapped in the parking lot for almost 15 minutes as the key swipe they gave me didn't work. That was annoying - kinda felt they should have comped me the parking but the staff was so wonderful I hated to complain and I was on the way out.

If you want to tour Boston, I'd stay near the Copley, but if you want to explore the restaurants here and be VERY close to Logan, this is perfect. We were here for an invent and the JFK Library so it was perfect.

Room Tip: upper floor with Harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTwelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed at the Seaport Hotel for four nights during an international conference held at the World Trade Center, which is right across the street. The hotel and room were impeccable. Generous shower and bathroom. All amenities (iron board, water kettle, safe, etc.). The hotel staff was friendly and personal. The breakfast buffet was good. I forgot 240$ in the safe. Their security collected the money and, upon my request, sent it via money order to Australia at no charge (apart from 1.75$ for the check). Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roman_Bader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qawra, Malta
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The seaport is not a down town hotel but handy for the airport with transport right outside the hotel to all over Boston. It does a lovely breakfast as well. the rooms are all beautifully furnished and clean

Room Tip: Get a view of the port
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marron222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,850 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
7,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,282 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
2,206 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaport Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaport Boston Hotel

Property: Seaport Boston Hotel
Address: 1 Seaport Lane, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Boston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#2 Family Hotel in Boston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#6 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#6 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaport Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's bustling Seaport District with dozens of Boston's most popular restaurants and attractions within walking distance, the Seaport Hotel Boston offers business and leisure travelers newly renovated guest rooms and a variety of upscale amenities including complimentary wireless Internet access, one of Boston's most luxurious fitness facilities, an indoor pool, complimentary bicycles and beautiful city and harbor views. Seaport Boston is proud to be one of the Boston's greenest hotels. The hotel is five minutes from Logan Airport by taxi, water taxi and the MBTA and offers weekday shuttle service into downtown Boston. Nearby attractions include the Boston Convention & Exhibition Center, the Institute for Contemporary Art, the Boston Children's Museum, Boston's pedestrian friendly Harborwalk and the Blue Hills Bank Pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Seaport Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaport Hotel Boston
Boston Seaport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing