We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On balance I am not sure I would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Seaport Boston Hotel
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“On balance I am not sure I would stay again”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

A nuanced choice but on balance there are so many Boston hotels in this category I think I would try another. To be fair first the positives. Very well located next to the work trade centre and convention centre on the silver line between Logan and the city. Whole hotel spotless and staff overall very friendly. Like the no tipping policy. Nice toiletries in the rooms.

But. Our guy bringing the bags up seemed unhappy at no tip so the policy is not fully understood by staff. Which had been the explicit instruction at checkin. The family room for four was not huge. Not cheap though. The pool is certainly small. And at the weekend it was still set up solely for lap swimming when the pool was full of kids the hotel was full of families at the weekend. The hotel is huge and lacks some sense of personality. This weekend there were three separate weddings ongoing. And whilst the neighbourhood is certainly up and coming close to town etc etc this also makes it a dusty construction site so not so charming for taking a stroll towards the lively near by institute of contemporary art.

So on balance next time I'm in town for business or pleasure I will seek out an alternative.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank ADL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,652
    881
    158
    56
    40
See reviews for
922
1,124
169
2,087
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Superb hotel, highly recommend. Hotel is adjacent to the Convention Center and has its own subway station you can access without going outside. Close to downtown but not walkable. The hotel has a free shuttle to downtown that runs very often, at least in the summer. Ask about it when you call. The rooms are beautifully appointed. Coffee pods and maker in abundance, big flat screen tv, free internet, tap to open room doors, even doorbells. You push a button and a green light outside the door lets the maid know you are ready to have the room serviced. The restaurants have good food, pricey as you might expect in a high end hotel. No tipping is permitted anywhere in the hotel. In the restaurant, they add 20% on to your bill. The hotel is modern, clean, beautifully understated in décor.

Room Tip: Choose away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridiemurphey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We were only in Boston for one night and actually chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. The hotel did not disappoint! We wished we were staying longer to take advantage of all the Seaport has to offer. The ease of checking in and the convenient parking and the location were great. Our room had a great view of the water and was very clean and comfortable. The beds were so comfortable, I didn't want to get out of it in the morning! Seems that everything is newly remodeled and looks just like the pictures on the internet. The bathroom was large, clean and had great amenities. The rooms also had Bose radios, and a small refrigerator. We will definitely return to the Seaport next time we visit Boston!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hstrolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaportGM, General Manager at Seaport Boston Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for selecting Seaport. We appreciate that you took the time to read our reviews, and I am happy to learn that you, too, were pleased with your experience. I do hope we can welcome you back again. Thank you for taking the time to write.

Kind regards,

James M. Carmody
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleboro, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We had a great stay at the Seaport Hotel - we were in town to see my grandson ship out to bootcamp for the US Army. It was very easy to walk to where we needed to be and the hotel was GREAT. Very clean and exceptional service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bonnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Conveniently located, friendly staff, easy-to-access parking, terrible breakfast. You'd be better off eating elsewhere. Spent $80 on a breakfast that took half an hour to serve, and we ordered straight from the menu. For a restaurant that was making the same items regularly for a buffet, they really should have had the food ready much more quickly, with priority for customers not using the buffet. Other than that, overall good experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Erin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, il, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Seaport is a great hotel which has thought of everything like a moving desk, electronic touch lights and a beautiful view. The hotel even offered free bikes and is in walking distance of Legal Seafood and Mortons

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deidre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Shared a wonderful experience of truly friendly, understanding and efficient staff in a newly remodeled/decorated and very comfortable room. The exercise room and the pool were also outstanding. My Husband and I had several hotel choices for our Boston Conference, we choose to return to the "Seaport" because of the service and accommodations we received in the past. All top notch to us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
1,891 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,329 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#46 of 83 in Boston
7,568 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaport Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaport Boston Hotel

Property: Seaport Boston Hotel
Address: 1 Seaport Lane, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#1 Business Hotel in Boston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#2 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#6 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaport Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's bustling Seaport District with dozens of Boston's most popular restaurants and attractions within walking distance, the Seaport Hotel Boston offers business and leisure travelers newly renovated guest rooms and a variety of upscale amenities including complimentary wireless Internet access, one of Boston's most luxurious fitness facilities, an indoor pool, complimentary bicycles and beautiful city and harbor views. Seaport Boston is proud to be one of the Boston's greenest hotels. The hotel is five minutes from Logan Airport by taxi, water taxi and the MBTA and offers weekday shuttle service into downtown Boston. Nearby attractions include the Boston Convention & Exhibition Center, the Institute for Contemporary Art, the Boston Children's Museum, Boston's pedestrian friendly Harborwalk and the Blue Hills Bank Pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Seaport Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaport Hotel Boston
Boston Seaport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing