We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with a health club that does things differently”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seaport Boston Hotel
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 December 2008

I stayed at the Seaport when I couldn't get a room at a different hotel. The rooms were nice and the staff were friendly. However, I was pleasently surprised by some of the other aspects of my stay.

The first thing I noticed is that this hotel has a somewhat "green" attitude. You can recycle your newspaper and other misc stuff. I appreciated this because most hotels tend to be very wasteful.

The hotel also discourages tipping. This is a little strange and I left a tip for housekeeping anyway, but I would guess that they must do a reasonable job of compensating their staff.

OK, all the other stuff is nice, but the best thing about this hotel is the health club. It has free weights, cardio machines, weight machines, spin classes and a lap pool. The health club is not huge, but it is fantastic by hotel/resort standards. All this was included in the price. No better way to burn off some stress and some of the calories from work-related travel!

If I had to give an overall summary, I would say that people who are really interested in "luxury" might find this hotel only adequate. I really appreciated some of the characteristics that make this hotel different.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Grumpier_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,617 - 4,623 of 4,932 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2008

Great Stay! Upgraded! Wow! First time I've ever been upgraded in any hotel ever. It was Thanksgiving and were not that busy but whatever. Went from a regular room to a small suite with two rooms and Ocean view. Kids liked watching the big ships go by. Two Tv's and no Sponge Bob for adults. Great stay, easy access to the rest of Boston. Don't listen to the people complaining about parking costs - it's Boston and it's like that everywhere. I've stayed in alot of hotels in Boston and this is one of the nicer ones. Thanks - Seaport !

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mac099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaportGM, Vice President, General Manager at Seaport Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2008

Thank you for your enthusiastic support of Seaport! I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit with us. We truly enjoy welcoming families here - especially during the holidays, which we think are a fun and festive time to visit Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

Stayed over one night for a wedding. The accomodations were lovely, but I was shocked to discover that they charged us thirty-nine dollars for parking in the hotel's garage. I've stayed at many a hotel in many a large city and have never been charged close to that amount for parking in the hotel's garage Attempting to gouge its customers rates it two stars in my book.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gouged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaportGM, Vice President, General Manager at Seaport Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2008

Thanks so much for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Seaport! It is expensive to park in Boston. The Conservation Law Foundation plays a significant role in setting parking rates and approving permits for the construction of parking facilities here. By controlling accessibility they hope to discourage the use of private vehicles and emphasize public transportation as part of their clean air initiative. We are required by the CLW and the terms of our lease to charge competitive rates. We monitor our competition and price just below their thresholds. Fortunately, there is some choice at Seaport where ample inexpensive and convenient surface parking is still available in the neighborhood. Thank you again and I do hope you'll consider us if your travels bring you back to Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

The potential of Seaport Hotel is great, but unrealized. First, it is unlikely you will part anywhere near the correct place if you self-park -- very confusing. Front desk staff is friendly enough. Rooms were adequate and fairly new. Not much in the area within walking distance besides Convention Center and other hotels. Oddly designed in that the gym/pool are located on the same floor as the convention space. We didn't comfortable in our athletic/swim attire with a Marketing Sherpa show in front of us. Could have been worse, absolutely. But I guess we just expected more.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MidwestLiketoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

I have stayed there for a business summit, which was held in its "World Trade Center". I can comment only the frontdesk of the hotel, catering of the trade center and the rooms, and I can say that everything was perfect. The staff is friendly and helpful, the food in the trade center was delicious, and the rooms are very comfortable and clean.

The only unexpected and unpleasant thing for me were the additional taxes on the room's price, but I guess it was my fault for not checking all the additional costs, before my arrival.

Location is OK, although it is a little bit aside from the downtown area, but if you are a business traveller, it shouldn't be an issue. There is a very convenient trolley-bus service, right next to the hotel, which can take you to the airport.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kastelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2008

Pros:
I love this hotel. It is new, fresh, clean and amazingly luxurious beds. I had a side view, but could see the bay.
Great service.

Cons:
Not downtown, but the WorldTrade Center Train station is just across the street and a 10 minute ride to major sites. Parking is high, but I recommend using the T and getting a Charlie card for the week ($15).

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TXglobetrotter_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2008

Partner wanted to stay near Conference Center.
Seaport has competition at various price points,Boston Harbour,Marriott Long Warf,InterContinental,Renaisance,Westin Waterfront. Plus the airport hotels are close enough , and you can use the water taxi.
Seaport does nothing bad nor very good.Our 8 nights were rather dull.Endless event meetings going on.
Its a no tipping hotel,but,18% service,5% tax,and 3$ room service charge later you wonder whats the point.
Hated breakfast , coffee shop closes at 5.30 pm .
Few shops or restaurants in the area.
The gripe is in room noise.Thin walls , vacuum WC noise , and door slammers.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank f2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
1,930 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
3,378 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,351 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
The Westin Boston Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaport Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaport Boston Hotel

Address: 1 Seaport Lane, Boston, MA 02210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront , South Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Boston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#2 Family Hotel in Boston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#3 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#6 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £130 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaport Boston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Boston's bustling Seaport District with dozens of Boston's most popular restaurants and attractions within walking distance, the Seaport Hotel Boston offers business and leisure travelers newly renovated guest rooms and a variety of upscale amenities including complimentary wireless Internet access, one of Boston's most luxurious fitness facilities, an indoor pool, complimentary bicycles and beautiful city and harbor views. Seaport Boston is proud to be one of the Boston's greenest hotels. The hotel is five minutes from Logan Airport by taxi, water taxi and the MBTA and offers weekday shuttle service into downtown Boston. Nearby attractions include the Boston Convention & Exhibition Center, the Institute for Contemporary Art, the Boston Children's Museum, Boston's pedestrian friendly Harborwalk and the Blue Hills Bank Pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seaport Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaport Hotel Boston
Boston Seaport Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing