We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bravo XV Beacon!”
Review of XV Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
XV Beacon
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My recent stay at XV Beacon was an outstanding experience. I have stayed at many boutique hotels and this one tops the charts. The service from the beginning to the end of my stay was above and beyond. Each and every staff member was kind, accommodating and incredibly efficient. Elizabeth Adams, the Director of Sales, went above and beyond to make my stay glorious. Elizabeth personally helped me plan my stay and made me feel welcome and “at home” from the second I arrived. The incredible atmosphere, created by the staff, is coupled with the fact that the rooms are absolutely beautiful. The décor is a perfect mix of modern and classic style. The large rooms are then further enhanced by the stunning fireplace and all the amenities one expects at a five star hotel. The room and bathroom were very clean and spacious. Little touches, like the availability of a chauffeured car, really set this place apart. This hotel is in the perfect location on Beacon Hill, in the center of the city, only minutes from Boston Common and many historical sites, theaters and restaurants. This will be the only place I stay in Boston in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HDozierCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

This hotel is beautiful, very comfortable and they treat you like family. The location is excellent. The house car was ALWAYS available to take you wherever you wanted to go the drivers are very nice people Paul, Mark and Jose were very helpful . The concierge was also excellent john was very knowable and always willing to help. The room was excellent to as well as the bathroom. They have a small but nice gym so you can workout a little.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miguel1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel combines historical ambiance with modern luxury which gives the place character and thus a different experience than that of a chain hotel. It also boasts a perfect location on Beacon Hill right in the city center and only minutes from Boston Common and all the historical sights.

The hotel itself is nicely decorated and has a wonderful in-house restaurant that serves up a delicious a la carte breakfast and at night turns into an amazing, albeit expensive, steak restaurant. The service at both meals was impossible to fault.

The rooms were beautifully decorated with a fireplace and all the amenities one expects at a five star hotel. The only downside was the view or rather lack thereof: straight into a huge office building, making the room very dark and therefore a bit gloomy. For this reason alone I would hesitate to stay here again.

If lighting isn’t a big issue though, and you are looking for luxury with character, then this might be the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the entrance - would give better lighting
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Missy2011Oslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Highly recommend this hotel. You definitely get what you pay for with exceptional service, great location, and terrific amenities. We especially appreciated the accommodation of early check in (11 am!) without notice as we had a change in plans....I did not expect it, but they were able to get us into an amazing suite immediately. This will be the only place we stay in Boston in the future.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jacob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is situated just steps from Boston Common and is a top-rate experience. The room was incredibly comfortable, and it presented a nice mix of modern and classic style. In-room fireplace is a great touch. There are not many rooms on each floor, which really gives this place an exclusive feel (the hotel in general was very quiet). The room and bathroom were very clean, and there is twice-daily housekeeping. Little touches, like the availability of a chauffeured car to the airport, really set this place apart.

Room Tip: Though we stayed in the rear of the hotel, the front side would present a nice street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I was very happy with my stay at XV Beacon. I was in Boston for a conference and came "home" every evening to a comfortable room. The amenities were exactly what I needed after a long day. The staff were extremely friendly and polite.

Room service from Moo was quick and the food was really delicious. It's a short walk to the "T" at Park Street or Government Centre.

I also used the car service to Logan which carries an extra charge but it was well worth the little bit extra. Comments about the noise from garbage trucks and the slow-draining showers are quite true, but I didn't view these as anything other than minor inconveniences.

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel for business or for pleasure and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 days to celebrate an anniversary. The location was more than perfect. From the hotel you are able to walk every where (sights, restaurants, bars) and there's a metro stop just a block away.

I stayed in the Boston Common room, it was very spacious and chic. The bed was huge and comfortable. The water pressure in the shower was the best, considering it was in the 10th floor. Windows were operable so you're able to get done fresh air.

There's a beautiful roof top garden. There are two elevators, so if you're in the upper floors it's not a long wait to get one.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quique02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,931 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,353 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XV Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XV Beacon

Address: 15 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02108-2902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £314 - £704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — XV Beacon 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XV Beacon Hotel reigns over Boston's historic Beacon Hill neighborhood in its turn-of-the-century landmark Beaux Arts building. The modern furnishings counterbalanced by a grand staircase of marble, mahogany paneling and original caged-glass elevator reflect how past lives transform into the present. The 63-room luxury boutique hotel, recognized for peerless personal service, sophisticated interiors and luxurious custom amenities, distinguishes itself with its sense of heritage, peacefulness of home and utmost discretion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your XV Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xv Beacon Boston
Xv Beacon Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing