We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel ever”
Review of XV Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
XV Beacon
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Loved,loved,loved,loved.... This hotel
Spacious room that is very well equipped,large windows,nice bathroom with a tiny TV in it.
The service is exceptional and I'm speechless about it!!
The house keeping were great,the room service was great, the concierge guys were beyond my expectations and I'm difficult to amaze! They were very friendly, professional n knew the Boston like the back of their hands,they had a great taste too I've to say.
The hotel cars' were luxurious and spoiling to the max. The drivers were very nice n helpful n spoiled us too.
The location ofcourse is the best , near Boston common n the brand shopping street that I forgot it's name and also nice restaurants n supermarkets.
Everything u need to see in Boston is very close by, mostly walking distance only.
I could go on n on about how great this hotel z, but I'm out of words here

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Zaid3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, with luxurious sheets/bedding, a fireplace (at least in my room), chocolate covered strawberries brought to the room. But some oddities: when I arrived, the person at the desk couldn't check me in. What she was doing there then, I'm not sure, and why there is only one person who is able to do that, I'm also not sure. The electrical outlets are very hard to find and the ones by the desk are very hard to reach. The towels look luxurious but have ridges and are very rough. So although it's beautiful, it needs to focus on some of the small stuff to be excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOnyB123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in early October. First room they presented felt way too small and claustrophobic. All it took was a phone call to the front desk and luckily they had and were more than happy to move us to a lovely room with sitting area, plenty of space. Front desk and concierge staff are friendly and helpful, service is great, loved Moo (food and cocktails were both excellent) and especially liked the location. It felt more secluded, a little off the hustle bustle path yet still a short walk to all the action plus the subway. A nice respite in a city for sure. Decor is modern/classic, loads of taupes and bold use of black and darker neutrals, liked that too. Only complaint would be the lobby which is too small (well done, but too small) and they seem to have a habit of keeping the huge luggage carriers in the space as well which feels very out of place and crowded. In fairness, they were doing some exterior repairs so perhaps they temporarily lost that storage? It seemed so glaring that it must have not been intentional. Lobby doesn't make you want to linger for long but didn't bother us as we were on the go anyway. Will be happy to return and have reservations for next spring when our son graduates! Great boutique hotel.

Room Tip: they have a variety, so shop before you settle in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soma42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Loved this hotel- not just because the location is superb or because it has a car shuttle - which I have not used but because the concierge service is excellent. Jonathan and Olivia are exceptional. Will be staying here again for sure

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RRHRRH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Having met the Head Concierge in the past, I wanted to know more about XV Beacon. We met Olivia who was kind enough to show us four room types, the Mooo, the wine cellar as set up for s special event and the fantastic rooftop deck. She shared the history and the concepts of the rooms designs and their use for different guest types. Both Olivia and Jonathan well represent the mission of HV Beacon in providing an extraordinary guest experience. I look forward to staying here on another trip to Boston. Thanks for the gracious hospitality!

Room Tip: The rooms either face Beacon Street or an office building behind so please consider the importance o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank cms43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Have been here several times and it NEVER disappoints. The staff is exceptional, the rooms are beautiful and spacious and the location is the best in Boston. The hotel courtesy car will take you just about anywhere with terrific drivers and the restaurant is one of the best in the City. I've stayed in some of the best hotels in the world and this one tops my list as my favorite.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBJordan232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My recent stay at XV Beacon was an outstanding experience. I have stayed at many boutique hotels and this one tops the charts. The service from the beginning to the end of my stay was above and beyond. Each and every staff member was kind, accommodating and incredibly efficient. Elizabeth Adams, the Director of Sales, went above and beyond to make my stay glorious. Elizabeth personally helped me plan my stay and made me feel welcome and “at home” from the second I arrived. The incredible atmosphere, created by the staff, is coupled with the fact that the rooms are absolutely beautiful. The décor is a perfect mix of modern and classic style. The large rooms are then further enhanced by the stunning fireplace and all the amenities one expects at a five star hotel. The room and bathroom were very clean and spacious. Little touches, like the availability of a chauffeured car, really set this place apart. This hotel is in the perfect location on Beacon Hill, in the center of the city, only minutes from Boston Common and many historical sites, theaters and restaurants. This will be the only place I stay in Boston in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HDozierCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,972 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,429 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XV Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XV Beacon

Address: 15 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02108-2902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#11 Business Hotel in Boston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £280 - £566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — XV Beacon 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XV Beacon Hotel reigns over Boston's historic Beacon Hill neighborhood in its turn-of-the-century landmark Beaux Arts building. The modern furnishings counterbalanced by a grand staircase of marble, mahogany paneling and original caged-glass elevator reflect how past lives transform into the present. The 63-room luxury boutique hotel, recognized for peerless personal service, sophisticated interiors and luxurious custom amenities, distinguishes itself with its sense of heritage, peacefulness of home and utmost discretion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your XV Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xv Beacon Boston
Xv Beacon Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing