We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concierge team is top notch. The hotel is a stunner.”
Review of XV Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
XV Beacon
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had an amazing stay at the XV Beacon.  The location can't be beat and the property itself is a stunner.  Our room was dreamy and make it hard to venture out into Boston and explore.  But explore we did and that experience was made even better by the Concierge team.  Everyone we worked with at the Concierge desk was wonderful but I have to really thank Jonathan and Olivia.  They helped us feel like locals and while top notch, polished professionals, they were so warm and genuine.  It was more like asking friends for advice than going up to a desk for "help".  I have to say, they both really have their finger on the pulse of the city and were able to pinpoint exactly what we wanted, even when we didn't do the best job of explaining it!  Half way through our visit we decided that Boston and the XV Beacon will be an annual tradition. Our stay was over Halloween night and the city is just a fantastic place to be. The hotel's proximity to Beacon Hill and all it's amazing Halloween fun can't be beat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JchipGCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed here the evening before my daughters wedding, and I honestly cannot think of one complaint to make. Being able to take a soak in a lovely whirlpool tub, after having our choice of bath salts delivered was a perfect relaxing activity right before a slightly hectic day!

From the staff to the Lexus service everything was impeccable. Would highly recommend to anyone coming to Boston for any reason!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canter7StarsBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I love this small hotel. The rooms are lovely and very well appointed and the staff is great. There is a bar and restaurant on the lobby level which is wonderful whether one is alone or with a large group. The wine list, cocktails and meals are excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street as the others can be a little too dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindabcoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We could not be more pleased with our accommodations. We received advance emails twice from Jonathon about any reservations we might need. I gave him our preferences and he filled in the blanks and arranged one of the two Lexuses (Lexi?) to take us locally. Pick up was accomplished if they were available, and they were. They seemed to know our room and our names from the start.

The rooms are about twice as large as you would expect at the Marriott or a Starwood hotel, room enough for two big chairs in front of the fireplace, which apparently is in every room. The room are in beige with lots of black wood and nice art. Apples on every floor by the elevators. Wifi is free with the card they provide for each hookup you need. You will not find that in any non-discounted hotel that I have been in lately.

Two papers in the morning and free shoe shines at night are standard. Best of all, room service has no room delivery charge, but our usual 20% tip is included. 14 inches of snow expected tonight and the restaurant on the corner is connected without a venture outdoors

We came for the New Years holiday and expect to come back in the future, more than we had planned.

Ignore my service rating. I could not get my computer to get off of "Terrible" Service was great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank docwscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed for a special birthday celebration and XV Beacon made it one to remember! Even before our arrival their service was impeccable. Upon making our reservation we received an email from their concierge, Maddie, making her services available. I immediately took advantage of this invitation to arrange celebration details. She was fantastic!

The lobby definitely has a small, boutique feel, don't let this deceive you. The room was beautifully appointed, having an elegant, classic decor with a gas fireplace (every room has one). Our request for an early check in was accommodated with an upgraded room, which had beautiful high ceilings. We did not have issues with noise as our room was located in the back of the hotel, the trade off however, was not having a view.

Can't wait to go back and take advantage of their other amenities like roof top deck (our visit was during winter) and free car service, though one may not even need this as the location is extremely convenient! You are an easy walk to many attractions like Boston Commons, Beacon Hill, Faneuil Hall, the North End, Waterfront, and the subway "T".

As someone who travels extensively, this hotel has my highest praise.

Sincerely,
Pat

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Boston for a surprise birthday trip over Easter this year and stayed at XV Beacon for three nights. The hotel has a boutique feel and the room was very stylish with dark decorations and a gas fire. Bed was very comfortable and bathroom was well appointed with a rain-shower (no bath in our room). The hotel had very thoughtfully put an enormous slab of delicious chocolate cake in our room for my birthday - we struggled to finish it over two days!!

The concierge were helpful in booking reservations for us and we ate in the Moo restaurant downstairs which was wonderful as well as an Italian restaurant across town which I think is owned by the same group.

The hotel is well located in the cool Beacon Hill neighborhood and within easy walk to Boston common and the main shopping area. Overall a very glamorous base for a relaxing long weekend in Boston.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FiHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at XV Beacon this past week and we were treated like gold! Amy, the GM was extremely helpful and booked my reservation and dinner at Moos' within a half an hour via text while she was in a meeting. When we arrived we were graciously greeted and whisked right to our room. The rooms are amazing here, king size beds, fireplace in every room and the decor was beautiful. I can't say enough about the hospitality and highly recommend dinner there! We will be back and for those that take part in the Lexus experience, the drivers and cars are clean, professional and a great addition to your stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,972 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,429 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XV Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XV Beacon

Address: 15 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02108-2902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Business Hotel in Boston
#16 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £280 - £566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — XV Beacon 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XV Beacon Hotel reigns over Boston's historic Beacon Hill neighborhood in its turn-of-the-century landmark Beaux Arts building. The modern furnishings counterbalanced by a grand staircase of marble, mahogany paneling and original caged-glass elevator reflect how past lives transform into the present. The 63-room luxury boutique hotel, recognized for peerless personal service, sophisticated interiors and luxurious custom amenities, distinguishes itself with its sense of heritage, peacefulness of home and utmost discretion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your XV Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xv Beacon Boston
Xv Beacon Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing