We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel. Great (and helpful) staff. Highly recommended”
Review of XV Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
XV Beacon
Ranked #12 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel. Great (and helpful) staff. Highly recommended”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I was looking for a quiet spot to work for the weekend and get inspired to come up with new ideas. This hotel couldn't be any better. The rooms are very slick, complete with a fireplace at the foot of the bed ( nice touch ).

They let me setup in the lobby next to the fireplace downstairs to do some quiet work and even got me a pot of coffee while I stay there for a few hours.

The attached restaurant (Moo) had one of the best steaks I've ever had.

Couldn't be happier with the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    827
    189
    46
    30
    16
See reviews for
162
577
53
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

What a great little hotel. Everything about this stay was tremendous. The rooms are very comfortable with a gentlemans club type feel about them. The staff were exceptional and the service great, thoughtful and prompt. Breakfast was plentiful. We especially liked the availability of a car to take guests where they wanted to go. Why don't other hotels offer this amazing service? The hotel even offers an overnight shoe shining service. The public area in the foyer is a little small but rooms are so great why hang around there? We had a fabulous stay here. Thanks XV Beacon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyrv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at XV Beacon and could not be more impressed. From the moment we arrived the service was exceptional. Our room was extremely comfortable with a cozy fireplace and the bathtub was just a dream come true for me! For a boutique hotel the size of our room was spacious and gave us little reason to want to leave. Room service was exceptional and our dinner at Mooo was absolutely perfect! Centered in the heart of the city the the hotels location is fantastic. There is no reason not to stay at XV Beacon and we are already looking for an opportunity to do so again! Do yourself a favor and stay here next time you are in Boston, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

XVB really is the Best Hotel in the World.
It was an absolute pleasure to once again stay in this Boutique Hotel. It's an unforgettable experience that will leave you looking for excuses to return as quickly as possible!!

In my first review after the first stay at XVB two or so years ago I couldn't praise the Hotel & it's Staff enough. It was an incredible experience and one that lead to an immediate decision to return to XVB as soon as possible.

Staying on the 8th floor this time round the rooms were simply stunning and quite large in size! You get such a luxurious and 'homely' feel upon opening the main door and entering into this incredibly well laid out room.
Everything from the fireplace to the huge & amazingly comfortable bed to the very modern and well appointed Bathroom / Bath makes the overall experience one to be enjoyed!
It's also about the small things and finer touches. A personalised "Welcome Back" plate of Chocolate Strawberries was waiting upon my arrival!
** Hat's off to the team for that one!! Perfect.
(Try and get the corner room if possible as you will have a great view down Beacon Street looking towards Boston Common).

The two "Hotel Cars" are just the best to use as much as possible. Staying over the 2013 / 14 New Year period for 8 or so days needless to say, it was busy! We did want to go to a few places further from the Hotel and the ability to have this service available makes all the difference.

Mooo Restaurant is a fantastic part of XVB. The Quality of Food was always to the highest of standards and never left us hungry but did leave us wanting more!!
They have an amazing selection of Wine and the staff were terrific at recomendations
and really helped in putting together the perfect meal.
The Breakfast staff it must be noted were wonderful to deal with every morning for Breakfast aswell.


Well, saving the best until last, which is, the Staff at XVB.

This would have to be the best part of this Amazing Hotel.
All Staff, no matter which department they are from all go out of their way to say "Hi" or "Good Morning" etc and just go the extra step to ensure that you are being looked after. They are an incredible asset and really set XVB apart from the rest.
Amy was excellent throughout the confirmation / booking process of the 3 seperate rooms and ensured all was taken care of and just made the entire process easy.
As mentioned previously, a noteable mention to the Breakfast staff, Front Door personnel and Drivers who were wonderful.
Lastly, Jonathan (Concierge). Absolutely Brilliant.
I can't thank him enough for everything he did for my Family in ensuring our Holiday was made perfect. His attention to detail, local knowledge, excellent advice and just all-round friendly attitude is an absolute Win for XVB.

You simply can't go wrong with XVB as your Hotel choice when staying in Boston. Brilliant.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on Beacon Street can have a great view looking down Beacon Street with also some views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris_mayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
528 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I can't go into enough details to explain how great this hotel is. It is a very small luxury boutique hotel right on Beacon Hill. Location is great and the rooms are just amazing and incredibly carry the very most modern of amenities even though it was a historic reno from a historic building built in 1903 or something. Maddie and the staff were so amazing to my girlfriend and I. All the staff was incredible though, from the room service waiter, to the limo driver. I won't stay anywhere else now when visiting Boston if i can avoid it. Thank you Maddie for making our trip so enjoyable!!!

Room Tip: Beacon Hill Suite is great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My family and I have a tradition each Christmas to stay at XV Beacon and enjoy Boston for 2-3 days. Each year, our stay at XV is absolutely perfect. We love our large and comfortable room which is very handsomely decorated- it actually feels like a studio apartment in a regal Beacon Hill mansion rather than a hotel room. The bathroom is super luxurious and the bathtub is worth the entire stay! We ate at Moo this year on Christmas Eve because our beloved Locke Ober closed and Moo is deserving of its reputation as the best steakhouse in Boston. It is much more than a steakhouse however as the ambiance is refined and very elegant. The staff at Beacon is professional and very helpful- and we love the use of the hotel car and driver for local drop-offs. XV is the perfect boutique hotel offering ideal location, décor, services and amenities. We look forward to many more holidays at XV Beacon.

Room Tip: Large studio room will accommodate a couple with one child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had an amazing stay at the XV Beacon.  The location can't be beat and the property itself is a stunner.  Our room was dreamy and make it hard to venture out into Boston and explore.  But explore we did and that experience was made even better by the Concierge team.  Everyone we worked with at the Concierge desk was wonderful but I have to really thank Jonathan and Olivia.  They helped us feel like locals and while top notch, polished professionals, they were so warm and genuine.  It was more like asking friends for advice than going up to a desk for "help".  I have to say, they both really have their finger on the pulse of the city and were able to pinpoint exactly what we wanted, even when we didn't do the best job of explaining it!  Half way through our visit we decided that Boston and the XV Beacon will be an annual tradition. Our stay was over Halloween night and the city is just a fantastic place to be. The hotel's proximity to Beacon Hill and all it's amazing Halloween fun can't be beat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JchipGCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
1,868 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XV Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XV Beacon

Property: XV Beacon
Address: 15 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02108-2902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — XV Beacon 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XV Beacon Hotel reigns over Boston's historic Beacon Hill neighborhood in its turn-of-the-century landmark Beaux Arts building. The modern furnishings counterbalanced by a grand staircase of marble, mahogany paneling and original caged-glass elevator reflect how past lives transform into the present. The 63-room luxury boutique hotel, recognized for peerless personal service, sophisticated interiors and luxurious custom amenities, distinguishes itself with its sense of heritage, peacefulness of home and utmost discretion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your XV Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xv Beacon Boston
Xv Beacon Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing