We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The People Make This Hotel A Winner”
Review of XV Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
XV Beacon
Ranked #11 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Southlake, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The People Make This Hotel A Winner”
Reviewed 3 October 2009

We were in Boston for sightseeing and had elected to stay at XV Beacon based on other reviews. We were not disappointed (except for the view from the room).

The room was very nicely finished with a four poster queen-sized bed, HDTV and a fireplace--which turned out to be a great amenity since it was cool and wet in Boston on the day we arrived. While the room was very nice, the two things that make this hotel stand out are the location (one block from Boston Commons and the Freedom Trail), but more importantly, the people. From the doorman who actually seemed happy to see you and eager to help, to the concierge who always had a map and a suggestion, to the bartender who can make some great martini's and seemingly keep 3 conversations going at the same time--all were exceptional! We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdsltx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    818
    189
    45
    30
    15
See reviews for
160
572
52
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Beacon XV could be one of the best places i have stayed. They go above and behond in every detail. From the moment you walk in to getting to your room, you are treated like royalty. Everyone there is eagar to help you. The rooms are tastefully done. We enjoyed being able to set a time for room service in the morning, and having a driver at our disposal. It is a little pricy, but well worth it. I would highly reccomend staying there i fyou have a chance.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tboston0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

It's nice, but not what it should be for the money. Small, overcrowded bedroom - no place to turn around, no place to put a room service tray. No washcloths or waste basket in the bathroom. No way to turn on the shower (and let it warm up) without standing under it. No half bottles of wine on the room service menu, full bottles (red) starting at $90. Mini-bar half bottles start at $60 (and go to $295). Mini bar also home to stale $8.70 candy bars. Morning paper was promised but not delivered. Sluggish internet. Small imperfections, but not acceptable to me at these prices.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MT_Dallas_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

I was on my way to Provincetown and decided to spend a few days in Boston, just to look around. I prefer smaller boutique hotels over big dinosaur chain hotels and XV Beacon did not disappoint. I was given a large corner room with a view of the Common and a bit of skyline and the room itself was nicely appointed. It was not perfect and some of the custom furniture did show a little wear and tear but this is to be expected. Also, the dark wood on the bathroom doors showed splashes of lotions that I guess the cleaning staff missed. But these are small details. The special couldn't be beat (3 nights for the price of 2) and the breakfast credit was generous. The restaurant was top notch too and accomodated special dietary requests without a problem. One of the best parts of my stay was chatting with Julie, the concierge. She's a no nonsense, straight shooter who gets the job done and made excellent recommendations. I highly recommend this place if you are looking for a more intimate, small hotel experience. And the limo service is a great touch too...

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjohnzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

I second (and third) everything others have mentioned about this wonderful hotel . . . it truly is a great experience. Oh, and the Lexus with a driver, I felt like the queen of Boston for 3 days.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loblolly9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

My wife and I spent 3 nights at XV Beacon. The staff was outstanding, the room was exceptional and the location, perfect. It was the best experience we've had in a very long time. I highly recommend XV Beacon to anyone visiting Boston.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CassidyPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

I have nothing but good things to say about this fabulous gem of a hotel. I knew it was going to be great from the moment we arrived as we were greeted by the friendliest, most helpful staff. The rooms were magnificent - huge and beautifully furnished in a trendy but comfortable style. The bathroom had a powerful shower with a huge shower head which was great. The restaurant, Moo served delicious food but the huge portions took us a bit by surprise. Next time we travel to Boston we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dblacksam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,852 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#20 of 83 in Boston
2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to XV Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about XV Beacon

Property: XV Beacon
Address: 15 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02108-2902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Business Hotel in Boston
#17 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — XV Beacon 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XV Beacon Hotel reigns over Boston's historic Beacon Hill neighborhood in its turn-of-the-century landmark Beaux Arts building. The modern furnishings counterbalanced by a grand staircase of marble, mahogany paneling and original caged-glass elevator reflect how past lives transform into the present. The 63-room luxury boutique hotel, recognized for peerless personal service, sophisticated interiors and luxurious custom amenities, distinguishes itself with its sense of heritage, peacefulness of home and utmost discretion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your XV Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xv Beacon Boston
Xv Beacon Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing