We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in location, rooms, and overall experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Ranked #1 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Marana, Arizona
Level Contributor
214 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Excellence in location, rooms, and overall experience”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The Custom House, quite simply, is a very special place.

My wife and I have visited regularly now for over a decade. Thanksgiving week was our third visit this year.

The rooms are spacious and quite comfortable. There's a master bedroom, a bathroom, and a combination livingroom/dining room with limited kitchen facilities (including a microwave, a small refrigerator, a toaster, etc. along with glasses, cups, dishes, utensils, etc.). The couch in the livingroom turns into sleeping accommodations for two, so the unit sleeps four.

The location really can't be beat. It's easy to get to and from via I-93 (the Big Dig) and access to the "T" is just steps away. It's even just a couple of stops away from Logan International on the T. The Custom House is adjacent to the Fanueil Hall/Qunicy Market area and close to the Haymarket Square area (a wonderful outdoor market that's open on Fridays and Saturdays) as well as being close to the North End and its restaurants and bakeries.

The views from the various rooms are exceptional as are the views from the observation deck at the top of the building.

All that being said, what makes the Custom House really special is its staff. They are marvelous--always welcoming and friendly and helpful. And there are many thoughtful and compelling amenities as well--things they don't have to do, but do to make the Custom House experience special. Many hotels make USA TODAY available. The Custom House delivers it to each door. On Sundays they make the Boston Globe available (while supplies last) at the front desk. They bake cookies at the front desk late each afternoon (and they're good!). During the late fall and winter, hot cider is available in the lobby--a very nice touch. Complimentary coffee is available in the Counting Room each morning, plus there's a slate of excellent entertainers available many nights, also in the Counting Room. The concierge staff is excellent, providing the sorts of services one would expect (but all too often doesn't get), but also offering orientations to the Boston area and beyond as well as tours of the facility itself.

Another example of a nice touch. Just before Thanksgiving, a truly beautiful Christmas tree was placed in the center of the round lobby. It's just spectacular--perfect for the location, very tastefully done.

It's hard to beat the quality of the experience the Custom House offers.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fredonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    187
    15
    14
    12
See reviews for
328
266
18
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

My husband and I spent two nights in the Marriott Custom House this past week and loved the hotel. It was spacious with a fantastic view from the all our rooms and a breathtaking view from the observation deck. We had a sitting area, large bathroom, bedroom plus a set up with small sink, microwave, refrigerator and dishes, glasses, etc for four. The room was perfect.

The service was spectacular. Everyone was friendly and addressed us each and everytime they saw us. There is a continental breakfast with cereal, waffles, bagles, danish, juices and coffee. You only pay for what you eat and it is so reasonably prices. The coffee and tea are free.

I highly recommend this hotel which is near Fanuel Hall and the North End.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaLovesBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lady Lake, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

This is a great hotel for seeing Boston. The hotel is art of the Marriott vacation properties and as such a very comfortable place to stay. The staff is friendly, the room spotless and the views great. It is located in the historic Custom House across the street from Faneuil Hall. Five blocks to the entrance to the North End with great Italian restaurants, our favorite is Lucia's on Hanover Street. Across from the entrance to the hotel is the Aquarium stop on the MBTA so access to all of Boston is just steps away. My wife and I are already planning our return to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csmith707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse , NY
Level Contributor
302 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed at the Custom House on November 2nd and 3rd. We are Marriott owners and the villa is smaller than other Vacation Club properties but we expected that and the history and location more than made up for the size. We loved the way Marriott utilized , enhanced and showcased the historical aspects of the Custom House. The observation deck on the 26th floor is addictive and I spent some amazing moments up there. If you can motivate yourself, I'd highly recommend getting up early enough to see the sunrise. You'll also get a beautiful perspective of planes taking off or landing at Logan. The staff was spectacular with a very helpful concierge. We enjoyed entertainment in the owners lounge one night . It was very easy to park our car and then just walk or use public transportation to experience the city. The location is marvelous and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This is a very nice hotel. We stayed in the guest room villa and it looked just like their website. I accomodated 5 adults very comfortably (one adult was on a high-end rollway bed, two adults on the sofa sleeper, and two adults in the bedroom). The staff was very polite and helpful.
We arrived very late (about midnight) and the main entrance door was locked. It was a little tricky to find the side "door", but we appreciated the "safety". The locatiion of this hotel is great because you can walk or take public transportation (no rental car was needed). In the evenings, you could walk to a local pub.
A family member ran the Boston Marathon and we were unable to get a hotel at the finish line, but this hotel ended up working great!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bekurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stayed with family- myself, husband and 1 child. The suite layout was just perfect. Bedroom was separated from living area which had a pull out sofabed. Bath had an entrance from the living area and 1 from the bed room. Kitchenette was very handy to have, small fridge, microwave, coffee pot, and all the dishes we needed. We were able to do our own breakfasts in room which was easy and convenient. There is a 24 hr convenience store right outside the hotel that had ceral milk bread etc. Fanueil hall market just steps away for Starbucks etc from Breakfast.

Bath and toiletries were serviceable but not special- toiletries low end, I visited a local pharmacy to get my own. Bath/shower combo toilet and sink with enough counter space to make do. Bed linens were fine and very comfy, more than enough closet space, good tv in each room, decor quite pleasant, blinds blocked the light quite nicely. High ceilings made the room be seem very airy.

We used the gym (adequate- we were the only people there each time), laundry facility, pool at the Marriott Long wharf (ask at the front desk for a key, short walk to the Long Wharf).

Housekeeping was good, my requests for extra blankets and towels met with no problem. A/c was great, kept it nice and cool in the room and we were having a warm spell in September. Downside, the one thermostat controlled both rooms.

I really liked to location, close to fanueil hall, t stop just outside door, North end and downtown crossing shopping in walking distance.

Ok, now for the one downside. The noise on week end nights. The place is surrounded by bars which are NOISY until the police chase everybody home at 2 am. We were on floor 4 or 5, so maybe its better up higher. Thur, Fri, and Sat nights we were kept up from 12 until 2 am. Sunday night was quiet enough. It was a big concern for us, maybe its OK if you are less sensitivive to noise, we don't live in a noisy part of a city so are used to total quiet at night.

Overall, the spacious suite for excellent for our family and the price was decent. Loved to proximity to everything. Noise was a real concern.

We stayed as hotels guests, not on timeshare. I was told that in the future they may only be renting to timeshare owners, not as a general hotel.

Oh, by the way take a duck tour while in Boston, it was amazing !

Room Tip: Perhaps a high floor would have less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aparticulartguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This hotel is very nice in a great location very close to the aquarium and Faneuil Hall and it's shops. My only complaint was the noise at night with workers below on the street.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabfalco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,850 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4,630 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
2,206 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
7,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Address: 3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109-2609
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Boston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#27 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Custom House is located in the heart of historic downtown Boston. Our Vacation Club Resort offers 84 beautiful villas, all with king sized beds with sofa beds. The resort offers modern day amenities, such as Free Wi-Fi internet access, cocktail lounge with live entertainment on select nights, Boston's only Kid's Zone, and much more in one of Boston's most historic and recognizable buildings. Book your stay today! **Please Note: Marriott's Custom House is a Timeshare Facility** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Custom House Hotel Boston
Marriotts Custom Hotel
Marriotts Custom Resort
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing