We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic building on perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We just got back from Boston and had a nice stay at Marriott Custom House. The building is beautiful and is quite a landmark. You can spot it from Boston Harbor. The hotel is conveniently located. From Logan airport, taking the blue line and get off at Aquarium station which is only 2 stations away from the airport and the hotel is right there. Everything is just steps away. You can walk to Quincy market and Faneuil hall. We got there on Friday so we had a chance to shop for produces at Haymarket which opened only Friday and Saturday and got us some nice and cheap strawberries. The hotel is only a short walk to North End which you can also find nice Italian restaurants in that neighborhood. The staffs at the hotel were all very nice and helpful. We also got a tour of the hotel and learned about the building which was very nice. There were some activities at the hotel every day and they were complimentary. We went to complimentary wine and cheese on Friday night which we enjoyed it very much. Our suite was quite spacious with separate living room and bedroom. We got a nice view of both the city and the harbor. We also went to the observation deck both in the morning and at night which is a must do if you get a chance to stay at this hotel. If I come back to Boson, I will definitely stay at Custom house.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvlgal1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

455 - 461 of 854 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

It's in a tourist friendly part of the city with an amazing observation deck at the top. The clock tower exterior makes it easy to spot as you're wandering the city. The interior has so many beautiful historical aspects. The views from the observation deck are amazing, but there's a lot of interesting stuff to look at on the inside too. The rooms are very nice, clean. Our suite had a nice kitchen/dining area, living area, bedroom, bathroom. The gym was small but modern. We had a nice view of the water from our room. It was a really great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank interviewtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Immerse yourself in the birth town of American Independence and relive Revolutionary and Civil War history by staying in the historical Custom House. The grand-cross shaped ceiling Rotunda dominates the inside of this building, supported by beautiful marble staircases, tall ceiling lounge (aka the Counting Room), and two-story guest suites. If you stay there as a guest, you also have access to the one and only observation deck in downtown Boston from 7am - 11pm. You can also visit the deck as part of a fee paying tour. The night that I stayed there they also had a decedent of a Civil War colonel dressed in period cloth to intertwine his ancestor's personal life story in the context of the larger history.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gl0baltr0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

For a real suite with upscale charm (i.e. separate doors between bedroom and living room), in downtown Boston, this is a relative value. I get up at 5 or 6 am and my wife sleeps like a baby until 8 or 9 so I needed a special spot with some space (i.e. not just another suite hotel), and this place delivered.

Pros:
VERY comfy bed.
Nice little kitchen
Free access to gym, nice size.
Game room with free laundry
Incredible location - stay on the side facing the water - it was actually very quiet on the 7th floor. You can walk to Boston bay in a few minutes.
Great service.
Interesting historical building.

Minor Cons:
Ice is on the 24th floor
Breakfast is sub-par and not complimentary (makes no sense at these prices).
Bathroom was a little small.
Scuffs and a robe would be expected a these prices as well.


All in all a great spot.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Johnny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Although Marriott now has their own time share club which means this property shows up less often than it used to we have managed to stay here about a half dozen times at the least. WE have even stayed there during the big dig. I will be there again later this year. I expect that as always the unit will be spotless, the service impeccable and the concierge Karen to greet me by name!!! The 4:00 pm cookies straight out of the oven also are great. We have used this as a home base for college visits, regular Boston time, vacations for just me when no one else can join me and even for the whole crew. We have even rented here when the kids went to a NiN concert. They got there and were put in the only unit that has a loft bedroom open to the living room and were very upset since there was one couple and two girls. They called me and I called the front desk and in moments they were switched to a unit that gave both groups the right amount of privacy. Timeshare checkins are on Friday so Hay Market is open for fresh fruit and cheese and the store 24 is right there. Week ends are quiet on State Street but during the week there are lovely reasonably priced grab and go restaurants to stock your fridge or there is always Quincy Market place or the North End. So much is in walking distance and the views are to die for. I have no complaints and 99% of the units are spacious and lovely.

Room Tip: Although there is no pool here guest can go across to Long Wharf and use their pool. Also ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCKMBELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

It is Boston's best-kept secret! The staff is great... special mention to Colin and his partner (sorry ma'am, we did not get your name) for warmly welcoming us as we checked-in to celebrate our 11th year wedding anniversary Friday, Sept. 6, 2013! They made us feel so special and treated us like we've been going there for years! The hotel itself is great, it is full of history and the ambiance was warm and friendly... and words can't describe how we felt when they put us up at one of the Eagle Suites (21st floor) complete with a bottle of red wine! The view was spectacular and the suite was complete with all the amenities of a house! We live at the Salem Willows and love our ocean view so when we stepped out of that balcony-- we were in awe of how magnificent it was out there to the point of being speechless!!! We have been in many hotels around the world (Paris, London, Venice, Philippines, Nice, Hungary to name a few) and this is one of the best, if not the best experience we had hotel-wise. The location is ideal for us as it was close to the North End, Faneuil Hall, N.E. Aquarium, etc. Over-all it was an A+++ experience. From now on this will be our hotel of choice in Boston. Thank you for the fabulous experience!!! I highly recommend this to anyone who's looking for a great hotel in the area.

Room Tip: When you book, ask for the higher floors-- because of the hotel's location (which we love!) othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaribelS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Custom House, although a time share can be rented by the night as a traditional hotel. The location of The Custom House is perfect for getting anywhere in the city. It is within walking distance of Fanueil Hall, The North End, The Aquarium and waterfront, and Beacon Hill. If you like to walk, you can pretty much walk all of Boston, but if not, the T is close by, and is an easy way to get around the city.
The Custom House is loaded with character and charm. It is a historic building (a custom house) that has been repurposed, and done so in a stellar way. Be sure to visit the public spaces throughout the hotel Take the elevator up to see the view from behind the clock. It is a true panorama of the city. The" rooms" in this hotel are suites in a variety of layouts and sizes. It is just perfect to relax after a long day shopping, sightseeing, walking the Freedom Trail, or catching a game at Fenway or the Garden. There is a small kitchen that is perfect for wine and cheese, or breakfast if you are so inclined. It is a great spot for adults.....not sure about kids.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmmcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willie N, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of our historic Custom House. We agree that our location makes it convenient to so many popular attractions and walking is certainly the best way to get to all of them. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations while also appreciating the charm and character of this building which played such an important role in the history of our city. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back on your future visits to Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#5 of 85 in Boston
4,988 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 85 in Boston
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 85 in Boston
3,449 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 85 in Boston
2,429 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston

Address: 3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109-2609
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Boston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#27 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £143 - £415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Custom House is located in the heart of historic downtown Boston. Our Vacation Club Resort offers 84 beautiful villas, all with king sized beds with sofa beds. The resort offers modern day amenities, such as Free Wi-Fi internet access, cocktail lounge with live entertainment on select nights, Boston's only Kid's Zone, and much more in one of Boston's most historic and recognizable buildings. Book your stay today! **Please Note: Marriott's Custom House is a Timeshare Facility** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Custom House Hotel Boston
Marriotts Custom Hotel
Marriotts Custom Resort
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing