We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and fascinating building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Ranked #1 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Okla
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great location and fascinating building”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Most unique Marriott that I have been to. Originally the building was the Custom House in Boston. In 1915, the U.S. government expanded the facility by adding a tower on top. For years, it was the tallest building in Boston. At one point the counting room took in 20% of the U.S. Governments total revenue.

Now the "counting room" is used for the evening lounge by the bar in the evenings. They use it for other events during the day.

Since the facility is also a time share, they have activities scheduled throughout the day.

We attended a tea sampling presentation on the weekend. Matthew presented three different teas for us along with an amazingly detailed history of tea and many methods of making better tea. May sound boring but it really wasn't. It was a little funny how much he seemed to love tea and presenting to us.

Due to the historical nature of the building there are only five rooms on most floors. The top floors hold the workout room (25), game room, ice machine and laundry (24, hated that I had to go up 9 floors to get ice in the evenings), activity room for kids and small theater (20) and observation deck (26). The observation deck allows views from all four sides. The east side faces the ocean and harbor. In the game room you have a large air hockey table and pool table. There is also a Wii console, chess table and the workings of the massive clock that has faces on all four sides of the tower, in the game room.

On the bottom floor, you have the lobby and a direct view up to the central rotunda, which is very high (my guess is four floors) and beautiful.

The hotel does not have a restaurant, but does have an extreme number within a short walk outside. Black Rose Irish pub is closest, but with Quincy Market just behind that building your choices are varied and too many to get to enjoy. One evening we walked to the North End (Italian district) for dinner. If you have time, spend some time there. And there are a multitude of restaurants there as well.

Most rooms are one bedroom suites, with high ceilings. Views from higher floors are wonderful. Living rooms are good sized and include dining room table for four and small kitchen area, which only has a microwave and small refrigerator. Bar sink. Dishes and glasses are included, along with full-sized coffee pot, blender and toaster.

Bathroom has shower/bath combo. Room is spacious.

Staff was extremely helpful and seemed excited to help with anything.

There is a small convenience store next door.

Parking is expensive. There is no room service.

Hotel is best for those wanting to explore Boston without a car.

Room Tip: High rooms supply great views, and some distance from sounds of the street. Even on the 15th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tlccva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    188
    15
    14
    12
See reviews for
340
271
19
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new england
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The lobby and interior/exterior details of the property are impressive. Our room was spacious for a hotel. Some items showed some wear, like a buckle in the carpet by the bedroom door, but nothing for us to complain about. This will be our new "go to" for Boston. The location is superb.

Our only complaint was the noise level. Even on the 11th floor the sirens woke us up several times during the night. Not the hotels fault as we are in a city but next time I will take them up on the free earplugs offered.

Someone mentioned a hard sell as this was a timeshare location. Not a single staff member approached us, we were actually curious on the details but didn't notice a specific place to ask about it. Maybe next time!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puff007NewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The hotel staff from the valet to the front desk to housekeeping were all wonderful. Everyone was courteous, professional and handled everything with a smile. It's always nice when visiting a new city, you get greeted warmly like that. This is one of the more affordable hotel options in the downtown area of Boston - albeit there is no room service or restaurant on location. But, given the great location it wasn't too much of an issue, there is no shortage of restaurants within walking distance from the hotel and there is a 24/7 7-11 type of place across the way. They do offer a very basic continental breakfast(billed separately) which includes coffee, bagels, cereal, waffles and eggs made to order. It was nothing to write home about, but sufficient. We had it the first day, but opted for a more full breakfast the next.

Everything about the hotel was pretty solid, everything but the drafty windows. The hotel is an older historic building which is why I guess some of the windows are drafty. One of the windows in our living room had about a 1/4" gap that allowed the brisk Boston wind to howl in and left the living room pretty chilly. I brought this up to the front desk the next morning and they quickly installed a border around the window to block the gap. It seemed to work, but as I found out that evening...it wasn't enough. I noticed one of the windows in the bedroom had plexiglass installed over it - I'm guessing because of the draftiness of the windows...I think my living room window needed that too.

However, all in all, it was a great time at the Custom House and when I come back into Boston at the end of the year for a friend's wedding I might look to book here again. But I'd probably first ask to make sure not to put me in a room with a drafty window.

Room Tip: Everyone in my family are deep sleepers so it didn't bother us, but I can see how a low floor li...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

First and foremost our thanks to Karen at the Concierge Desk She is the Ultimate Guide around Boston. She provided the utmost in personal and Professional Service. She is an asset to the Marriott Corporation. The Suite was wonderful (room 1602) had a great view. Very clean and comfortable.They serve a continental breakfast at an addition cost . The Black Rose across the street served a nice breakfast.Thanks again Karen and front desk staff for making my Birthday extra special. Italian Pasta Bowl:)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank post44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here several times in the past and enjoyed it. Still historic and central but our latest room on a low floor reeked of bug spray at check in. No bugs in evidence, however. Bathroom grout a little grungy. Avoid level 2 if you can. Still nice views from the top and friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nottingkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Custom House. While we are happy you enjoyed your time with us, we apologize for the unpleasant smell in your villa. Your feedback is appreciated and will be shared with our housekeeping management team. Thank you again for your Tripadvisor review and we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPCapeCod
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here at the end of January when in Boston for a concert. Easy walk to TD Garden. Very conveniently located. Our room on the 22nd floor was amazing with incredible views. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I chose a Marriott Vacation Club property for business travel for a couple of reasons. First, the price was right -- who goes to Boston on vacation in February? Next, the location was ideal -- near downtown and Faneuil Hall, so I had lots of choices for food and my business meetings weren't too far away. Third, the space. Vacation Club properties (usually) have eat-in facilities and dining tables -- good places to have small business meetings without having to pay for a room.

Generally, I was pleased with the result. My business meetings went well and we enjoyed having a private space where we could have confidential conversations with our own bathroom and kitchen.

The room was relatively spacious compared to a standard hotel room -- dining/kitchen/living room in one area with a separate bedroom.

No real work space -- you have to use the glass dining room table, which is suboptimal for use with a mouse (use a piece of white paper) -- but very workable otherwise. Internet access was speedy enough for use and worked well with VPN.

I found the bed to be OK, but not great. I think the mattress needs changing as there seemed to be divots on both sides. Room was a little chilly, too, but it's an old, leaky building and hard to take away too many points for that.

All in all, a pretty good experience. And good to see it first hand. Next time, I'll bring my family up.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabbit43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your positive review of Marriott’s Custom House! Our team appreciates your detailed feedback and are happy you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to your next visit with us with your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
1,891 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Address: 3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109-2609
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Boston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#27 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Custom House is located in the heart of historic downtown Boston. Our Vacation Club Resort offers 84 beautiful villas, all with king sized beds with sofa beds. The resort offers modern day amenities, such as Free Wi-Fi internet access, cocktail lounge with live entertainment on select nights, Boston's only Kid's Zone, and much more in one of Boston's most historic and recognizable buildings. Book your stay today! **Please Note: Marriott's Custom House is a Timeshare Facility** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Custom House Hotel Boston
Marriotts Custom Hotel
Marriotts Custom Resort
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing