We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of Boston Bar None”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed at the Marriott's Custom House most recently August of 2013 for my pre-wedding celebration with friends and family. The staff at the front desk esp Kathleen and Collin went above and beyond to put myself and my party at the top floor with the best view of Boston I have ever seen. Room was spacious, clean, and comfortable for all of us. The Observation deck offered panoramic views and the game room inside of the clock on the 24th floor offered endless games of pool and air hockey for all night fun. The Counting Room Lounge on the 1st floor esp Dave the barkeep did a fantastic job expediting all of our beverage needs. When you stay at the Marriott's Custom House you are staying in a piece of history yet all of the modern day necessities are all available. I will without question be returning for another stay. I also come by during the weeks to grab a quick beverage from The Counting Room Lounge.

Room Tip: Request High Floor Room for the best views possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPMiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your five-star TripAdvisor review! We are happy you enjoyed yourself with your friends and family at Marriott’s Custom House. We also enjoy the photos you shared and invite you to post them on our Facebook page. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Boston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (838)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 838 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our family booked 3 rooms at the Custom House and truly enjoyed our stay. The central lobby looks up to a dome in the ceiling and is very picturesque. The vibe is very old Boston, which we liked. There's a game room, free laundry, a kids play room and a neat observation deck, which we had no trouble accessing at any time.

We had what we needed in our room - coffee maker, microwave and small fridge. We had an amazing view on the 18th floor. The kids loved seeing the city action below and the harbor from the side of our room. The kids also enjoyed the option to take the many, many "old stairs" instead of the elevator, and appreciated having access to a vending machine in the game room for a special treat of their choice when we were just too tired to pop across the street.

The location is awesome - you're right in the center of town, next to Quincy Market and Faneuil Hall. Walk across the street and you're there. Stroll in any direction and you're near Boston Common, the North End - take the T to the Aquarium, or head toward the water.

We enjoyed a comfortable stay and excellent service - the concierge was always busy and was always helpful. The front desk staff went way out of their way to make sure my in laws felt extra special because they had heard they were celebrating a 50th anniversary.

Great spot for families.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FayhooFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your five-star review! We are happy to hear your family had a wonderful experience at Marriott’s Custom House and look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

First, I booked here for 2 nights several months ago - then I received an email confirmation from Marriott stating the hotel was set for refurbishment and the observation deck would be closed and there would be scaffolding on the outside from June through Oct. So I changed to the Marriott Long Wharf a block or two away. When we arrived in Boston, there was no construction going on at Custom House, so first we asked about switching Marriotts for 1 night but were told Custom House was booked. Then we asked about going up to the observation deck. We were told to come back the next day at 2pm or 6pm. We decided 6pm would work best, so we show up and they said the deck was closed for a private event and for us to come back the next day - which was a Friday - we came back at 2pm was told it was closed again for Marriott Vacation members (?). I'm a Platinum member myself - obviously means nothing to Marriott Custom House employees - as I tried asking several different people about going up and the last thing we were told was that we couldn't go without security and everyone was busy. Oh - and we were also told that renovation was moved to next year. The whole thing was very disappointing - I would have liked to stay here and would have if not for Marriott's own warning - and still can't believe someone couldn't have taken 10 minutes to take us up if that's a requirement.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. We apologize for your inconvenience regarding Marriott’s Custom House observation deck and the incorrect information regarding the construction. Our Customer Care team would like to learn more about your experience and we invite you to contact them at customer.care@vacationclub.com or by calling at 1-800-860-9384. Thank you again for your review and for being a part of the Marriott Vacation Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Early June stay with our 5 and 3 year olds and were very impressed with Marriott Custom House. Excellent location - walking distance to Quincy Market and other restaurants nearby. Also next to Aquarium T stop and the NE Aquarium where you can get the famous Duck tour and other adventures. Honestly, all you could want was all right there. The hotel itself was very nice as well and we heard they are doing a complete renovation of the rooms starting soon. (Very clean but some items starting to show wear as most hotels would of course) Observation deck was great as others have said and on the 20th floor they have a great "playroom" with a Thomas the train table and trains, mini basketball hoop, doll house, and various puzzles, books and toys. Although we had amazing weather while there, if you experienced a rainy day (or snow I guess!) this would be a great place for little ones to play. Staff was very nice. Only drawback was no restaurant on site but with everything a few steps away cannot say that was an issue. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ngl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your visiting Marriott’s Custom House! We are happy to hear your family enjoyed the observation deck and playroom on the 20th floor. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I finally went to this amazing observation deck at this hotel. They have a 2 pm and 6pm trip to the deck. Please call ahead to make sure it is open (sometime closed for wind, cold, etc.). Amazing view of the Boston skyline and the rest of the greater Boston area, including Bunker Hill Monument, Zakim Bridge, etc. This is a must see for Bostonians and people who are visiting.

Room Tip: Make sure to take your wide angle lens, atleast10-12mm
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank New O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of Marriott’s Custom House Resort. The Observation deck has an amazing view and we are glad you enjoyed it. We hope next time you are able to stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The Marriott Custom House is my favorite city resort so far. I just left a week ago and I am already calculating how to get back. Boston is eminently walkable and a joy to explore. History, art and architecture surround you. Music and theatre are also prominent.

We arrived late afternoon on Friday, May 30th for check-in. Tip #1- The Aquarium T station-Boston’s subway system- is literally steps away from the resort. It was only a 2 stop ride from the airport. You did have to take a free airport shuttle bus to the subway from the terminal. We purchased 7 day tickets for unlimited use of the Boston public transportation system. Cost is $18, a great deal.
Check-in at the Custom House was fast and easy and pleasant. We were assigned unit 1401 for our Interval exchange.

The elegant room has a nice view of the city. We could see the Haymarket from our living room windows. When we first walk in the kitchenette is on our right. There is a microwave, bar refrigerator, bar sink and a small counter and cabinets. There is also a table for 4 with nice upholstered chairs. Coffeemaker, toaster, blender and dishes are provided. There is no stovetop or true oven, but there are many restaurants with-in walking distance plus Quincy Market with interesting ethnic and seafood choices. The resort offers a la carte breakfast items in the Counting Room lounge every morning and free coffee, tea and hot chocolate until 6 pm daily. There are also fresh cookies in the lobby much of the afternoon and evening. You will not miss the kitchen. We did ask for a larger bowl to microwave our oatmeal and were promptly given 2 microwave bowls. There is a comfortable couch and a coffee table and a comfortable wingback chair between the large windows.

There is a coat closet with an ironing board and iron in the short hallway to the bedroom. The bathroom is a nice size with a tub/shower combination. There is only one sink but there is a large storage cabinet under the sink.

The bedroom is comfortable with a TV cabinet with three large dresser drawers. There are also nightstands on each side of the bed with additional drawers. There is a large closet. A laundry basket is provided for your use. The laundry room provides washers and dryers free of charge for the guests. Laundry detergent is also provided. There are no in-room laundry facilities.

The resort has limited daily maid service. Each day, the maids come in and take out the trash and provide fresh towels.

On Friday evening, there is a wine and cheese reception for all guests. Every other evening except Thursday there was an entertainer in the Counting Room lounge. The entertainment normally starts at 8. We enjoyed all the musicians. We attended every evening except Tuesday.
On Saturday morning, there was an orientation meeting. The concierge talked about many of the attractions and tours available. It was interesting, but a little long. The
Concierge does offer some tours with extra value. Many restaurants offer discounts to Marriott guests as does the aquarium.

Twice during the week, a tour of the building complete with its history is offered. The tour is very interesting. Be sure to visit the 360 degree observation deck. As a guest, you will enjoy full access.

Here are some of the activities we enjoyed while in Boston.

We arrived on Friday afternoon. We walked to the Haymarket and purchased really inexpensive fruits and vegetables. The market is a tent market only open on Friday and Saturday. Then we attended the wine and cheese reception in the Counting Room. After the reception, we walked to the nearby Quincy Market to buy some interesting fast food for dinner. We later took the subway to Copley Place and went to the Shaw grocery to buy breakfast food and snacks.

Saturday morning was the orientation meeting. On Saturday afternoon, we took the trolley around the city. We chose to just ride the whole 2 hour tour without getting off to see the attractions. We used the tour to get oriented to the city. After the trolley tour, we took the ferry across the harbor to the U.S.S. Constitution. The ferry is included with the 7day transportation pass. We really enjoyed touring Old Ironsides and visiting the museum. We walked over to Bunker Hill after the U.S.S. Constitution and then visited an Italian restaurant in the North End.

Sunday morning, we attended the tour of the Custom House. We had tickets to the Boston Red Sox game at Fenway Park in the early afternoon. After the game, we walked down Newberry Street visiting a few shops. We skipped dinner after eating junk at Fenway Park.

The Custom House has a box in their roof for Peregrine Falcons to nest every year. Babies are hatched every spring. Mass Wildlife comes to the site every year to band the chicks when the baby falcons are 3-4 weeks old. Monday morning was the banding day. All guests were invited to come see the falcons and watch the 4 chicks get banded. The Wildlife rangers educated us and posed for pictures with the chicks. It was a unique opportunity. We were so fortunate to be there at this once a year event. On Monday afternoon, we enjoyed the Boston Tea Party Museum and also the 45 minute narrated Boston Harbor cruise. The Tea Party Museum and the Harbor cruise are included with the trolley ticket we purchased through the concierge on Saturday. If you purchase these tickets outside of the resort, you get only one bonus attraction. We also visited the Paul Revere House. There is a ticket available that combines 3 Freedom Trail attractions. The Old State House, The Old Meeting House and the Paul Revere House. However, the Freedom Trail pass is not sold at the Paul Revere house so go to one of the other sites first if you want the combo ticket.

The National Park Service offers many ranger led talks. There are guided history walks on the Freedom Trail and on the Black Heritage Trail. There is also a museum at the African Meeting House with a short tour of the first African American school next door. The tour of the Black Heritage Trail was a highlight of the trip. The NPS rangers in Boston are historians and are great guides. All of these tours are free.

I shopped on Groupon before we arrived in Boston. The only Groupon I purchased was for a Freedom Trail tour. The vendor never returned my phone calls. The address on the coupon was the address of the Boston Commons Visitor Center.
The Visitor Center sells tickets for this vendor but the vendor is unreliable. I never received a return phone call. I came back on Wednesday and the tour operator did not show. Another tour guide from “Lessons on Liberty” took us on his tour at no charge. He is a history professor and his target audience is educated adults. The tour was very good. After the tour, we toured the Meeting House and the Old State House on our own. There is so much history here that I did not learn in the classroom.

After a wonderful dinner at Legal Seafoods, we attended the Boston Pops with Jennifer Holiday. It was a great evening. There are several BosTix locations in the city which sell half price show tickets, one is at Fanueil Hall. You can also shop at BosTix online. Theatre is available as well as musical events.

Thursday was a rainy day. I spent the morning at the nearby and wonderful New England Aquarium. In the afternoon, we toured Trinity Church on our own and then took the amazing free tour of the Boston Public Library. We had a very good dinner at Joe’s American Bar and Grill.

Friday was check out day. We were so sorry to leave. I hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sherry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hi Ross. Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. We greatly appreciate your comments and are thrilled to hear Marriott’s Custom House is your favorite city resort! While we are also sorry to see you leave, we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed for a week in June and absolutely loved. Everyone on the staff from house keeping to the front desk were friendly and helpful to the extreme. The location by Fanuil Hall Marketplace, Long Wharf, and North End is hard to beat. From Logan Airport its the 2nd stop on the subway which is just across the street making getting around very easy. We bought the 7 day pass which gave us access to the subway, buses, and a harbor ferry that goes from the Long Wharf over to the U.S.S. Constitution. The view from the 26th floor observation deck of Boston and the harbor is spectacular. We were fortunate enough to be there for the once a year banding of the Perigrine falcon chicks for the Fish and Wildlife service. The nest for the falcons is located on the top of the building with cameras so you can observe them. If you have a chance to stay here do not pass it up.

Room Tip: Try for a high floor facing the harbor, avoid low floors facing the Black Rose Irish pub (sometimes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BamaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the observation deck as it is one of our most popular amenities. Thank you again for your review and we hope your next visit will be just as spectacular, if not, more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 84 in Boston
4,924 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,349 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston

Address: 3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109-2609
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Boston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#27 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £203 - £489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Custom House is located in the heart of historic downtown Boston. Our Vacation Club Resort offers 84 beautiful villas, all with king sized beds with sofa beds. The resort offers modern day amenities, such as Free Wi-Fi internet access, cocktail lounge with live entertainment on select nights, Boston's only Kid's Zone, and much more in one of Boston's most historic and recognizable buildings. Book your stay today! **Please Note: Marriott's Custom House is a Timeshare Facility** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Custom House Hotel Boston
Marriotts Custom Hotel
Marriotts Custom Resort
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing