We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service in a Boston Landmark”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Ranked #1 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Service in a Boston Landmark”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Concierge and desk staff were knowledgeable, courteous, helpful and warm. Our room had a door between our room and the living room, so our kids could sleep on the fold out couch separately from us. They did not find the couch comfortable, so I thought about rating this very good instead of excellent, but it was such an amazing find. There were recreation activities, and the building is a landmark. Because the building is so cool, Seth MacFarlane was making a movie (Ted 2) and my son and I got to be extra's. Its right down town. I didn't know Boston before I booked the hotel, but I stayed in the right place. Its right downtown, you can walk everywhere. We didn't have a car. It is right by lots of places to eat and a beautiful location.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieZumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    186
    14
    14
    12
See reviews for
324
262
18
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was a fantastic location for us. Right in the center of all of the north side of the city. The room was awesome. We had a 2nd floor, 2 story room. A second set of steps inside the room led to an upper open bedroom. The only problem was that the A/C cant cool the the upper level. The bedroom was 76degrees while the bottom floor was cranking the A/C at 65degrees. We called to complain about the heat when we were trying to sleep. The site engineer came and adjusted the vents to point upwards, but it did little to help the temperature of the room.

The staff is awesome, great activities here too.

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms are 2 stories, but the 2nd floor is, I would stay off of this floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artvandalay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Fantastic to stay in an iconic building. Check out the observation deck and the rotunda. Always easy to find the Clock Tower. Staff were wonderful and location superior for seeing Boston. So close to so many historical locations. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LINY
Level Contributor
370 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

A beautiful remodel of an old building it is elegant in spite of small rooms. No wasted space plenty of storage and a kitchenette with microwave and and mini fridge. It is hard to get reservations but well worth it and we will stay here again in the future. Great views from room and observation deck. Laundry and ice on 24th floor was inconvenient but not many options in a small building.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TORNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
188 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My wife and I stayed overnight at the Marriott's Custom House on August 10. I normally stay at a Marriott, because I am a Marriott Rewards member. This is the first time I've stayed at this hotel, and it won't be the last. My wife and arrived around 1:30 PM, and there was a room already available. Our checkin went very smoothly. Our room was 503, which faced the Boston Harbor. All the rooms in this hotel are villas, and there are only 4 or 5 per floor. Because of this, the noise level is very quiet. The villas are designed for a long term stay, and they have high ceilings, are very spacious, and clean. The living area is separated from the bedroom area by a partition and door. Even the bathroom is very spacious. The location of this hotel is ideal, because it is within easy walking distance to most of Boston's key attractions. There is also a T stop (Blue Line) that is almost adjacent to the hotel. In addition, I am a digital photo enthusiast, so the hotel's observation deck is ideal for picture taking. I was able to get numerous night time photos of the Boston skyline with a full moon in the background. This hotel does not have a restaurant, but a continental breakfast is served for a nominal fee. In summary, my wife and I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Boston.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel is ideally located within walking distance to just about anything you might want to do in downtown Boston. The hotel itself is very cool - an old clocktower! It is also a distinct landmark when walking around in town, so you always know where the hotel is. There is an amazing observation deck which gives you a full 360 degree view of Boston day or night. The rooms are large and clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The kitchenette with fridge and microwave was also very handy.
All in all a great hotel. However, there are 2 things stopping me from giving this hotel 5 stars. The first one is that I booked the hotel over 7 months before we stayed there and made a request for a higher floor. While I realize this was just a request and requests can't always be honoured, I would have expected with how far ahead I booked, we might have been given a room slightly higher up than the second floor overlooking the noisy Irish pub. Thankfully the windows are very well insulated so we weren't too disturbed.
The second thing is the street people hanging around right out front of the hotel. There is a convenience store right across the street from the hotel (which is very handy) but I think this is what attracts the street people. When we were coming back to the hotel by cab one morning (10AM), we had to pause getting out of the cab as there was a small scuffle between two drunks right out front of the hotel doorway. Instead of the two valets asking the two to move along, they just stood there and let them continue. I really feel for the street people, but they were very aggressive in their panhandling leaving me feel unsafe going in and out of that part of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here as a family for four nights. We loved this hotel. It was clean, comfortable, with a great location. We stayed in a one bedroom suite which was perfect for a family of four. My husband and I stayed in the bedroom with a super comfortable king size bed. Our children slept in the living area. My son on the pull out couch and my daughter on a roll away brought to our room. The room also had a little kitchenette with fridge so we ate breakfast every day in our room with groceries bought from a nearby store. This was our first trip to Boston and loved how the hotel was a minute walk from Quincy Market and Faneuil Hall, and a two minute walk to the harbour and Aquarium. Other local sites and great restaurants were all within easy walking distance. The hotel also had a great view of the city from their observation deck and a lot of activities ( nightly entertainment, movies, game room)on site for guests which I found very surprising for a city hotel. I took one star off as the hotel is pricey as is their parking, but Boston is a pricey city. Also some of the staff were not overly friendly, but others were super friendly. So it was hit and miss. But all in all a wonderful hotel. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hqngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,566 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,168 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Address: 3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109-2609
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Boston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#27 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Custom House is located in the heart of historic downtown Boston. Our Vacation Club Resort offers 84 beautiful villas, all with king sized beds with sofa beds. The resort offers modern day amenities, such as Free Wi-Fi internet access, cocktail lounge with live entertainment on select nights, Boston's only Kid's Zone, and much more in one of Boston's most historic and recognizable buildings. Book your stay today! **Please Note: Marriott's Custom House is a Timeshare Facility** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Custom House Hotel Boston
Marriotts Custom Hotel
Marriotts Custom Resort
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing