We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend the Custom House/Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Ranked #1 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Highly recommend the Custom House/Boston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2008

We stayed at the Custom House for 6 nights and 7 days during our honeymoon in Boston. This hotel is beautiful and a must for history buffs. The location puts you literally across the street from the Blue Line train, 2 blocks from the Wharf (where you can pick up water taxi's) and the Aquarium and within walking distance of great attractions like Boston Common, Fanueil Hall, and a short water taxi to Old Ironsides.

We were on the 19th floor, you could hear street noise (this is a very old building) but it was no worse than staying downtown in any major city. The view was AMAZING and you have access to the clock tower until about 11pm for an outside viewing of Boston that shouldn't be missed.

Laundry facilities were available (washers/dryers for about 75 cents), game room for kids included video games and a pool table, staff was VERY helpful and polite. The location was near many many restaraunts and walking distance to convience stores for anything you forgot.

Bed was comfortable and there was a TV in the bedroom and the living room. Decoration was gorgeous and the main room contained a sofa and a small table for eating. Also had a full set up of dishes, small refrigerator, coffee maker, a sink, and cabinets in the kitchenette.

Make sure to see the history of the building and get the schedule of events from the front desk - every day the hotel hosts some sort of event from historic talks to tours of the building (which used to serve as the counting house for the US).
We took the train everywhere or walked and never ran out of great things to do.

Highly recommend that you get a Go Boston card, great deals for a cheap price if you have the time to do a few attractions a day. We were able to go whale watching, to the Aquarium/Imax, on a Duck Tour, toured Fenway Park, and took the trolley around town.

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Disliked — internet access was not free if you didn't have your own computer, had to go to the Marriott Wharf House 2 blocks away for the business center
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank StartinDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    184
    14
    14
    12
See reviews for
319
255
18
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2008

This hotel exceeded expectations. I don't think you could get a better location - within steps of the freedom trail, the aquarium, quincy market, etc. We changed our plans in order to arrive on the weekend and I think this was a good move since the roads are small & narrow and it's easy to get lost. We parked in the nearby 79 State Street parking garage which was a good move and also very close to the hotel. We ended up on a high level and there were very few suites on the floor which meant it felt very private & quiet. The suite was large & bright & clean with lots of room for 3 adults & 2 small children. The only small complaints were the difficulty in sometimes getting an elevator (and the fact you have to use your hotel room key to get it to work - took some getting used to) & I wish there was a pool even though you're allowed to use the pool at the nearby Marriott. Views were amazing (see attached)...

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no pool & small elevator
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilac7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fresno, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2008

The custom house is a very interesting place to stay. What can I say ....location is everything. 50 paces to the subway. One block to the Quincy market and 1/4 mile to the best dining in the north end to experience. The concierge Karen Conners is the best at providing information to go on the many site seeing ventures. Dont miss the unofficial tour at Harvard and the tour at Fenway park. The hotel is renovated and you would not know it was over one hundred years old. The beds were harder than I preferred but very large.

I only went to the breakfast room once and the waffle batter was not good...I could not eat the waffle. I suspect the staff changed the batter mix that is the usual at a Residence INN. The front desk staff was adequate but not up to par with the vacation club's I have visited in other locations. The problem was with the rental car pick up an the valet staff. They seemed very aloof.

Consider calling the concierge before you go to get the lowdown. Don't buy a Boston Go card...ripoff. Learn the subway system. Take it from the airport to the Aquariem station it is fantastic. Get a week pass for 15.00 dollars it is worth every penny.

  • Liked — location.
  • Disliked — driving a car in the area was awfull.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingair17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
191 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2008

Part of a 2-week family holiday in the US.
Stayed for 2 nights in early August and booked direct with hotel.
First night: although we specifically asked for a high-floor, we ended up on the second floor, bar side. This is because, of course, this is not really a hotel but a time-share with occasional availability of rooms and the part-owners want the best rooms. Nothing wrong with that, but the room was not good. Spartan, worn down (reminded me of Eastern European hotels in the 80s) and VERY noisy given pubs across the street. 2*. Fortunately staff at reception managed to move us to the 19th floor the second night: what a difference. Fantastic room, great furnishings, spectacular views.... 4*.
In the end we were grateful for the swap and appreciate they were under no obligation to move us but the difference was spectacular and for $400 a night the room on the 2nd floor was a joke.
Great top floor 'games' room behind the clock in this famous Boston landmark though. Breakfast was mediocre and a bit weird as room was too small, historic as it was.
Overall, I would not stay here again as there is no guarantee of a nice vs rubbish room and overall a mixed experience.
Next, off Cape Ann but next hotel was Comfort Inn in Concord.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — randomness of room quality
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gastronauta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
407 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2008

Husband, I and 14 year old daughter stayed here for 5 nights 17th-21st July. First time in Boston and chose this hotel because of reviews written here.

We were not disappointed. We had a room on the 6th floor, with a kingsize bed and double sofa bed in the lounge area.

The hotel is in an ideal position, a few minutes walk from Faneuil Hall with its wide selection of takeaways and restaurants, (anyone who knows Covent Garden in London - it's just like that) and also only a short walk to the wharf for whale watching and ferries.

The housekeeping was very good with shampoos etc replaced every day, and internet charges of $10 a day weren't too bad (though this was the only hotel on our trip that charged for this service).

As we were travelling around it was useful to have the laundry facilities on the top floor with the games room.

Staff were pleasant and helpful, and there was always iced water in the reception area, and cookies in the afternoon.

  • Liked — Near to restaurants and the wharf
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llamacalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2008

We stayed in the Custom House for three nights. We are 2 adults and 2 children. I asked for a high floor and we got it - right under the clock face. While the windows were small compared to the lower floors- there were only 2 suites on our floor as the floor plate is smaller at this level. The views stretched from a partial harbour view, North End/Charlestown, Cambridge, partial dowtown, government centre-so the views were good.

Overall the suite was small in size (but this is dictated by the floor plate and has to be expected given that this is a clock tower). When the sofa bed was pulled out there was little room to move about, mainly due to too many occasional tables in the living/dining/kitchen area. I had originally requested a rollaway bed (since the girls don't like sharing) but once I saw the size of the room I had to cancel it - it just wouldn't have fitted in.

Our room had a king size bed - which left little room for anything else, as this room was small as well. I am generally very fussy about matresses and I can say this one was fine - very firm.

The bathroom was off a lobby between both rooms. With four people travelling there was no space for all our bathroom stuff. A shelf over the wash basin would have been good for all that stuff. The extract did not work in the bathroom so one got a foggy mirror.

We are very concious about the background noise of air conditioning at night. It was quite noisy and kept switching on/off throughout the night. Another issue was the supply grilles were directly over the sofa bed - so one daughter was cold and we had to request extra blankets for the sofa bed.

The observation deck was very interesting as it is external and runs around all sides of the building. Also interesting was the rotunda lobby (with domed ceiling) and upper level (which was part of the original Custom House). The lower floors were all part of the original Custom House and the tower section was an addition about a century ago.

There is a laundry in part of the games room which would be very useful for those staying for a longer period or those travelling with small kids.

The kitchen was stocked with washing liquid, laundry powder and coffee. There was no stove - just a microwave and a undercounter fridge.

As others have mentioned the location is very handy for transportation (three lines are close by), food and shopping. We stayed over a weekend so many of the breakfast places were closed since they mainly serve the downtown office community. However there is a Starbucks just up the street on State.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, expecially the guys who take care of valet/bags/doors.

I choose this hotel because it was a hotel in an unusual architectural structure (not just an historic hotel- which can mean outdated facilities) and I wasn't disappointed. Expect an adapted reuse of the spaces and you won't be dissapointed.

  • Liked — a hotel with a difference
  • Disliked — the noisy air conditioning
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grainnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2008

retro fit hotel into old customs house in boston, mass, usa. very neat. right next door to quincy market, irish pubs, aquarium, and T- stop. great front desk staff, ice water in the lobby, cookies at 4 pm. great restaurants nearby- legal seafood, wagamama, etc.

stately historic hotel. i'd stay again. we stayed in a suite ( family) and it had all kitchen amenities.

  • Liked — historic site, proximity to amenities shopping and food
  • Disliked — noisy bongo players in the market at night, front desk called police for us. quiet in 5 min.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymousca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,510 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,051 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Address: 3 McKinley Square, Boston, MA 02109-2609
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Boston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#27 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's Custom House is located in the heart of historic downtown Boston. Our Vacation Club Resort offers 84 beautiful villas, all with king sized beds with sofa beds. The resort offers modern day amenities, such as Free Wi-Fi internet access, cocktail lounge with live entertainment on select nights, Boston's only Kid's Zone, and much more in one of Boston's most historic and recognizable buildings. Book your stay today! **Please Note: Marriott's Custom House is a Timeshare Facility** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Custom House Hotel Boston
Marriotts Custom Hotel
Marriotts Custom Resort
Marriott Boston
Boston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing