We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly accommodating”
Review of The Midtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Midtown Hotel
Ranked #63 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredibly accommodating”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

A friend of mine picked this hotel because of the affordable price (less than a week in advance), and when we pulled up, I admit we were skeptical because it looks so outdated. However, I had the misfortune of having my car break down right as I pulled into the underground parking garage and the manager (Mark) and staff, including maintenance, could not have been more accommodating. They were completely empathic for my situation, immediately called their maintenance guy to bring out jumper cables (which didn't work because my car was facing a wall and did not have a space across from it), but then Mark told me that whatever I needed, they would help me with. Wifi is not free (nor is parking), but Mark looked up places with open auto-body shops and allowed me to use the front desk phone to make phone calls. He compensated me for parking (as my car didn't work and it was to be towed). When my car was moved to the front of the building before being towed, Mark had the doorman watch my car to make sure there was no issue in parking on the street in the no parking zone. The staff helped to make a draining and time-consuming process more manageable, which I really appreciated.

Story aside, location is great- right near the Symphony T Stop, Prudential Center, Copley Square, and a 10 minute walk to Newbury Street. Great (front) view of the First Church of the Christ Scientist.

The beds were comfortable, room was sufficiently sized (room with 2 double beds). Bathroom was tiny and had a wooden slide door which directly connected to the sink and mirror, which was separated from the room by clouded glass. There was a dresser, closet with a safe and plenty of space, desk and chair, small table with 2 chairs, nightstand between the beds. Vending machines in hallways (which also look a bit out of date, as does the lobby).

Overall, it's a great location, not costly (compared to other hotels in the area), and the staff is really willing to go the extra mile for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RSG24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    1,548
    811
    252
    111
See reviews for
1,113
774
266
660
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ibaraki, Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I was looking for a hotel in the city of Boson that are located close to some metro station with cheap price. I fortunately found a travel agency offered discount rate of this hotel , that seemed to be reasonable in city of Boston, during my stay. Then I took it. (1) Location is pretty good for walking around city of Boston. (2)There is supermarket with 8 minutes walking distance. (3) Refrigerator was not equipped in room, WiFi were not free.(4) Hottest water in bath room should be more hot.(5)TV sound came from next to my room made me a bit frustrated. So, I review this hotel to deserve 3-3.5 starts, however I give 4 stars for discounted rate which was able to let me to stay city of Boston.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Takibist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel should have been refurbished at least twice in the last 30 years. Shabby, but clean with beds lumpier than school custard. Creepy stalker staff, that stared at my wife and no restaurant facilities. On the upside, great central location.

Room Tip: Not facing the Main Street or the car park at rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marshmellow2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boston hotels

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

You better chose this hotel if you really want to be in walking distance from central spots, e.g. the Hynes Convention center but have low expectations on comfort.

The rates are high, WiFi costs extra 10$ per 24 hrs, and the room equipment is very low, even no fridge. Beds and pillows are good though. The isolation of the windows and walls is such that you need to have the air condition on over very cold nights with all impacts regarding noise.

Room Tip: ask for getting a room that is not pointed to the street side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lonesomerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibbstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I booked this hotel last week last minute for the night of April 19th. It got cheaper as the week went on so I ending up paying $223.00 with the AARP discount. I was so scared of all the negative reviews. And everyone posted on here said said to stay in the back of the hotel...Well I wanted a front view and got it and it was absolutely gorgeous...Why would you want to look out a parking lot when you can view the city...I didnt hear any noise and even had the windown open the entire time.....The bedding was updated - not like the pictures on their website - they probably should update those pictures...The walls were a little thin and you could hear people but that really didnt bother me...For the price, it was perfect...I have stayed at the fancy hotel up a few blocks away which is triple the price now and you really dont get anything more. I have to come back in September and will probably book at the MidTown....The only negative thing was that my credit card charge today was $50.00 more than what I had signed for - well I called and they charged me for incidentals that I did not use - she said it was their policy but no one informed me that I was get this charge but it will be credited back to my card within a few days because I did not use any of the incidetals. (They should tell you this at check-in).... Other than that it was really nice...Very convenient to everything too. I have shared two pictures of our view.

Room Tip: The front rooms have a beautiful view and are not noisy at all and I even had the window open the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbCuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

If you are looking for a state of the art modern hotel in downtown Boston, this is not for you. It is dated and our room was small, as was the bathroom. What this hotel is, is perfect for someone who is visiting Boston for a couple nights and is not planning on spending time in the hotel except to sleep. The rooms are clean and functional. There are basic amenities such as a hair dryer and a coffee maker. We had two double beds which were not uncomfortable. The staff is friendly and willing to do whatever they can to help. Parking is available onsite for $25 per day. We parked the car upon arrival and it stayed in the garage for the whole trip. Many places are within walking distance and everything else is a subway ride away. The cost is inexpensive considering the location. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a room that doesn't overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkmcleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My son and I stayed here while visiting Northeastern. Room (2 doubles) was very comfortable-not cramped at all. Walking distance to Northeastern, Copley Square, Back Bay Station and the Pru. Staff was exceptionally nice, from Carole, to Gil to Ketsy... they were all extremely helpful, professional and courteous. My son will be attending NU so we will be staying here quite frequently over the next few years!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddieras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#46 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midtown Hotel

Property: The Midtown Hotel
Address: 220 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115-4703
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Boston
#59 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Midtown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Boston, The Midtown Hotel blends comfort and convenience with affordability. This moderately priced hotel, nestled in the heart of Boston’s Back Bay. Just steps away from The Prudential Center, Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center this downtown hotel is near three subway stops on both the green and orange lines. Nearby Fenway Park, The Museum of Fine Arts, Symphony Hall, and the elegant restaurants and boutique shops of Newbury Street make Boston an exciting city to visit and The Midtown Hotel the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Hotel Boston
Midtown Boston
Midtown Motel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing