We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is what it is” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Midtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Midtown Hotel
Ranked #66 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It is what it is”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

If you're looking for a fancy place to put your feet up, this is NOT it. We were in our hotel room only to sleep, and found it sufficient for our needs. You will absolutely not find another hotel near here for this price, the location is outstanding. I could not believe how close it was to everything. The hotel is very dated. It is not "pretty" in any way, but the price is right and it's only $25 per night to park (the other place I considered booking was 45/night parking) ... I also liked that the sink/mirror were outside the washroom, as it sped up our getting-ready time in the morning. Staff were friendly and courteous. would definitely stay here again should I ever return to Boston. My only qualm was some idiot was blaring music ALL night our second night there. I like Blondie, but I don't need to hear the Tide Is High at full blast at 4 a.m.!

Room Tip: Some folks are saying facing the street was noisy. The street noise doesn't bother me (I am from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowflakeFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    1,478
    761
    240
    107
See reviews for
1,055
751
258
609
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Having stayed in Boston a lot and spent 200+a night this was a great find! We are not picky, so I will say, yes it looked like 1965 and the walls are thin. That being said, it's very close to the T. Neighborhood is great and price is fabulous. Rooms are huge and clean. Biggest complaint is no coffee in lobby. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASeksinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauppauge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for business for three nights. The hotel is in need of remodeling very run down. The carpets smelled and should be replaced. The parking garage is also used for the hotel furniture storage area. The room had stains in the carpet and the bathroom had pealing paint. The air conditioner is very noisy. The only good thing this hotel has going for it is he location and cheap prices. So if you don't mind the smell and are staying a night or two then this hotel is for you. They have no gym but they do have a pool which was not open during my stay. Staff there is very nice and accommodating to you.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boston hotels

Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

After scouring the internet for a reasonably priced place to stay in Boston, this is the only place that even came close. I had booked another hotel for about $250 a night. We were staying for five nights so this was expensive. I found this hotel for around a total of $650 for 5 nights.

Pros: clean, large room (huge), right by the green line and 2 blocks from the orange line, Boston Symphony right across the street, staff was friendly and helpful, wide option of TV stations (Bravo), PRICE.

Cons: No air conditioning (WHAT!), very dated, hotel door closest to T station wouldn't open with room key so had to walk to other door, hairdryer didn't work.

When we first got in the room it was HOT. When the AC wouldn't kick on, I called the front desk and that is when I was informed the AC wasn't working. At first I thought they just put us in this room because I booked through Expedia but later noticed that the whole hotel was warm. The window opened out to get some air flowing and they sent up a fan. However there was no outlet close to the window to set the fan. It ended up being fine as it was in the 60s outside. If this would have been in the summer, there would have been a problem. All in all I would stay there again as long as the AC was working or it was cool outside. We went to see the Boston Pops and it was so nice to be able to just walk across the street

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank showmeadeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as a stop over on the way to New England. It was a very basic hotel and would not recommend this hotel if its more than a stop over. Very good location near the Prudential Centre. You get what you pay for so for what you pay you cant complain.
Would stay here as a base but nothing more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HLeader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location. After location, very difficult to find much positive to say. It cost more than $340 for one night. We were charged extra for WiFi (hourly rates imposed) there is no breakfast or meals of any kind, and the staff treated us like we were enemies (not guests) not one smile. Hmmmm, could probably spend the same and get so much more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago suburbs
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

This was the lowest price hotel recommended for a conference I was attending at the Hynes Convention Center. The hotel is in a great location; across from the Christian Scientist plaza, a couple of blocks from the Prudential Center. I was a bit taken aback when I first saw the hotel and my room; it was all so dated in appearance and the carpeting in the public areas definitely needs to be replaced. But the room was spacious, everything worked.

There is no business center, but when I needed to print something, the staff was helpful. I emailed it to the desk clerk, and he copied and pasted the document into work, and also played with the font size for me.

No restaurant, bar or convenience center onsite, which I felt were all drawbacks. Food, drink, etc can all be found a few blocks away, but sometimes you don't want to make a trip from the hotel.

The price is good for a city location, and as mentioned, everything works and was clean in the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaritaQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#46 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#63 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midtown Hotel

Property: The Midtown Hotel
Address: 220 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115-4703
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Boston
#59 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Midtown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Boston, The Midtown Hotel blends comfort and convenience with affordability. This moderately priced hotel, nestled in the heart of Boston’s Back Bay. Just steps away from The Prudential Center, Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center this downtown hotel is near three subway stops on both the green and orange lines. Nearby Fenway Park, The Museum of Fine Arts, Symphony Hall, and the elegant restaurants and boutique shops of Newbury Street make Boston an exciting city to visit and The Midtown Hotel the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your The Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Hotel Boston
Midtown Motel Boston
Midtown Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing