We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Midtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Midtown Hotel
Ranked #63 of 83 Hotels in Boston
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The hotel has a good location, close to subway (T) stations and quite a few stores and restaurants. The staff were very efficient and courteous. And the rate was pretty good. It should have been hard to find another such hotel in the area with a cheaper price. But I don't think this hotel has good soundproofing. On the night I stayed there, I could hear people talking and laughing from the adjacent room, and it's a bit annoying. And it seemed that the air conditioner did not work well in my room. It was kind of too warm in my room, so I adjusted the thermostat on the wall, but I felt no cold air coming out even after quite a while. Finally I had to open the window so that I could sleep more comfortably. The ice dispenser on the first floor also did not work well, I just got a little bit of ice and then it stopped dispensing more ice.
In spite of the several things that I did not like about this hotel, probably I will still stay at this hotel if I visit Boston again. I really like its location and pretty good price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Xin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    1,522
    781
    243
    109
See reviews for
1,092
764
259
628
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
.Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Not fancy, but has everything you need. Love that its within walking distance to Fenway. Great place for an outdoor breakfast nearby as well. Prudential center right across the street! Great place to stay in Boston.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel prior to reading any of the reviews; a great mistake. The first room was too lod because of its proximity to the main road; truck all night. The next room was small and the air conditioning was not working; even after the repairman fixed it it was not working properly and the room was very small. The rugs and overall cleanliness was terrible. No place to have breakfast or just coffee in this hotel; it should be called a motel in all honesty.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jaromir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boston hotels

Lewiston, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I arrived at 5PM and found the A/C not working I immediately reported it and was told it would be fixed. Returned at 10:30 PM to a hot room with no A/C. I asked to change rooms and was told no. They sent a grubby teenager with a fan and was told to open the window. After a sleepless night of traffic noise I went to shower and there was no hot water, the tub would also not drain and I had to stand in a foot of dirty water and suffer through a cold shower. The staff could of cared less. This place is a rip off, in complete disrepair and the staff does not care. Stay away of this dump

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JimP501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stouffville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great value for the money. Nothing fancy. I would stay there again no problem. We walked to and from Fenway. It was an easy walk and we (my family) felt safe. If you are planning a visit to Boston I would recommend the Mid

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Very good location for the money. Very good service. Rooms are okay, but have everything you need to spend the night. We had a broken door in the bathroom and when we asked it was fixed and we were given the discount for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Emilia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on our recent trip to Boston. We chose it for location and a good rate and it did not disappoint. The room was spacious and had good storage, with comfortable beds. Yes, the bathroom area is small as other reviewers have commented but not small enough to cause any problems (a much pricier hotel we stayed in up the road has smaller bathrooms than this!). The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel appeared busy, with some large groups of students, but this did not cause any noise nuisance and we were not disturbed. We were delighted to get free wifi, as this is not always the case even in much pricier hotels. For the price and location, this is a great hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmac5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
661 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#46 of 83 in Boston
2,065 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#21 of 83 in Boston
3,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midtown Hotel

Property: The Midtown Hotel
Address: 220 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115-4703
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Boston
#59 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Midtown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Boston, The Midtown Hotel blends comfort and convenience with affordability. This moderately priced hotel, nestled in the heart of Boston’s Back Bay. Just steps away from The Prudential Center, Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center this downtown hotel is near three subway stops on both the green and orange lines. Nearby Fenway Park, The Museum of Fine Arts, Symphony Hall, and the elegant restaurants and boutique shops of Newbury Street make Boston an exciting city to visit and The Midtown Hotel the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Hotel Boston
Midtown Motel Boston
Midtown Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing