We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, clean, affordable and friendly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Midtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Midtown Hotel
Ranked #63 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Salem, MA
1 review
“Great location, clean, affordable and friendly!”
Reviewed 23 November 2009

The Midtown Hotel provides a clean room with friendly staff. We had a comfortable stay. Conviently located for Bostons sights.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penelopeSalem_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    1,523
    781
    243
    109
See reviews for
1,092
764
259
630
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2009

After a 6 night stay at the Midtown hotel, I can say that it has been an excellent all round experience. The staff were very friendly and helpful. On our first night here, there was a problem with the thermostat in the room (nothing to make it uncomfortable, just a little cooler than I would usually like it) and I reported it to the front office early the next morning. They were extremely apologetic and it was fixed while we were out of our room during the day. I paid $100 p/n inclusive of taxes for our stay here and I must say that for a hotel this conveniently located with reasonable amenities, this was a total bargain.

In terms of the few drawbacks, as many other reviewers have said, the hallways and lobby look dated and a bit dingy, but i would think that the rooms have been renovated, as they are warm, comfortable and very large. The only other drawbacks observed were that they plumbing from adjacent rooms was a bit loud in the morning, but aside from that I never heard any of the neighbours. Also, the wireless internet is quite expensive at $9.95 for 24 hours, ouch! These small problems not withstanding, I would definitely stay here again. Thanks to the Midtown hotel for making our first trip to Boston enjoyable and inexpensive!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacob_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

Actually, I should preface this with the fact that I recieved "Buy two nights, get one free." So my bill ended up being about $200 for three nights and an addional $18 per day for parking. For an urban area this hotel is acceptable. It is located about a block and a half from the Prud center and multiple subway stops.

The hotel itself has it's setbacks, but these do not supercede the bargain. Originally we were put in a back room overlooking a parking lot with no table or desk. After requesting a better room, we recieved a view of the Church across the street and a larger room with a table. However, the room is old overall. It is not dirty, just run down. There's no bar or resturant on site.

The desk employees were helpful and friendly, as was the concierge. Just an FYI there are quite a few Europeans here because it is a Berlitz recommended hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psybrdelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2009

The Midtown Hotel is a great choice for a great night getaway with friends. The staff was helpful, efficient and friendly. The room was comfortable, clean and spacious. A great value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willowcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence RI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2009

So I read some of the prior reviews and I was a bit cautious but the rate was a lot lower than other hotels, not to mention I could bring my dog with us, so I took a chance.
I will admit that I do agree with some of the other reviewers that the lobby and hallways could use a renovation. But regardless that the halls are tired, they are clean and well kept.
Outside of the public areas,
1. the staff was OUTSTANDING. Mark (who checked us in) couldn't have been friendlier, Ron (checked us out) let us park for the afternoon after departure (without an additional charge), Greg (the bellman) was very helpful and the Bell Captain (sorry didn't catch his name - older Irish gentlemen) was awesome.
2. The rooms were very big, very clean, and the bedding was great. Again not sure what the other reviewers experienced, but the bed was very comfortable.
3. The hotel is pet-friendly and it's actually kind of cool. They give you dog bowls with the hotel logo on them that you take with you when you leave.
Perfect hotel - no. Bad hotel - absolutely not. But if you are looking for a clean, comfortable, pet-friendly hotel with a friendly staff and kind to your budget hotel - I would definately recommend them.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProvRITraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcountry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2009

We arrived at the Midtown for a two night stay. I was a little concerned by the reviews, but having visited the states extensively over the last few years and never having had a bad experience with an American hotel, thought it would probably be ok! How wrong I was. The lobby is grey and dismal with a dirty, old smell about it. Check in was fine and we then dragged our luggage to the first floor. On entering our room it smelt very strongly of stale tobacco. I returned to reception and asked for a room that did not smell. They began by being very gracious and apologetic and gave me a new room immediately, advising a staff member would check out the smelly room! We dragged our cases to our new room on the second floor. Quicker to drag your cases than take the elevator! Our new room was awful, dismal, mismatching wall paper, broken window, broken towel rail, the list goes on it was just gross. We decided as the hotel was booked and paid for that we would grit our teeth and get on with it! We left the hotel via reception, in order to find something to eat. When passing back through the reception area an employee of the hotel started shouting across the room that "there was nothing wrong with the room (whatever number it was) that I had asked to be moved from." It was rude, unecessary, gross behaviour and done so that I could here him. I can only assume the employee who checked out the room had aclimatised to the smell of the hotel, but please be assured it stank. I have been travelling for over 34 years to many countries and have never had to ask for a room change before!

With regards to the beds, you can see the mattresses as they have no valences, and they look old, tired and sag in the middle. I am not sure if the bed linen was off white or cream, but it was old and horrible. I have never ever felt unhappy about getting into a hotel bed, but I did at the Midtown, and covered my pillow with a T.shirt and wore as much clothing as I could in bed, so that I did not have to touch the bed clothes. It was all very old, very dated and very unacceptable.

The rooms are noisey and you were kept awake by the noise.

When we were waiting for our shuttle to the airport, the reception staff talked noisely amongst themselve and there appeared to be a total lack of professionlism. Rest rooms in lobby were very unclean when we used them.

This hotel is in urgent need of a face lift.

If you are on a budget, wait unitl you can afford a better hotel, staying here will ruin your trip.

The location is ok but, we walked most of Boston so I cannot even sell it to you on location as anywhere would be fine!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseWestcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boston hotels

Germany
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2009

Filthy rooms, non-working toilets, non-working telephones, unfriendly staff are few words that can be used for describing this hotel. I bet if someone who has already stayed in this hotel will ever go again. If you want to have a nightmare, then choose this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
661 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#46 of 83 in Boston
2,066 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#21 of 83 in Boston
3,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midtown Hotel

Property: The Midtown Hotel
Address: 220 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115-4703
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Boston
#59 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Midtown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Boston, The Midtown Hotel blends comfort and convenience with affordability. This moderately priced hotel, nestled in the heart of Boston’s Back Bay. Just steps away from The Prudential Center, Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center this downtown hotel is near three subway stops on both the green and orange lines. Nearby Fenway Park, The Museum of Fine Arts, Symphony Hall, and the elegant restaurants and boutique shops of Newbury Street make Boston an exciting city to visit and The Midtown Hotel the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Hotel Boston
Midtown Motel Boston
Midtown Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing