We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Location”
Review of The Midtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Midtown Hotel
Ranked #63 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Fab Location”
Reviewed 15 November 2006

My girlfriend and I stayed here for four nights from November 9th, and found the hotel to be very central to everything. The staff were very very friendly, and nothing was too much bother. The room we had was huge, two double beds, tv, en-suite bathroom, ground floor and lovely and warm. Our room was to the back of the hotel. We did not need car parking. We got a taxi from the airport and we asked if it was a set fare, but the guy running the taxi stance said no, it was metered. We got in and the taxi driver talked all the way, asking us where we came from etc, and we then noticed the meter was not on, so we just left it. He asked us to telephone on the day we were leaving and he would come for us. We asked the price and he said $28.00, so we gave him $40, a tip of $12, as he was so nice. When we were leaving we did not bother to phone him as we thought we would just hail a taxi outside, so we did just that only to find out this taxi had the meter on and it came to $20.40 even although we were stuck in traffic (5pm)!!! The guy coming had conned us and into the bargain we had given him the extra. If you are getting a taxi from the airport, check that the meter is on and dont be conned.
Anyway, back to the hotel, the Prudential centre is 2 minutes from the hotel, and it had lots of shops, food terrace, restaurants etc. The Cheesecake Factory is also in this builiding and for anyone not from the US, they have gorgeous cheesecakes, but they also do delicous food and cocktails. Open from 11.30 am until 11.30pm S-T, and 12.30 on a Friday and Saturday. We ate here twice. The portions are huge, and 1 piece of cheesecake is enough for two, and if you leave any food they automatically ask if you want to have it wrapped!!!
I also bought a $10 phone card and I used it in the hotel room, which is great, and they only charge 50cents for letting you use the phone. My card let me have four conversations on land lines in the UK, from 20-30 minutes EACH, then a mobile in the UK for 20 minutes, and I still had time left on the card when I left!!!
We like our breakfasts so we found the Marriott Hotel on the same side as the hotel further up the road (about 5 minutes walk) go up the escalator and you will see the breakfast room, they do a menu, or we had the buffet breakfast which was marvellous for the money. First day we had, oatmeal (like porridge), FRESH orange juice, coffee or tea, french toast with strawberries, pineapple and oranges, and maple syrup, and a blueberry muffin. There is LOTS to choose from. We thought the buffet was $18.95, but when the waitress saw we did not have anything cooked (sausage, bacon etc), she said it was only $13.95. Great value for money. You can eat as much as you like. We also had a meal at Legal Seafood in the Prudential Centre, but I would suggest booking on a Friday or saturday, which the hotel did for us.
If you want shopping in one place with lots of bargains in the stores, we got the T to Kendal (about 10 minutes over the Charles river) $1.25 each way, and then there is a courtesy bus at the bus stop 4 times an hour, to take you to the Galleria (5 minutes), open until 9.30pm. Shops include, Macys, Saks, Old Navy, Sears, Best Buy, Ann Taylor, Benetton, H&M, Victoria's Secret, Abercrombie & Fitch, Banana Republic, Timberland, Book shops, Toy shops, Banks,Shoe shops, in fact they have everything. They also have a food terrace, which had every kind of fast food. The Cheesecake factory is here also. the reason we went here was for Old Navy as this is the only one in Boston. I would definately stay at the Midtown again.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The noise from the bathroom light
  • Tips/Secrets — The Marriott Hotel for buffet breakfast, amazing value
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank Scottishperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    1,615
    852
    262
    113
See reviews for
1,153
804
276
706
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2006

Just stayed at this hotel with a couple of girlfriends for the weekend. Toured around boston.
The midtown is a great location, one block from the T (Subway) or else u can walk 2 blocks down and one block over to the PRUDENTIAL CENTER which is a mall and a T station underneath.
Hotel was clean and felt safe. Parking is cheap (you have to pay for parking all over boston!!) duck tours takes off from THE PRUDENTAL center, so we were able 2 get there early and catch the 2nd tour out (cause they sell out very fast).
There is no frills in this hotel, good price, good location, clean.
Internet you have to pay for :(

  • Liked — Clean, cheap parking, good location
  • Disliked — Had 2 Pay for internet
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank junesun911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2006

The Hotel is situated just where you want a Hotel to be! The sights and centre of Boston are but moments away.
We stayed at the Hotel last week and were very, very comfortable there. The staff were all friendly and efficient, our room was clean and comfortable, and if you require assisatnce then nothing is too much trouble.
Next time we are in Boston, then we shall be staying here.

A & Y Johnson
UK

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank A&YJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2006

The Midtown Hotel is just what it should be. Basic, clean, quiet, and cheap. With many Boston hotels averaging $250 per night, we had a perfectly acceptable king-size room for just under $100 including parking. Don't expect the Ritz but it's just fine for those of us who only want a clean, comfortable room, a bathroom that works, acceptable sound-proofing, and a staff that is helpful and friendly.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, comfortable bed, very clearn
  • Tips/Secrets — Try to book a room at the back (not on Huntington Avenue)
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2006

Arrived in Boston for three nights from New York. Very tired when we reached the hotel but staff were excellent with us. My wife and I had 2 children and a baby with us and we all fitted in one room - crib fitting between two double beds.

Location of this hotel is fantastic. Almost opposite Prudential Centre and walkable to just about everywhere. This was the first time we had been to Boston and just needed the hotel to be a base - it was more than that. Kids loved the swimming pool. Free parking was a godsend - we collected Dollar car from their office at Marriot Copley - very close to hotel - and then came back to Midtown and parked whilst we checked out.

Thanks Midtown.

  • Liked — Location, Pool. Free Parking
  • Tips/Secrets — Frog Pond in Boston Common - Free Fun For Kids
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew-Beaumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piacenza, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2006

I have stayed at the Midtwon with a friend for a two night stay and I was very satisfied with my choice. The room we stayed in was very spacious, with two large queen beds, a big TV, a nice dresser with a big mirror, a table with two chairs and a big wardrobe. The bathroom was good enough:pretty small with a bathtub but very very clean and with loads of fresh towels everyday. In the room we also found a long list of restaurants from where we could order in. The staff at the Midtown was friendly enough and very helpful. One of our suitcases got lost at the airport and the guy at the reception desk offered many times to call British Airways to help us locate it, and when it finally arrived at the hotel they brought it directly to our room.
The location of the Midtown is very good, it's just in front of the Scientist Church (which I think is beautiful!) and a few steps from Prudential Center, where there are many shops and restaurants (Top of the Hub...very posh!). There are two T stops (subway) really only a couple of minutes away (even though I have to say that the trains are not many and that we pretty always waited a few good minutes to get on one!). The Museum of Fine Arts is within walking distance (10 minutes tops!) and so is Copley Square. Although the actual city centre (around Fenueil Hall) is quite distant if you're walking from the Midtown, it's only about 3 or 4 T stops away, and even if you have to wait a little for the train to arrive it never takes more than 20 minutes!
I will defintely stay there again next time I'll visit Boston!

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank saraquails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2006

We just arived home this evening, we has a fantastic stay at the Midtown. My husband and I are over 30 grad students, so we have standards, but not a lot of money. Our stay at Midtown was really great! The decore is late 90's, but rooms are very clean and the staff is extremely helpful!

Things that I wanted during my stay:
1.) Glass tumblers - I prefer drinking water out of Glas rather than plastic.
2.) Computer access - The Midtown does offer free wireless service, but I choose not to travel with my computer. I would have liked the ablity to use a computer at the hotel (i.e to print out my boarding passes, rather than go to Kinkos!

I would stay at this hotel again and highly recommend that this is a good value, for a great price (oh, I booked with Expedia). Oh

Lastlty - the name is a reflection on it's location - it really is in the middle of everything - even located between 2 "T" stops!

  • Liked — good location, good service, good price.
  • Disliked — No In house Internet, No Glass tumb;ers in the room
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bOOleansVarKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#68 of 83 in Boston
707 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Sheraton Boston Hotel
Sheraton Boston Hotel
#48 of 83 in Boston
2,240 reviews
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#69 of 83 in Boston
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midtown Hotel

Property: The Midtown Hotel
Address: 220 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115-4703
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Boston
#59 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Midtown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Boston, The Midtown Hotel blends comfort and convenience with affordability. This moderately priced hotel, nestled in the heart of Boston’s Back Bay. Just steps away from The Prudential Center, Copley Place and the Hynes Convention Center this downtown hotel is near three subway stops on both the green and orange lines. Nearby Fenway Park, The Museum of Fine Arts, Symphony Hall, and the elegant restaurants and boutique shops of Newbury Street make Boston an exciting city to visit and The Midtown Hotel the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Hotel Boston
Midtown Boston
Midtown Motel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing