We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location...”
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harborside Inn
Ranked #51 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location...”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed two nights at Harborside....a short walk from South Station where we had arrived by train from New York. The hotel is easy to find and we were able to check in early with no trouble. Our room on the sixth floor was well appointed and very clean with a comfy bed.....also quiet. We had booked an atrium view room but were given a room with outside windows; street noise was minimal. In-room wifi was a little patchy. One negative aspect was the fact that tea and coffee is not available in evenings because the Starbucks in the lobby area is closed. However the coffee in the convenience store next door is very good. Do not bother with Nunzio's a few doors down for breakfast - disinterested service - and bland food is served on plastic plates with get-it-yourself plastic cutlery.
The Harborside Inn is a great place to stay as it is so well located. You can walk to everything tourists want to see, such as the Freedom Trail, Quincy Market, the wharf area etc. Trolley tours start just a minute's walk away near the Aquarium. We would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chocboxgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    639
    157
    59
    53
See reviews for
133
770
101
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
142 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Had to travel to Boston to visit a relative in the hospital and used Expedia to try to find an affordable room at a nice place. I saw the Harborside Inn for $159/night, read a few reviews, and took a chance - so pleased that I did! Pros: 1. Location!! Right at Quincy Market and waterfront. 2. Clean, funky boutique hotel- updated modern finishes. Our room had brick walls - so warm. 3. Value - cannot believe our room was $159; we regularly pay $100 more per night for rooms at big four-star chain hotels and this place is wonderful. Cons: I know I am being picky here, but I hated the bedding, which was a satiny bedspread. It looked nice, but I am totally skeeved-out by the idea of some other guest having previously used it; I hope the cleaning staff changes the bedspreads after every stay, but I would have been much more satisfied with a duvet cover, which I know would be washed.

I would definitely come back here, though! Really great!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Good location, and the room was acceptably clean. Avoid rooms facing the street, especially on the weekends. There is a bar next door and the noise is unbearable . We stayed in room 203, and I could not sleep on Friday and Saturday.the noise was bearable on Sunday and Monday. It is a okay hotel. Nothing special, but decent and convinient. Just make sure to avoid Room 203 for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aloooooooooha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We spent the past 6 nights at the harbourside. The location is outstanding! Walking distance to all attractions, dinning, shopping and all T lines. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable and the free wifi is a bonus. So what's the problem? The price you pay for such a central location is the noise. After six sleepless nights I'm so happy to be home to make up for the sleep deficit. The other ( slight) disappointment is the absence of coffee makers in the room and doing away with the free coffee. Starbucks coffee in the lobby is good (only serves coffee, no food) but doesn't make up for what is standard at all hotels. We were surprised that after a week's stay we weren't asked if we enjoyed our stay. Perhaps our bleary eyes told the story. If you stay there, bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Locomo2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Location was convenient..took blue line from Logan to Aquarium stop & exited off elevator right in front of Inn, short walk to Quincy Market, wharf to catch ferry to Spectacle Island & walking distance to North End Italian restaurants. Our king size atrium room was large, clean, quiet and bed was so comfortable. Staff is very helpful. Thanks for making our trip so great.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustburg, VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Our planned 2-night stay in Boston fell at the end of a week's stay in Cape Cod. All the good points you will read in other reviews are absolutely true and I would definitely stay there again, with more careful selection of a room. I chose a basement room because I am a light sleeper and had read reviews about how quiet these rooms are. However, the lovely new chic lounge upstairs turned out to be right above basement Cabin #3 and we didn't get a wink of sleep until well after 2am! Even my husband, who could sleep through an earthquake was unable to sleep through the bass rattling our ceiling and constant gallop of the waitress from one end of the room to the other The manager was very apologetic, reduced our rate and offered to move us to another room for the 2nd night of our stay, but after we had to pack up everything to move we just decided to start our 13 hour trip back home a day early. Another small note...Since the addition of the lounge and Starbucks coffee bar, the coffee is no longer free for guests. Nearby restaurants don't open until 11 or so on Sundays, so plan to visit one of the Dunkin Donuts located on every block of the city for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaGal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,558 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#20 of 83 in Boston
2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
1,017 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Property: Harborside Inn
Address: 185 State St., Boston, MA 02109-2627
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#54 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Boston
Harborside Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing