We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I really enjoy this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harborside Inn
Ranked #49 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I really enjoy this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here about 8 years ago and really liked it , especially for it's location. We returned August 24,2013 to celebrate my 50th and enjoy Boston. WOW! They have done some upgrades! Our room was very large, king bed ,antrium view. No complaints about the room. Later when we were winding down it was nice to have something in the frige to drink (we brought) and listen to the stereo provided in the room. Our friends really liked their room as well. Rooms were cool, beds comfortable , didn't hear noise outside late at night. Staff was very pleasant.There is a lounge that opens at 5p. We decided we will always stay here from here on out while staying in Boston. Location is everything! But so is a comfortable hotel. You get both here and more!

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor (there are 8) . The king room was pretty spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishtar825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    623
    151
    56
    49
See reviews for
128
748
95
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ca
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

This is a very good place all around. The service is prompt and efficient. The rooms are beautiful so is the ground. Next to the bus, subway and ferry. Walk to Quincy hall is 2 minutes. Small room but that was fine because we were always out anyway.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilgbuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

It was great to discover this new gem of a hotel right in the heart of Boston. It was very trendy--in the style of a New York boutique hotel. We loved it. We were there mid-week and although it was the height of the summer we did not experience any noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Boston is the cradle of the American Revolution. That makes Boston a history buff's paradise. There is so much to see and do. And there is no better place to get your seeing and doing underway than the Harborside Inn near the Long Wharf on State Street. We stayed at the Harborside for four nights in a clean comfortable room with a host of cable channels in addition to network television. The Wi-Fi is free, as is a daily newspaper, personal computers with printers to print your boarding pass, a Starbucks, and a well-stocked bar for the cocktail hour. The bar has a great local IPA (Harpoon) on tap. There is an Irish pub with great comfort food and the beverage of your choice kiddie corner from the hotel. Historic Faneuil Hall, Quincy Market, and lots of shopping opportunities are only two blocks away. There are over 50 places to eat and drink at Quincy so you won't have a problem finding something that appeals to you. You can join the historic Freedom Trail at Faneuil Hall and walk to either end of the Freedon Trail, Boston Common or the Bunker Hill monument. Go with a tour guide to fully enjoy the history. There are several tour operators within one or two blocks where you can get tickets for the things you want to see and do, for both the city and the harbor. Out the door and to the right of the Harborside and a few feet away is a tour operator who can arrange the tours you want. The USS Constitution, the oldest ship of the line in the US Navy, is moored in the harbor and visible from the Long Wharf. There are tonier addresses in the neighborhood but Harborside is a great bang for the buck. Check it out. Go to Google Maps to see the location and get the number to make your reservations. You will be glad you did.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed two nights at Harborside....a short walk from South Station where we had arrived by train from New York. The hotel is easy to find and we were able to check in early with no trouble. Our room on the sixth floor was well appointed and very clean with a comfy bed.....also quiet. We had booked an atrium view room but were given a room with outside windows; street noise was minimal. In-room wifi was a little patchy. One negative aspect was the fact that tea and coffee is not available in evenings because the Starbucks in the lobby area is closed. However the coffee in the convenience store next door is very good. Do not bother with Nunzio's a few doors down for breakfast - disinterested service - and bland food is served on plastic plates with get-it-yourself plastic cutlery.
The Harborside Inn is a great place to stay as it is so well located. You can walk to everything tourists want to see, such as the Freedom Trail, Quincy Market, the wharf area etc. Trolley tours start just a minute's walk away near the Aquarium. We would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chocboxgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Had to travel to Boston to visit a relative in the hospital and used Expedia to try to find an affordable room at a nice place. I saw the Harborside Inn for $159/night, read a few reviews, and took a chance - so pleased that I did! Pros: 1. Location!! Right at Quincy Market and waterfront. 2. Clean, funky boutique hotel- updated modern finishes. Our room had brick walls - so warm. 3. Value - cannot believe our room was $159; we regularly pay $100 more per night for rooms at big four-star chain hotels and this place is wonderful. Cons: I know I am being picky here, but I hated the bedding, which was a satiny bedspread. It looked nice, but I am totally skeeved-out by the idea of some other guest having previously used it; I hope the cleaning staff changes the bedspreads after every stay, but I would have been much more satisfied with a duvet cover, which I know would be washed.

I would definitely come back here, though! Really great!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Good location, and the room was acceptably clean. Avoid rooms facing the street, especially on the weekends. There is a bar next door and the noise is unbearable . We stayed in room 203, and I could not sleep on Friday and Saturday.the noise was bearable on Sunday and Monday. It is a okay hotel. Nothing special, but decent and convinient. Just make sure to avoid Room 203 for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aloooooooooha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#29 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,051 reviews
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Property: Harborside Inn
Address: 185 State St., Boston, MA 02109-2627
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#54 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Boston
Harborside Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing