We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel in Good Location”
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harborside Inn
Ranked #50 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel in Good Location”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This small hotel is located in walking distance of Faneuil Hall & the harbor, right by the Aquarium subway stop. (It is right across the boulevard from an excellent restaurant, City Landing.) There is a late-night grocery next door. There is a bar inside, which sells Starbucks in the morning. There is free wi-fi throughout & computers in the lobby. There are elevators. The staff is friendly.
The single room I stayed in was clean, comfortable & spacious. There's TV with cable & an empty refrigerator. The temperature was adjustable & could be made comfortable during some very chilly nights. The bathroom is fine, except the water pressure is weak.
I intend to stay there on my next visit to Boston.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    641
    158
    61
    53
See reviews for
133
782
101
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a quick getaway. The price was great,the room with a city view was very nice with a nice size shower. We were able to stop at hotel to drop off bags/check in , then park car in a nearby garage. The garage was also discounted since we had our ticket validated by hotel. The location was perfect-about 3 min walk to Fanueil Hall. Definitely recommend-will stay here again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I needed a place to stay for one night because I was in town, from NYC, for a bridal shower. Such a great find! As a former resident of Boston, I booked through hotels.com because of the great reviews on their site and this sight. The reviews were spot on!

This boutique hotel was a great find! The hotel is steps away from public transportation - the Aquarium T stop is right outside the front door of the hotel and the State Street T stop is a 5min walk away. My room was immaculate and cozy. I liked the cute but not overdone nautical theme. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The lounge in the lobby was trendy and full of fun people. Also, the hotel is in walking distance of Downtown Crossing and Faneuil Hall (shopping area, restaurant area).

While not downsides for me, I must note that the rooms are small and the atrium rooms do not have a view of the city.

I'm glad I stayed here because the price was right and the experience was great. I'd definitely stay at the inn again!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morningqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Decided to stay here because of location and price. Was very surprised how good the room was, small but fits everything in well, bathroom was good and overall very clean room. Room had a slight smell of stale smoke but not too bad. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Samk86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

This was the perfect place to stay for our visit. Right in the center of everything. It's an easy walk to almost every attraction in Boston. The lounge was nice to come home to after our days events. Then our large comfy king bed with plenty of pillows topped it off. All the staff we encountered were extremely polite and courteous. Honestly, not enough can be said about the amazing location. Best bang for you buck in Boston!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wreckemtech1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhode island
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We live in such close proximity to Boston, that every time I've wanted to stay there, I just couldn't justify the ridiculous amount of money some of these hotels charge. That has all changed after discovering the Harborside Inn.
We stayed there on a recent trip to the city. Location is perfect, walking distance to Quincy Market/Faneuil Hall and the North End. There is no parking at the hotel, but they provide you with a coupon to park at a garage about a block away for $28. Check in was a breeze and the staff were very courteous. Our room was fantastic. We had the least expensive room but it had a king-sized bed, refrigerator and a great bathroom with all of the amenities. There was enough room for a table and chairs. The bed was very comfortable, and considering we were in downtown Boston, the room was very quiet. And spotlessly clean.
I will be booking our next trip to Boston as another overnighter thanks to the Harborside Inn!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauimama0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Easton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and I have stayed here twice now, and cannot say enough goods things about this hotel, and the staff.

Rooms are clean, atmosphere is cozy, and it is the best value in the City.

The only downside is getting the car back to the hotel from the parking garage - too many one way streets, all seem to be going the wrong way.

We would certainly recommend this to all of our friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#25 of 83 in Boston
1,582 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
1,031 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Property: Harborside Inn
Address: 185 State St., Boston, MA 02109-2627
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#54 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Boston
Harborside Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing