We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No sleep!”
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harborside Inn
Ranked #51 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Brookfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No sleep!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have state at this hotel more than a dozen times in the past decade. Our most recent stay was this first (and last) since the renovation to a "boutique hotel" which included turning part of the lobby into why appeared to be a decent lounge...

We were on the fifth floor when we were awoken by what seemed to be a party in the next room. I called the front desk and they said they would look into it.

30 minutes later no change so sent my husband to investigate. Upon leaving the room he discovered that it wasn't a party on out floor it was from the lounge on the first floor. When he went to the lobby it seemed as though the entire hotel was there complaining. Still nothing was done.

20 minutes later I called again and the front desk clerk again told me he would "send someone to check it out". At which point I informed him that I knew it was from the lounge and for $200 a night this was unacceptable. He apologized and told me "we have ear plugs down here if need be"!

Upon check out the next day I spoke with a lovely receptionist that seemed extremely sympathetic and even went in the back to (I assume) speak to a manager. When she returned she simply apologized and seemed very defeated.

If any attempt by the management had been made to in some way rectify the situation or compensate us for the extreme noise level from 10pm until 2 am I would have gladly accepted and returned for a future stay but apparently retaining twit client base is not a priority.

Maybe with the money they could sound proof a bit better for their new lounge.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank weekendtraveler323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    639
    157
    59
    53
See reviews for
133
770
101
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I landed about 9:30 from Canada. Kitchen is closed. No gym. Internet is glacially slow and you can't make LD calls on the room phone. chatting with the staff took 30 minutes to identify a location which could bring some food in to the room.

They simply are not geared to support people who fly a lot, require some support from their hotel outside of 'normal' business hours.

I will never book here again and I would recommend that business folks steer clear

Room Tip: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DALLAS
Level Contributor
171 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Harborside in for 3 nights while visiting family in Boston.
We chose this hotel because it wasn't a chain hotel and it had character. In addition it is super close to many bars&restaraunts....as well as being 75-100 feet away from the T(subway). Literally, zero complaints about this hotel. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Boston.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rudyruru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
190 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Just wanted a night away for myself in Boston so I chose the Harborside Inn; I'm glad that I did. It is right next to Faneuil Hall/Quincy Market and the Aquarium T stop. It is also just a short walk to the TD Garden, where I was headed for the evening. The staff was friendly, the price was right (about $200) and it is in a great location. It even has a Starbucks in the building. My only down side is that it was pretty noisy at night from all of the drunks leaving the bars close by. Other than that, it was a good stay!

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the street. It gets loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The hotel is located in the Quincy market area. Close enough to the Convention centre - and in fact if i was really interested I likely could have figured out the T line to get there. In the end, it was a 10 cab ride away. Great location as this was close to the north east restaurants .
The hotel is clean, people and staff are very friendly.

However, i'd only go back here if i was in university or wanted to party. Doors are paper thin, and the "city" view was essentially the street where the 545 am garbage service reverberates. It's also a block away from the two best bars (the black rose and K (?)) so at 2 am you get to hear the party goers swearing their way back home. Great hotel for late night animals, but I was there on business. Oh well...better luck next time

Room Tip: Go higher up! don't stay on first floor. Get as high up as you can. or better yet stay at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zipidydoodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed just one night, but this was a great value. Chic decor, quiet as a library in my "courtyard view" room. Didn't mind not having a street-facing window. Extremely comfy bed and nice extras like a fridge and parking validation at a garage nearby. I liked the unconventional exposed brick and nicely-tiled enclosed shower. Great location for exploring Boston. Would definitely stay again. Photos online didn't do it justice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaimeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
201 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Great location nr harbour and Quincy Market. The rooms are good, reasonably spacious but some can be noisy (we stayed twice) so take time to check location or ask for a quiet room. No breakfast available but there are plenty of options nearby.
There are walkup pc's in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbosmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,557 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#20 of 83 in Boston
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
1,016 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Property: Harborside Inn
Address: 185 State St., Boston, MA 02109-2627
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#54 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Boston
Harborside Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing