We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“business trip”
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harborside Inn
Ranked #53 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

not so good: room facing the elevators, so that I had to close blinds for privacy (very little daylight), and noise all night.
(Booked room in cheapest category, other rooms are certainly better.) good: starbucks cafe and hotel bar, friendly staff, clean, nice bathroom, very good location close to aquarium

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ute B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,473)
There are newer reviews for Harborside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 1,473 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Although it is actually close to the harbourside, most of the windows don't overlook the sea. No matter as long as you get a city view; the "atrium view" may be less satisfactory. The rooms are spacious and pleasantly decorated, The reception, which is efficiently run, is contiguous with a bar and a Starbucks next door. The hotel is conveniently located near Faneuil Hall/Quincy Market which puts it smack dab on the "Freedom Trail". Boston is very walkable and all the key areas are easily accessed from this hotel.

Room Tip: Unless outlook doesn't matter to you, avoid an "atrium view".
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baudolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

For the price this is an alright place to stay. Convenient location. The room was nice. Felt clean and updated. They are not joking when they say there is street noise though. So if that bothers you ask for an interior room.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Caleb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Friendly staff, room and bathroom ok, but could do with a bit more bench space. Room was initially dark until we figured out that all lights were on dimmers. Nice lounge bar and good cafe for an early morning quick breakfast. Had inside room on seventh floor so no exterior noise problems, but blind allowed some light into room. Close to Quincy Market and restaurants for dinner. Easy taxi ride to South Station. Would stay here again, especially if travelling by train.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WalkersWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

For the price this place is pretty reasonable. Be advised they only offer rooms with one bed.

Otherwise, the service was no-frills but I was ok with that as I get tired of tipping people for carrying bags I'm entirely capable of moving myself. The location is also completely amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here twice while in town for Red Sox games. It is in a great location, you can walk to many attractions or take the T right outside the hotel to anywhere in town. Quincy market is 2 blocks away and Boston Common is about a mile. Walk to the North end on Sunday morning for fresh baked Italian favorites, just remember to take cash.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have state at this hotel more than a dozen times in the past decade. Our most recent stay was this first (and last) since the renovation to a "boutique hotel" which included turning part of the lobby into why appeared to be a decent lounge...

We were on the fifth floor when we were awoken by what seemed to be a party in the next room. I called the front desk and they said they would look into it.

30 minutes later no change so sent my husband to investigate. Upon leaving the room he discovered that it wasn't a party on out floor it was from the lounge on the first floor. When he went to the lobby it seemed as though the entire hotel was there complaining. Still nothing was done.

20 minutes later I called again and the front desk clerk again told me he would "send someone to check it out". At which point I informed him that I knew it was from the lounge and for $200 a night this was unacceptable. He apologized and told me "we have ear plugs down here if need be"!

Upon check out the next day I spoke with a lovely receptionist that seemed extremely sympathetic and even went in the back to (I assume) speak to a manager. When she returned she simply apologized and seemed very defeated.

If any attempt by the management had been made to in some way rectify the situation or compensate us for the extreme noise level from 10pm until 2 am I would have gladly accepted and returned for a future stay but apparently retaining twit client base is not a priority.

Maybe with the money they could sound proof a bit better for their new lounge.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank weekendtraveler323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,630 reviews
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,315 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#21 of 84 in Boston
1,066 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#48 of 84 in Boston
7,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Address: 185 State St., Boston, MA 02109-2627
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#54 Business Hotel in Boston
#55 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: £144 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Boston
Harborside Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing